We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome great food”
Review of The Wild Goose Inn

The Wild Goose Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$26
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A charming 17th Century Inn set in the heart of Combeinteignhead, The Wild Goose Inn is a unique family owned village free house offering a modern British outlook on food. We pride ourselves on sourcing the best produce Devon can offer with 3 real ales on tap. From meat, fish and game to our vegetables, salad and much, much more, all prepared daily.
Reviewed 1 June 2021 via mobile

Dropped in for lunch to a great welcome and excellent service. The food was super and we sat in the garden which was perfect and dog friendly with a covered area if the weather wasn’t as glorious as it was today

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank IanC40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 324 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2021

This is good food, really good food, very imaginative, very new. I haven't had Calamari like that ever before, utterly unique and with beautiful accompaniments.

Chicken liver pate was excellent too, the roast beef cant be bettered, the cod and nutloaf also excellent.

I would say it is the best restaurant in the area.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank mat s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2021 via mobile

Ordered a takeaway pie meal on recommendation and sat in the garden for a pint as we arrived a bit early to pick it up. Lovely welcome, lovely little garden out the back and we overheard other customers being read the specials. They sounded fantastic!
Pies, mash and veg were wonderful even after having been driven home, so we booked a table later in the week to eat in once covid restrictions lifted.
Again, wonderful welcome, fab sounding menu and excellent food once we'd made our choices. Staff very friendly - would recommend to anyone!

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank Kate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2021 via mobile

First night of our holiday we ordered takeaway pies - steak and Stilton and chicken and leek. We arrived early to collect and received a great welcome - for us and our labrador puppy. Enjoyed a drink in the lovely garden while waiting. Both pies came with creamy mash and three vegetables. All really tasty and well cooked. Delicious way to start our holiday. Thank you!

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank bravot603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2021 via mobile

Visited here tonight, first meal out since lockdown and thoroughly enjoyed it. Great food very reasonably priced, lovely location, friendly welcoming staff, would highly recommend.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Eaves15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wild Goose Inn also viewed

Stokeinteignhead, Newton Abbot
Newton Abbot, Devon
 
Newton Abbot, Devon
 

Been to The Wild Goose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.