We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful venue with great food”

Mar Vista Dockside Restaurant and Pub
Ranked #7 of 26 Restaurants in Longboat Key
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Enjoy a delicious fresh Florida seafood meal inside the quaint dining room, on the outdoor covered deck or under the ancient Buttonwood Trees overlooking picturesque Sarasota Bay. Farm to fork, gulf to table and pasture to plate. It's waterfront dining with a unique atmosphere. Leave a dollar bill on the wall and a little bit of your heart to find on your return visit. Voted #1 place to Dock and Dine with our own private 14 slip dock. There is no place quite like the Mar Vista for real Florida dining.
Reviewed 21 November 2017

Dinner at Mar Vista is an event. Located on the bay, you can drive there in your car or boat. You can dine inside if you must but you can also sit on a covered patio. Better yet, snag a romantic table on the the beach under the buttonwood trees. Our server was friendly and professional. My wife had grilled swordfish which she loved and I had Korean wild boar (how can you not try wild boar??). It's sort of like short ribs, delicious! Prices are comparable for the area. There are many good restaurants in the area but along with very good food, Mar Vista offers a romantic ambience different from the rest.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank danieloW7812SH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 174 of 1,375 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2017 via mobile

Outside seating for this restaurant sits on the beach and mostly under trees. Sunday brunch was relaxing and so enjoyable. The “4” rating is not for service which was super. The food was good but lacked enough over the top moments to win a “5”. Definitely recommend. Great for families or couples. Great for a lazy brunch.

Thank Bestboy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017 via mobile

Great and casual place for dinner
Service was great and food was outstanding
Waterside dining made for a wonderful experience

1  Thank chuck1063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony C, General Manager at Mar Vista Dockside Restaurant and Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Thanks chuck1063 for your recent visit and kind review. We appreciate you taking your time to share. Please ask for Chef Erik or me on your next visit if there is anything we can do to make your dining experience a better one.

Regards,
Anthony Cucci
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

We’ve been coming regularly over 7 years and a meal here is always a must. Our group spanned 80 years age difference and we all had a great time and good food. A big thank you to Travis who looked after us so well.

3  Thank DickiesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony C, General Manager at Mar Vista Dockside Restaurant and Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Thanks DickiesLondon for taking your time to share your recent dining experience with us at the Mar Vista. I will make sure that Travis is recognized for his stellar service. Please feel free to ask for me or Chef Erik on your next visit if there is anything we can do to make it more enjoyable. Hope to hear from you soon.

Best Wishes,
Anthony Cucci
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

Having moved to Anna Maria Island permanently from northern NJ 6 years ago, we have tried to find nice restaurants that rival the food up north. Mar Vista had always satisfied that bill and been one of our favorites. First, you can't find a more lovely setting than the outside dining by the bay. It's truly a great venue. And when the food matched, it made for a very memorable evening, especially if hosting friends from out of state. Yet, something has changed and not for the better.

We've eaten at their other two restaurants (Beach House and Sandbar) as well, and despite equally impressive vistas, the food is touristy and overpriced. Though lunch still seems to be good overall. A good hamburger and beer while looking at the gulf is hard to beat. Yet, dinners at both don't match other better food around. And prices are high for what you get.

Mar Vista, on the other hand, always seemed a full notch above their brethren. A different menu and different chef seemed to distinguish it from the other two. Recent renovations promised an even better meal. Yet, in our last few dinners, the quality of the food seems to have dropped while the prices have increased. For my wife and I, Mar Vista seems to have dropped to the same level as its cousins. Still OK overall with a great setting, but touristy and not worth the extra cost. Service remained excellent, but....

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HBeachTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony C, General Manager at Mar Vista Dockside Restaurant and Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Thank you HBeachTraveler for your candid review. We appreciate you taking your time to share your visit. Chef Erik joined us a few months ago and has made an instant impact. His innovative menu additions, use of fresh local sustainable seafood, produce from our farm, Gamble Creek Farm, local grass fed beef, Florida wild boar along with his vast culinary knowledge is shaping the future of the Mar Vista. Please feel free to contact me, at your convenience, to arrange a tasting menu with Chef Erik in hopes gaining your confidence in the Mar Vista as a go to location. Hope to hear from you soon.

Thanks,
Anthony Cucci
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mar Vista Dockside Restaurant and Pub also viewed

 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to Mar Vista Dockside Restaurant and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing