We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst place we ever stayed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bonefish Bay Motel & RV's
Ranked #11 of 17 Marathon B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed there April 11-13 with another couple. We had room 8 and they had room 6. Our room was newly renovated. It appeared clean but after seeing our friends room...we were leery of the whole place. (And because our room was fairly usable--I think that is why you see such a difference in ratings for the place...depends on the room you stay in) Their room was a dark dungeon...small and dirty. It had huge cracks in the walls...anything could have crawled out of them. Their "kitchen" consisted of rusted filthy appliances..stove, mini-fridge and microwave. The water tasted mildewy coming from the pipes at the kitchen sink. The bathroom was dark, cramped and disgusting too. Dead cockroaches were in the ceiling light fixture. They paid $109/night for that disgusting room! And the pool had green scum on the side walls. The night before we left...1 sleazy man tried to lure a child of another guest into his room. The father beat the pervert bloody and the police and ambulance were called to haul them away. We will not be staying there again.

Room Tip: Beware and don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

Not to be confused with a similarly named place up the road, Bonefish Bay Motel & RV is a nice place to stay in the Keys. Read the other reviews carefully to make sure they are not talking about the other place.

We were looking for a place in the middle keys to kayak, dive and ride the motorcyle and Mark hooked us up. The place is laid back without being lazily maintained, clean without being sterile and quiet without being unfriendly. The people staying in both the cottages and on the RV sites were welcoming and friendly, creating a nice atmosphere.

The price for a weekly stay was great with no hidden fees or surprises. The room were tidy and clean, the kitchen well equipped and the outdoors area pleasant despite the improvements being made to the place.

We'll be back next year!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jxs2151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Disgusting,dirty,and unsanitary. No excuse for the lack of cleanliness I can take old simple accommodations but not this! I would pay not to stay at this place ever again, it's $99 value price for accommodations in the Keys is not worth it! Your first impression when driving in is 1/3 of whats left of a tiki hut old rusted broken chairs barbecue you can't cook in once you decide to overlook that cause of the great location you see your room dirty dingy disgusting wreaking of cigarette smoke, and just falling apart and I kid you not my room was good compared to my families room that room was just unsanitary we only stayed because we could not find other available rooms in the keys

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Eiibanez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We have stayed there for the last 12 years and it changed hands a few years ago and has went downhill ever since. Mark the owner is more interested in adding RV sites than keeping up the rooms he has. We had a verbal agreement on the 2 rooms we rented, for a week, but when we got there he charged me the regular rate which was $30 (a night) more than discussed. The ice machine doesn't work and hasn't for 3 years now. He only has 2 working washers and one dryer. The pool was okay but needed cleaned around it. He also rents some of his units on a permanent basis and we had an issue with one of them peeping in my son's window. I don't think he has replaced the mattresses for years, they were hard and I could feel springs coming up on one of them. This was my last trip there, we kept going back because they are pet friendly but I found somewhere a little futher down that is cleaned and cheaper.

Room Tip: Don't get a room here....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank msdakota8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

My fiancé and I had booked a weekend at another motel in the Upper Keys and were horrified with what we found when we arrived. It was Easter weekend and everything else was booked. We found the Bonefish Bay Motel (not to be confused with the Bonefish Resort, also in Marathon) on the internet, and called and spoke with the owner, Mark. We reserved one of the one-bedroom cottages and arrived about an hour or so later. The place was private, spotless and very comfortable. Mark was very attentive and courteous and the rate was not bad at all. He saved our weekend and we booked another weekend just a few weeks later. We had the same, if not better experience the next time we stayed and I expect we will again as I will continue to be a loyal patron. It was a pleasure to give Mark at the Bonefish our business. Great little place and really nice owner. Thanks Mark!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tammei T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marathon hotels
8.3 km away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
8.8 km away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
0.3 km away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon
8.6 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
4.4 km away
Coconut Cay Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonefish Bay Motel & RV's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonefish Bay Motel & RV's

Address: 12565 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-3534
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bonefish Bay Motel & RV's 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in Marathon, the heart of the keys. MM 53.5. We currently have 4 large efficiencies with full kitchens and a one bedroom cottage. 8 new rooms will be coming available soon. We also have 13 RV sites with full hookup. There is onsite coin laundry and a full handicapped accessible bathroom with shower. 2 1/2 acres with boat ramp and dockage. Located on the ocean side on protected bay and easy access to Vaca Cut. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Bonefish Bay Motel & RV's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonefish Bay Hotel Duck Key

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing