We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loads of fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Yankee Freedom III

Yankee Freedom III
Book In Advance
More Info
US$178.99*
and up
Dry Tortugas National Park Day Trip by Catamaran
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Discover the eighth wonder of the world aboard the Yankee Freedom II Dry Tortugas National Park Ferry. Cruise in spacious comfort to Fort Jefferson Dry Tortugas National Park seventy miles southwest of Key West. Our veteran captain and friendly crew will take you to one of the most unique and spectacular national parks in the United States. Your trip includes breakfast, lunch, snorkel gear and guided tour of the largest brick structure in the United States.
Mid-Western Region, Nepal
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Loads of fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Dry Tortugas, fort has fascinating history and the Parks Rangers were glad to tell us about it. The snorkeling was just great near the old pier pilings, lots of wildlifte including fairly large and small fish, barracudas, gobies, angel fish, sgt majors and loads more. Some sponges, lots of gorgonias. Saw a live Conch, quite large. Corals not so great.

Kids that do the junior ranger booklet at the Dry Tortugas ranger office get free ice cream on the ship.

Ship comfortable (didn't feel crowded even though it was sold out), food fine, nice to have the mulitple bathrooms and fresh water showers. We used our own snorkle gear. Loading and unloading ship quick and efficient. Nice pointers on Key West surroundings leaving the dock and heading to the Tortugas including local lore and island names.

Captain very pleasant and helpful and our kids loved his dog too!

Great day, our kids #1 favorite "thing to do" for their Key West bucket list. We have teens and pre-teens. Beaches nice for younger kids too.

If you are using this as transportation to go camping, know you MUST already have camp reservations (only 6 campsites that fill up 10-11 months in advance).

Have fun!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank flyinkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    897
    137
    34
    10
    26
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bowling Green, Ohio
Level Contributor
202 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Professional Crew and Guides”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

We took the long (70 mi.) ferry trip out to the Dry Tortugas and old Fort Jefferson. The very capable, friendly and helpful crew guide the tours at the fort. Without them it would be a huge and mysterious building. The tour takes about 30-45 minutes.
One word of warning: take Dramamine along even if you've never been seasick in your life. On the way back the seas were extremely rough. The captain apologized and said had he known the day would have been cancelled. Two thirds of the 150 passengers were sick for the three hour "amusement ride" back. Probably a rare accident but obviously possible. The crew were heroes attending to people and dispensing barf bags.
Bottom line, we're still glad we did it!

Helpful?
Thank bsmith45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Visit to out of the way National Park in the Dry Tortugas/Fort Jefferson”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Be prepared for a long boat ride-just about 2.5 hours each way. Seas can be rough especially in the afternoon coming back -this was March and i understand it is calmer in the summer. I would take the sea plane next time if I had a choice as it is only 40minutes but a lot more expensive. This was not cheap either as it cost over $300 for two but included basic breakfast and sandwhich lunch. No bathrooms on the island (except for the campers). You have to come back on the boat to use the restroom. Would love to camp there but very primitive). Campers get off the boat first and the park rangers are there to meet and greet. There is a visitor center and you can get your National Park Passport stamped there. The crew takes excellent care of you if you are not feeling well (and there were lot of people seasick on the way back) and in general. They were holding barf bags for people and giving ginger ale to those who felt queasy. They were awesome.
Take your dramamine or bonine very early prior to leaving in the am and on the return trip. They sell it for $1 on the bot. The crew will stand off the boat where you exit at the end of the trip begging for tips.
Fort Jefferson is beautiful, remote and unspoiled. A day trip does not do it justice as you get about and hour for the fort tour, come back to the boat for lunch and then have about an hour or so to snorkel. If you bring your own lunch you could spend more time in the fort or at the water. There was not much to see snorkeling really and not enough time to go explore further to see anything. The crew said we were there on a good day as usually it is even more windy and the water not as clear for snorkel but I though it was pretty windy and not all that clear in the area close the fort for snorkeling. The fort has very interesting history and stand on the top and look out over the beautiful aquamarine waters. Worth the time and effort to see this remote and unusual place. Do it if you can afford it and take the time. Have been trying to get here for almost 30 years and I only live 4.5 hours from Key West. I would recommend they add an hour or two for sunset viewing on the boat as you could spend more time on the island, see the sunset on the water, etc. You get back to Key West about 5:30 pm and have to be at the boat around 7:30 am so it is a long day.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank YosemiteTraveler603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic trip to Dry Tortugas!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Great crew, friendly and so helpful! About a 2.5 hour boat ride and it seemed to go so quickly because of the staff interacting with the guests! Breakfast and lunch were both great and not at all what I was expecting! So worth the price we paid to go to this fantastic piece of history!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davie, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very unprofessional”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

I took my girlfriend to Key West to go to the Tortugas and booked in advance to go on this ferry. The weather was windy and the forecast called for 3-5 foot waves out sea and a small craft advisory. Other than that it was sunny and mid 70s. Since we were only there to go on this trip, we stayed a night at key west and checked out of our hotel early the day we were supposed to go on the ferry. After paying $13 for an all day parking pass, we went to check in for the ferry. It was there they they decided to inform us that they canceled the trip. The person was extremely rude and unprofessional. Had they decided to contact us earlier when they found out they weren't going to go, we would have had the rest of our stay at the hotel and not wasted the time and money.

Also, they charge a $5 boarding fee. What's the point in paying $160 ticket if they won't let you board? I'm sure the trip is fun, but find another way to get there.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yankee Freedom III also viewed

 
Dry Tortugas National Park, Florida Keys
 

Been to Yankee Freedom III? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing