We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay plus B& B”
Review of The Oak at Dewlish

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Oak at Dewlish
Ranked #1 of 1 Dewlish B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Room very nice food in the pub very chip orientated but ok. Could have done with a bit more variety but acceptable for a little pub. Breakfast ok but all deep fried, beer choice good and staff friendly, it suited us as met up with friends who had rented a house nearby. Would give it 8 out of 10

Room Tip: Only 3 rooms but clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2016

Wonderful village pub, with a real local feel. Great food, friendly staff who offer great service and very comfortable bed and breakfast rooms. The breakfast is a real bonus to this already lovely country pub.

Stayed: August 2016
Thank Antony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2016

Always friendly , superb value great food, dogs made very welcome , nice selection of unusual beers and ciders
Didn't actually stay in the accommodation but do drive about 30 miles (60 round trip ) to keep coming back for food.
Menu not huge but all superb

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Austin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2016

Pleased to see that the new management have slightly extended the menu in that there were more specials on our recent visit.
Excellent service early on a Wednesday evening. The specials were in a range of £10-£14 and I thought my 12 oz rump steak with generous mushrooms and vegetables was superb. Desserts at £4.95 were sensible. There were three similar real ales at £3.40 and I hope the new management do NOT forget the splendid weight 6% stout they offered twice a few months ago from the Cerne Abbas brewery.
It was actually pretty sad that Diana was now living in Puddletown and I hope she will pop back - I miss her cheeriness. At this moment in time the service remains admirable and I hope it stays like that.
This is a lovely country pub, with a nice feel. It is far less 'gastro pub' than others nearby and therefore better value in my opinion

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank R N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016

I stayed here for 4 nights and had 2 dinners at this lovely pub/bed and breakfast.

The staff are very friendly and went out of their way to look after me - I was out in the daytimes at the Great Dorset Steam Fair and every evening I arrived back tired and grubby - but I was always made very welcome.

Special thanks to Sally who cooked my breakfast each morning - she came in extra early so that I could beat the traffic on my way back to the fair. Sally also handled a tricky situation with a customer who claimed that there was no hot water (there was loads), that his shower had been dirty (mine was spotless), and that he had to wait 5 mins for his room - I have stayed in many hotels where I have had to wait a lot longer.

All in all this is a very nice, family run pub / bed and breakfast. I would highly recomend this to anyone and we will be returning to this lovely place.

Room Tip: It is a pub, so don't expect silence at 7pm but they do shut the pub on the dot but we are not e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sussexguy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Oak at Dewlish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oak at Dewlish

Address: Dewlish, Dewlish DT2 7ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dewlish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dewlish
Price Range: RM 432 - RM 495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Oak at Dewlish 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Oak at Dewlish reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing