We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small portions and pricey”

Mar Vista Dockside Restaurant and Pub
Ranked #7 of 26 Restaurants in Longboat Key
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Enjoy a delicious fresh Florida seafood meal inside the quaint dining room, on the outdoor covered deck or under the ancient Buttonwood Trees overlooking picturesque Sarasota Bay. Farm to fork, gulf to table and pasture to plate. It's waterfront dining with a unique atmosphere. Leave a dollar bill on the wall and a little bit of your heart to find on your return visit. Voted #1 place to Dock and Dine with our own private 14 slip dock. There is no place quite like the Mar Vista for real Florida dining.
Reviewed 4 December 2017 via mobile

I had the fresh catch of the day (grouper). It came with rice and a vegetable. The grouper was excellent but a very small portion. I was still hungry when I left and the total bill was higher than expected.

Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony C, General Manager at Mar Vista Dockside Restaurant and Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

Thank you Craig C for your recent visit and review. Glad to hear that you enjoyed the fresh grouper, house rice and farm fresh vegetables. Sorry to hear that your were not pleased with the portion size. I will speak with Chef Erik about your comments and hopefully find out what happened. Please come in and see us again soon and ask for me or Chef Erik and we will make sure your next meal will not have you leave here hungry. Hope to hear from you soon.

Thanks,
Anthony Cucci
General Manager
Mar Vista Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 150 of 1,355 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

Visited for dinner, server Zac was great! He had great recommendations and info about the restaurant. The food did not disappoint either-especially the tots. Love that the restaurant is eco-conscious too!

Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony C, General Manager at Mar Vista Dockside Restaurant and Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

Thanks Heather C for your recent visit and wonderful review of the Mar Vista. I will make sure that Zac is recognized for his exceptional knowledge and service. Feel free to ask for me on your next visit if there is anything I can do to make your dining experience a better one.

Regards,
Anthony Cucci
General Manager
Mar Vista Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017

We went there for lunch and was enjoying eating there oysters and clams chowder it was delicious and quick service was excellent and friendly personal the day was beautiful and the food was delicious the oysters were large and fresh we really enjoyed the day and we definitely want to go back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 391brucew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2017

Was not happy with food, service and prices. The beach house is much better. Shame thought would try after they updated. Will not be back

1  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony C, General Manager at Mar Vista Dockside Restaurant and Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

John L,
It is our goal to serve only the freshest locally caught fish and seafood, choice beef and chicken, farm fresh vegetable and expertly prepared dishes in a casual laid back Ol' Florida atmosphere with exceptional service at reasonable prices. It sounds like we missed our mark with you. Please come in and see us again soon and ask for me or Chef Erik and we can guide you thru our menu or create something special for you. Hope to hear from you soon.

Thanks,
Anthony Cucci
General Manager
Mar Vista Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2017

We discovered this place by accident while on an overnight boating trip to Sarasota about 12 years ago, and every time we visit Anna Maria Island or Longboat Key on a weekend getaway road trip, we always make it a point to stop here for lunch or dinner. It sits on little alcove/bay just inside Long Boat Key Pass (inlet), and it has a terrific view of the intracoastal waterway. There are usually several large sailboats or trawlers anchored just off the shore of the restaurant, and this adds to the picturesque beauty of this place. The restaurant also has a very nice dock/pier with about 10 boat slips for customers who arrive by boat. If you do decide to come here by boat for lunch on a weekend, you'd better plan to get there right at opening time (1130), as they'll be full and stay full until 3 or 4 in the afternoon. The restaurant is currently under renovation/modernization, as it used to be an old fish house. There have already been several renovations since we first started going here 12 years ago, and the latest one is probably the last one for a long while, as most of the original fish house will be razed since it is no longer structurally that sound and it's been buffeted by quite a few hurricanes and tropical storms over the years. During the cooler months (late October through early April), you'll probably want to sit outside under the large covered patio or at one of the outside table located under the trees next to the dock so you can take in the very peaceful and beautiful scenery. The food here is pretty average, but it's always fresh and well prepared, and the wait staff is always very attentive and friendly. It's owned by the son of former Florida governor Lawton Chiles (now deceased) whose name is Ed Chiles. He also owns two other beautiful restaurants just north of this place on Anna Maria Island (The Beach House & Sand Bar) which sit right on the Gulf of Mexico and have recently been modernized. All three restaurants are worth a visit if you are vacationing on Anna Maria Island or Longboat Key. They will be crowded during the tourist season (cooler winter months) because of the great service, fresh seafood, and incredible views.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mar Vista Dockside Restaurant and Pub also viewed

 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to Mar Vista Dockside Restaurant and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing