We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveller rating
108
44
8
9
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
44
8
9
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish pine island berts bar can't wait to go back few months couple rooms weekend escape large corner suite rooms are clean view is amazing laid back friendly service fort myers only stayed one night unique place small kitchen few steps
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 178 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile

We have visited matlacha 3 years in a row and stayed in rentals off island avenue and it was wonderful. Fully stocked, and made us feel like home but in in much better state!

recently stayed at the fish house owned by bridgewater and it was very disappointing. We were told its stocked like a home and it was everything but that:

Dishwasher out of service
Garbage disposal out of service
Mattresses extremely outdated and noisy
Showers are very tiny and all faucets were loose
Took the heat 12 hrs to rise 4 degrees on the colder nights
Enough plateware and silverware to serve 2 people in a place that can sleep 6
Busted kyaks booking the walkway to dock
Many loose boards on the dock

I can go on and on. Notified the person at the front desk multiple times and they did not seem to concerned.

I will never stay at bridgewater inn, fish house or any other site affiliated with them.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Frankpaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestSvsMgmt, Director of Sales at Bridgewater Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. We will take a look at the water heater that supplies that unit. As you mentioned that it is taking a long time to get hot water. We have taken a look at the issues with the kitchen you brought up and have since removed the broken dishwasher and are in the process of repairing the disposal.

We apologize that your stay was less then pleasant. We do hope that when you come back you let us wow you with one of our rooms in the INN that are under renovation right now and should be completed any time now. Give us a call when you want to book again, we will try to get you a great rate!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

We had no idea what to expect. We had visited Matlacha before but never stayed. Fish House does need some attention, for example the bedding. The dishwasher wasn't working neither was the garbage disposal. The front bedroom was so noisy, starting at 4.00 am but there is no answer to that. The porch was lovely and obviously effort has been made to make the cottage attractive. With a little TLC this could be a great place to stay.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank frodo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestSvsMgmt, Director of Sales at Bridgewater Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. We are working on completing our renovations, we are in the hands of our contractor for time frame, we hope to have everything completed soon! We will take a look at the issues with the kitchen you brought up.

Give us a call when you want to book again, we will try to get you a great rate!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2017 via mobile

Been there before, always had a good time. Made a reservation, wàs told all that was available was the front of the cabin across the road, no kitchen, just a mini fridge and microwave. I thought that's OK. Wow was I wrong
. The front of the cabin was the front porch,, my father in law stayed there while I went and fished, called the desk and talked to Kathy about the remote not working, she said I don't know what I can do about that. She was very rude. Maybe I'm wrong but I just think if your paying a premium price you should have more than1 channel on your Tv!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestSvsMgmt, Director of Sales at Bridgewater Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. I apologize that our staff did not treat you in the professional manner in which you should of been treated. This issue will be address with that staff member directly.
We are working on completing our renovations, we are in the hands of our contractor for time frame, we hope to have everything completed soon! Please come back and visit us again so we have the chance to wow you!! Give us a call when you want to book again, we will try to get you a great rate!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2017

At least half the rooms in the main building are condemned. We stayed in one of the cottages across the street, Fish House. We called it the shanty. That's about what it was. The bed was really old and squeaked every time you moved. The carpet in the living and sleeping area hasn't been replaced for years and is very soiled. I was scared to sit on the sofa because it looked so dirty. The deck - besides the two kayaks stored on it - was nice and good for an evening beverage. Manatees were off our dock each morning. At 4 am each day either a garbage or a delivery truck was next door to start the day. There was no shampoo, and one towel per person for our 3 day stay. There was no wifi in the shanty, although the literature said wifi - I guess in the main building there was. I paid full price for the room.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
5  Thank scubapotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestSvsMgmt, Director of Sales at Bridgewater Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. We are working on completing our renovations, we are in the hands of our contractor for time frame, we hope to have everything completed soon! All of our rooms will be remodeled including new mattresses and upgraded WiFi that reaches ALL of our rooms.

Give us a call when you want to book again, we will try to get you a great rate!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

The inn has many rooms condemned...the rooms that are available are filthy and badly in need of repair. The inn is about to undertake some major renovation that has been pending for years so no general maintenance has been done.
The problem is that they do not warn their guests about this and still charge full price for your stay.
IT WAS DISGUSTING

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
6  Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestSvsMgmt, Director of Sales at Bridgewater Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017

I am sorry to see that you had a less then pleasant stay with us. Yes we are in the process of doing a major renovation to our building, however we have been told by the contractors and the state that the rooms we are currently renting are more then safe to rent and the issues with the other rooms have no bearing at all with the rooms we are renting. We are not trying to hide anything from any of our guests. We have had it disclosed for months about the renovations on our online sites. Also the staff making reservations have been instructed to inform if you call and were planning on being with us during a time of busy construction. I do hope you give us another chance to wow you after we have completed the renovations.

We look forward to winning your business back in 2017!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews