We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved ot”
Review of The Oak at Dewlish

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Oak at Dewlish
Ranked #1 of 1 Dewlish B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

Whilst on a family holiday this place was suggested as basic pub grub but nice. It out shone all expectations! The place was beautiful. The staff were very friendly and and the food was amazing!!! The kids were well catered for as in the garden is a slide and play area. Wish I had found this place earlier so we could go back but going home tomorrow. The price was very reasonable considering two of our meals were specials. Highly recommended!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Gemb8311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2017

A very secluded pub with good food, good beers and comfortable, well equipped rooms. Located in a quiet village but only about five minutes drive from the main A35 and no more than 15 minutes from Dorchester it is an ideal place to break an East West journey for a night or two, or longer, as we did. It is peaceful, clean, cosy and welcoming. The food is of a high quality, served both tasty and hot and very good value for money. They have a good variety of drinks with local ales kept in very good condition. The décor in both the bedrooms and the public areas is authentic and very clean.
All in all, a very pleasant establishment.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank davidrein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017 via mobile

Whilst staying locally decided to use this "watering hole" we both also ordered food. The staff were great. Friendly and genuinely happy. The food was all good. All of the condiments were branded except the salad cream which was Tesco own brand. That's the only thing in my opinion that lowered my star rating. Shame. But would without doubt recommend or return.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Distaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017

We had a fantastic stay, great location for the Great Dorset Steam Fair and the delights of Dorset. The accommodation was perfect for the four of us and we had every thing we needed. The pub next door had great food and you just had to step out of your door. The only negative is the parking arrangements.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank suelace2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

I have been here to eat many times and this time it was to celebrate my parents diamond anniversary. Everything was cooked to perfection. A regular favourite (a lite bite ordered as a starter) is the cheesy crunch garlic bread. Coleslaw under cheese and toasted. Never seen that before and for me, the favourite bit of every meal there. The mains, steaks, were cooked exactly as requested and tasted great, a little better for knowing they were locally sourced as is a lot of their food. They also serve a great real ale, well kept, poured and have a regular change to add variety. Will be back again(and again) I feel.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Oak at Dewlish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oak at Dewlish

Address: Dewlish, Dewlish DT2 7ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dewlish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dewlish
Price Range: RM 435 - RM 497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Oak at Dewlish 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Oak at Dewlish reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing