We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Casterbridge(Dorchester)
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$175
US$170
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Junction Hotel(Dorchester)
US$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Fiddleford Inn(Sturminster Newton)
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Saxon Inn(Child Okeford)
US$101
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Greyhound Inn(Dorchester)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Smuggler's Inn(Osmington Mills)
No availability for your dates from these sites
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
40
25
5
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
25
5
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubred cabbagedorset steam fairmenu and daily specialscoleslawroast dinnerplay areatea and coffee making facilitiesfull english breakfasttypical english country pubwhilst staying locallyalescideraccommodationbulbbedsidelandlord
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2017

A welcoming local pub. Front bar tables often booked up. Back room is cold and less welcoming. Good solid pub grub. Excellent and frequently changing beers get well deserved CAMRA support. Well behaved dogs often present.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

Arrived after 3 pm and wondered how to get in as the door was closed. Eventually found a small note on front door with a mobile number which I phoned. Advised how to get in and which room.
Room set up for one. All sorted out by 6 pm with more towels, cup etc. Shower head broken but replaced promptly.
Surprised as we stayed 2 nights bins not emptied and had to ask for dry towels. Same sheets 2 nights but the same price for 2 nights.
Sorry because of this I don't consider it good value.
Breakfast was nice with fresh bacon, eggs cooked for you.
No hairdryer in the room, which was clean but very small and no light bulb in bedside light.
As with my other reviews if I had been asked if there were problems I would have my feelings directly to the proprietor.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

I’ll admit from the start I was hoping to like this place. Dewlish was the ancestral home of my father’s family and since the 1600’s they were tenant farmers in this tiny speck of a place. It all changed during the Industrial Revolution when they left for fame and fortune, but for me it was a bit of a homecoming. It didn’t hurt that beautiful weather graced our trip to green Dorset, nor the GPS that helped us find this out of the way place.
As noted elsewhere there are three rooms plus a guest house. As expected the rooms are small, but spotless. Windows (that open) look out back on the garden, children’s play area and farm fields that go on and on. The bathroom is small, the shower like a phone booth, but well within European standards. Wi-Fi throughout, adequate TV and channel choice, comfortable bed and best of all very friendly staff. We were welcomed at every turn and after a short nap came down for dinner. Every seat in the place was eventually filled as the evening went on and a real pub atmosphere prevailed. Breakfast in the morning was tasty, plentiful and genuine.
I don’t know if the story is true, but was told after the local shop closed, the school closed, the villagers banded together to save their local pub and this is it. It’s the real deal.

Room Tip: Reserve early, only 3 rooms.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kurt12123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

Whilst on a family holiday this place was suggested as basic pub grub but nice. It out shone all expectations! The place was beautiful. The staff were very friendly and and the food was amazing!!! The kids were well catered for as in the garden is a slide and play area. Wish I had found this place earlier so we could go back but going home tomorrow. The price was very reasonable considering two of our meals were specials. Highly recommended!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Gemb8311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017

A very secluded pub with good food, good beers and comfortable, well equipped rooms. Located in a quiet village but only about five minutes drive from the main A35 and no more than 15 minutes from Dorchester it is an ideal place to break an East West journey for a night or two, or longer, as we did. It is peaceful, clean, cosy and welcoming. The food is of a high quality, served both tasty and hot and very good value for money. They have a good variety of drinks with local ales kept in very good condition. The décor in both the bedrooms and the public areas is authentic and very clean.
All in all, a very pleasant establishment.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank davidrein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews