We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected but the location may be enough to get me back.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Ranked #24 of 127 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2012

A friend and I stayed here for a girls weekend. I booked on hotels.com and paid extra for a Bayfront room. I requested two queens if possible but did not get my wish. Our room was very small and as my pictures show, not well appointed. There were missing lightbulbs, missing coffee, and some crud smeared on the side of the minibar. Our balcony was so small no chairs could fit out there. That said the view was wonderful, cocktails and ceviche at the restaurant were wonderful and the local area for dining and shopping were a real treat.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smhs11609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2012

Dear smhs11609,
Please accept my apologies on behalf of the hotel that your room was not what you expected on your arrival. We have several different room types and views available in our inventory and we recommend that you check on our website for descriptions and photos when booking online. Our rooms with two queen beds are only available in a City view category and must be reserved specifically. I am pleased that you enjoyed our restaurant and its great views as well as Coconut Grove. Thank you for staying with us and we hope we will have another opportunity in the future to exceed your expectations.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

762 - 766 of 1,463 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2012

I stayed with my husband for two nights in October. The hotel, the service and the location are splendid.
However, on the first day, the valet parking crashed one of our rented car door and as there was no proof or film that evidenced their responsibility, the hotel did not give us an answer because the parking service is not under the hotel scope. They just discounted the parking fare from our account and promised to follow up our claim and send us an email with a formal response so that we may submit it before the rental company.
A long month passed yet the email never showed up.
The parking is one of the services that hotel offers. Even though the service is rendered by an external supplier, we think that the hotel has to be responsible for this type of incidents.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank MarianaPuerta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2012

Dear MarianaPuerta,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. Although our valet parking service is handled by another company we like to follow up with all guests regarding any issues at the hotel. Please contact me directly and I will be happy to speak with you regarding this matter.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

I stayed at the Sonesta for 2 nights a couple weeks ago and it was beautiful. Before booking I was looking at different areas in Miami and am glad we found this gem in Coconut Grove. We stayed here for work and it was wonderful to be at walking distance to Cocowalk (shops & restaurants).

The staff is here is wonderful and friendly - and extremely helpful. Check in was a breeze and the front desk attendant (Adrian) was so welcoming. I was upgraded from a Superior Bay View Room to a Deluxe Bay View room. I believe the only difference was it was a bit larger and it had a balcony. The rooms are a bit small, but for a 2 night business trip it was okay. The beds were very comfortable and had large feather down pillows (heavenly!).

The only complaint I have is that we brought some beers to drink by the pool at night after work (we do this a lot on business trips) and we were told we couldn't drink our drinks by the pool unless we purchased them from the bar. I've never experienced this from any hotel and I travel frequently. That was a bit of a let down as the rooms weren't big enough to entertain.

Asides from that, great hotel, great views, and wonderful service!

Room Tip: make sure to get a bay view - the view is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank t-wiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2012

Dear t-wiu,
We appreciate your comments about your recent visit to our hotel and are pleased you had a great stay. I am very pleased that our staff made you feel welcomed and right at home. As you are familiar with layout of our pool deck, some seating is part of the restaurant and if liquor is served in those areas, it must be purchased from bar. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again if your travels bring you back to Miami.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Very nice hotel, centrally located with walking distance to restaurants, shopping. The view was beautiful staff very accommodating. Perfect size hotel, not too big, but big enough to have everything we needed. Only have two recommendations, a mirror somewhere in the room, other than the bath, so if bath is in use, you can still put on make-up, get dressed, etc. It is the first thing i look for when I walk in a hotel room, but that is my only complaint, and a hook to hang towels in the bathroom!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2012

Dear magsmom,
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and your time spent in Coconut Grove. We appreciate your recommendations for the extra mirror and hook in the room to make it more like home. We hope you will be back again soon.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We have stayed several times at Sonesta Hotels with very good service. This was our first and last time at Sonesta Bayfront Coconut Grove. We arrived at 3am and left the Hotel at 10am. When we came back at 8pm the room was not done . They just said that they did not make the room on the same day of arrival!!!They did not even apologize or changed the towels!!! Even our dirty breakfast tray was still in the room. The only answer was that we has arrived that day....
The people in the front desk were every rude, they would not even say hello when you came in the hotel. Will never return!!!!

Room Tip: I enclose the picture of our room at 8pm .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marisol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2012

Dear MarisolS,
Thank you for your recent feedback about your experience at our hotel and please accept my apologies that your recent stay was not up to your expectations. We pride ourselves on exceeding our guest’s expectations but sometimes we miss the mark. As returning guests, this is not the service you have come to expect from us and we hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future to provide you with the type of experience you have enjoyed in the past.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
The Mutiny Hotel
The Mutiny Hotel
#15 of 127 in Miami
870 reviews
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
#19 of 127 in Miami
3,354 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami Brickell Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Address: 2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133-6008
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#15 Business Hotel in Miami
#26 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#38 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range: RM782 - RM1,697 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the verdant enclave of Coconut Grove, Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reflects all the originality and spice of this trendy, artistic neighborhood on the coast of Biscayne Bay and adjacent to Coral Gables. From our luxurious bayfront retreat, you're in the center of it all just across the street from CocoWalk and steps from lively sidewalk cafes, stylish boutiques, modern art galleries, and sizzling nightlife and only minutes from Coral Gables business and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Bayfront Miami
Sonesta Miami
Miami Sonesta
Sonesta Coconut Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing