We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Reef at Marathon
Nearby Hotels
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seascape Motel and Marina(Marathon)(Great Value!)
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$249
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Captain Pips at Knights Key Inn(Marathon)(Great Value!)
US$99
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys(Marathon)(Great Value!)
US$187
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Dell Motel(Marathon)(Great Value!)
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys(Marathon)(Great Value!)
US$281
US$242
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway(Marathon)(Great Value!)
US$99
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel(Marathon)(Great Value!)
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort(Marathon)(Great Value!)
US$314
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
34
22
5
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
22
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspaddle boatsmanatee swimmingsombrero beachfree amenitiesa great vacationtime sharetennis courtswasher and dryergreat amenitiesfree kayakswalking distancepedestalunitsdocksfishingofficegrounds
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We are an original owner of unit 37, best unit location and view. Love coming here every year - big fan of Marathon and Florida Keys. We're terribly disappointed in the upkeep of the interior or our Villa - carpet is torn, dirty and most of the furniture, flooring, bathrooms, blinds and cabinetry is horribly dated and in need of replacement. Place is beautiful on outside, if they do a replacement of interior unit we'll return, if not we will not!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank larryglick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2010

We loved staying at the Reef II. We had a one-bedroom condo and it was perfect for us. The resort is on a bay with Rachel Island out in the distance. The bay is a protected area so there is a lot of wildlife in the area. The Reef has a it's own private marina area w/ boat launch (the launch is for smaller boats only). There is a large heated pool and beautiful covered picnic area. Each condo in the Reef II has a large screened porch. Kayaks, canoes and bikes are there for your use- no charge! We could walk to K-Mart and the Winn-Dixie so it's close to stores but still very quiet and secluded. We absolutely loved it and will be returning!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jim_and_Candy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2009

We stayed at the Reef Resort in one of the condo / motel type rooms during the first week of June 2009. We rented an efficiency unit across from the timeshares. Our room was very clean & was decorated in the tropical keys fashion. It was very cute. Love some of the pictures on the walls. This unit was furnished with dishes & cooking utensils, towels, etc. They could use a few more items in the kitchen but as we ate out most of the time it was not a problem. This section has 1 & 2 bedroom condo units which originally was a motel and all have been renovated. There is a coin opereated laundry area. The timeshare units on the other side of the boat dockage area are all 2 bedroom and have washer / dryer included.The location is pretty good. Not far from Publix, Winn Dixie and other stores and Marathon is central to the keys which was great.
We made a day trip to Key West as well as explored Marathon a little more. Most of our days were spent fishing where we caught Mahi which we cooked on the grill at the resort. We also enjoyed Sparky's in Key Colony Beach and Burdines as well as Upper Crust Pizza and The Stuffed Pig.
The pool at the Reef is very nice, it's only 6 foot deep but was kept very clean and was usually not crowded. There are paddle boats and canoes for your use. The managers at the resort were on site and very helpful if you needed anything. We met the owners of one of the other condo's and they were really great. Very helpful to us too with lots of local info.
There is a boat ramp onsite but it is made for small boats. We used the boat ramp by the yacht club on 33rd street which has been made larger and was very easy to use. The timeshares are great if you have family but for just 2 people the condo was great. The last time we stayed here was many years ago and at that time they had a game room which unfortunately was taken out by hurricane Wilma. They have done a lot of work to restore everything back to normal. We enjoyed our stay which was a great get away.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bornwithwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2009

Our stay was great, everything was fun. Would want to be cautious with children and older folks with the villas, but we loved them! Nothing very fancy but certainly met our need and more. The kitchen was well stocked and basically nothing was missing. The bathrooms are nothing great but adequate also. We had a boat and it was great to have it right outside our door. The pool was adequate but could use some character. Many free offerings with the canoes, kayaks, bicycles, and barbecues. Could use a jacuzzi but...
No doubt a great value!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cruzngal06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2009

Just returned from a week at The Reef at the Marathon – traded our timeshare time from RCI. Boat ramp, docks just redone – new pool and club house. We rode the bikes to Sombrero Beach that is about a 15 minute ride. Kayaking/canoeing - available 8-5 but will give you the key overnight for early or late paddling out to a conveniently located island with many birds & sometimes dolphin. Grounds - gravel (ouch) everywhere, friendly cat – loved him, lovely flowering shrubs, well maintained. The resort doesn’t have a lot of units and the units are octagon shaped on a pedestal base so you have a set of two stairways to get up to unit with a wraparound porch. The two bedrooms, two bath units have complete kitchens fully equipped, Washer/dryer underneath the villa, one television, hair dryer. Near airport so small planes occasionally fly overhead and low but did not bother us a bit, little road noise. Nice location in regards to day trips to Key West and attractions. MANAGER AND WORKERS ARE VERY FRIENDLY. Weather was prefect, in the 80's everyday and we were there April 3-11th. We had 3 of our kids with us that are in their 20's and us in our late 40's and early 50's. Nice relaxing, fun week! Can’t wait to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Disneynut84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews