We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Red Snapper Ever! good Atmosphere and Good Beer!”
Review of Walt'z Fish Shak

Walt'z Fish Shak
Ranked #14 of 85 Restaurants in Madeira Beach
Price range: US$6 - US$21
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 6 July 2015 via mobile

Ok this is truly a shack but a great place to eat. The menu consists of the local catch meaning it can vary. It's very crowded and they do run out of the local catch so get there early. The bar tender/ owner is riot! And Walt is a cool dude running a great place. I and a friend had the blackened red snapper and was cooked to perfection. It came with habanero rice and a great coleslaw .. We also had some fish cakes for appetizers and an IPA beer. I would go back again, it's very good and the service was great too... Good job guys!

Date of visit: July 2015
Thank jsalgts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

239 - 243 of 569 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2015

I had found this restaurant on Trip Advisor and it didn't disappoint. When we arrived they were closing. We were the last clients to be served. They were out of fish so that why they closed. At 6pm the owner said there was an one and half hour wait. It's a very eclectic place. Very small but has lots of character.

They only carry seafood and it was excellent. Their cole slaw was hand made too.

Would go back in a heartbeat.

Date of visit: July 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2015

My husband and I were vacationing and found this amazing restaurant with an awesome atmosphere and staff. The fish was amazing and fresh. Wish I could eat there everyday!

Date of visit: June 2015
1  Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2015

Whether we've ordered snapper, grouper or shrimp with either salad or rice and peas, Walt'z just can't be beat. Does it get real busy? Yes. Is it a relatively small place? Yes. Do both servers work their butts off? Yes. Is this a place where you should bring your crappy attitude? No. Does everyone that works here apply a heavy dose of "anti-crappy-attitude" repellent just before they open? Yes. Are the pours of wine that Sue serves easily the largest you'll get anywhere? Yes. Could that "wilted" salad you got with your fish look that way because it was served with a large piece of hot fish on top of it? Yes. Walt'z is only open when they can get fresh fish (or shrimp). They open at 5:00 and close at 9:00 for dinner. If you come in at 8:40 and try to order dinner, they may be out of fish. Really very simple. Walt's recovery looks pretty good. We ate here three times during a two week stay, and talked with Walt each time. He is making progress. Sue is the owner and is normally behind the bar. Sandy is the weekend hostess. I'd advise anyone with an attitude to leave it in your car, as you won't get past Sandy with it. Walt'z does have about eight parking spaces behind the restaurant, clearly marked as parking for their restaurant only. Tables out front as well as inside, with some held for larger parties. We've been eating at Walt'z for many years, and look forward to eating here every year.

Date of visit: May 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank KonaMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2015 via mobile

We went to Walt'z on the recommendation from the motel we stayed in and they were so right! Walt'z has the best, and the freshest seafood. I especially love the way they do business. There is a sign posted before you walk through the door that clearly sets your expectations. They catch what they serve that day and they may close after they run out, or just close because its a beautiful beach day! If you're in a hurry, or a picky customer you won't want to dine at Walt'z. Their menu is a big chalk board they pick up and set by your table so they can erase things as they run out. We had the snapper over greens, one fried, the other blackened. Both were excellent. Seasoned perfectly. "Greens" were fresh spring mix salad. The lettuce was fresh and crisp. The restaurant is tucked away at the end of John's Pass boardwalk and is literally a shack. Lol. My kinda place! You can see the water from the restaurant and its so peaceful. True beach living just like the locals. Highly recommend Walt'z!

Date of visit: June 2015
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Walt'z Fish Shak also viewed

 

Been to Walt'z Fish Shak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing