We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a little bit .....'meh'”
Review of Dartmoor Union

Dartmoor Union
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Holbeton
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A well presented traditional pub with real ales, an open fire and great food.
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Lacking in personality, service was poor, kitchen boxing above it's weight, sadly. Selection of pizzas on offer, but shoddily prepared, ingredients missed off. Gourmet Menu was hardly 'gourmet'.

Thank Crottin69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing Manag... T, Public Relations Manager at Dartmoor Union, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

We are sorry you weren't impressed, could you please email your complaint to info@dartmoorunion.co.uk so the manager can pass on the comments to the kitchen please. Regards The Dartmoor Union

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2017

Friendly staff, tasty food and a pleasant modern environment made our meal an enjoyable experience. There is a sheltered courtyard outside where you can enjoy your food or a quiet drink in the sunshine. The entrance to the car park is daunting and not for those of a nervous disposition, but once inside it felt worth the effort to make the difficult manoeuvre to get in! It is off the beaten track but had plenty of customers during our visit.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cookie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing Manag... T, Public Relations Manager at Dartmoor Union, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

We are pleased you had a lovely time! Hope to see you again!
The Dartmoor Union

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

This is a lovely old village pub in an area of outstanding countryside. The car park entrance is not for the faint hearted but there is some on street parking. The pub reopened about six weeks ago and friends recommended it. We turned up for lunch on a very wet day. The inside has recently been refurbished to a lovely standard. The new manageress was friendly and helpful. Unfortunately for us that is where the good ends. My beer had a 'tangy' taste which I should have changed immediately but, as we good British do not complain, struggled on to the bottom of the glass. I did let her know it was off when I changed selection of beer for the next drink. The pub surprisingly has an Italian theme. The lunch menu had about 4 traditional choices, with a steak at just shy of £18, then the rest was pizza and pasta etc. The food when it arrived was very disappointing. The carbonara was basically linguini in a cream sauce.......not our expectation as we are used to mushrooms and bacon etc. The manageress was excellent when we commented on this and a new dish was created. She has taken over management in the last three weeks and is keen to 'get things right'. My soup was very nice but needed to be warmer and with the carbonara going back to the kitchen we ended up eating separately. We were also the only customers. I don't think the lunchtime menu at present will inspire repeat visits or word of mouth recommendations which a newly reopened pub in such a rural location needs.

2  Thank Adventuresof626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing Manag... T, Public Relations Manager at Dartmoor Union, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Hi Thankyou for your response. We are sorry it is not to your standards, but we are working hard on making this place the best it can be and seeing what works for the local area so we are taking everything on board, we do hope you will return to us again.
The Dartmoor Union

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

Didn't get off to the best start when the barmaid who said she would bring my husband drink over forgot. Menu was fairly varied they also have a gourmet menu which is what we opted for, very good value but the food needed quite a lot of seasoning, we had sardines for a starter some bread to go with it would have made a difference. Nice clean, modern surroundings. Our waiter was a very pleasant young man nothing was was too much trouble.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Janine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing Manag... T, Public Relations Manager at Dartmoor Union, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Hello,
We are pleased you were happy with the customer service despite a slight slip at the start. I shall pass on your comments about the food to the chefs and see if they can make some changes so hopefully the next time you return it will be a better experience with the food.
The Dartmoor Union

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

Under new management since the 4July 2017: worth the visit. Had a great night with live music. Located in a village of outstanding natural beauty.

2  Thank Isabel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing Manag... T, Public Relations Manager at Dartmoor Union, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Hi,
Glad you had a lovely time, we really hope to see you again soon.
The Dartmoor Union

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dartmoor Union also viewed

Modbury, Dartmoor National Park
 
Modbury, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to Dartmoor Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing