We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mel Fisher Maritime Heritage Museum
Save
  
Ways to Experience Mel Fisher Maritime Heritage Museum
from US$16.00
More Info
from US$17.00
More Info
from US$79.00
More Info
from US$198.00
More Info
Reviews (1,846)
Filter reviews
1,846 results
Traveller rating
969
584
207
62
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
969
584
207
62
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews treasure hunting on display slave trade audio tour spanish galleon gold bar actual artifacts gift shop for sale self guided interesting history atocha coins exhibits wreck recovered ship
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,846 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The story of Mel Fisher and his search for the wreck of the treasure ship Atocha that went down in a storm off the Keys in 1622 is absolutely fascinating. I think the Museum could have shown more of the items that were found on the ship and more of the story, so to learn more you will have to read some of the books that were written about him and the Atocha. Such an interesting part of the story of Key West and its people.

Date of experience: February 2021
Thank BostonTraveler62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is an interesting museum, but in my opinion not worth the trouble right now. Hall monitor muzzle watchers constantly patrolling the museum harassing customers. If you aren’t wearing the mask up to your eyeballs, (literally), you will be called out like a third grade student.

Date of experience: January 2021
4  Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This museum was right by where we were staying and my husband had visited when he was a kid so we decided to check it out. We enjoyed the information and learning about the discoveries. My 2 teenage boys were with us and also enjoyed it. It's a pretty small place and I definitely recommend getting the audio guide - I think that made a difference for everyone. It is a little pricey, but we enjoyed it.

Date of experience: January 2021
1  Thank Jessica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Ever dream of buried treasure? It is here and so are the details and artifacts of finding it. Absolutely fascinating.

Date of experience: January 2021
2  Thank JMasonNashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2021 via mobile

Very interesting museum. Lots of information and artifacts. Loved the self guided tour. We would highly recommend visiting if in Key West

Date of experience: January 2021
Thank dloupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews