We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place for an afternoon visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jungle Island

Jungle Island
Book In Advance
More Info
US$47.02*
and up
Jungle Island Miami
Ranked #23 of 338 things to do in Miami
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Jungle Island is located between downtown Miami and South Beach. The park offers amazing animal exhibits, unique shows and up-close animal interactions unlike anywhere else.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
130 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Nice place for an afternoon visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

There are several shows that take place here besides the views of exotic birds, wildlife, foliage and fauna! GREAT for kids!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank cottoneyedjoe314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,620 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    610
    469
    286
    112
    143
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lot of exotic birds!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

We liked feeding the birds and watching the live bird show.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank chaibea77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Horrible!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Today I brought my seven year old grandson, and four year old granddaughter, to Jungle Island for the first time. I live very close to the original Parrot Jungle and thought it would be nice if they could have an enjoyable experience, as my children did many years ago, at the original site.
However, our visit started off with a horrible experience. Before I had even entered the turnstile, my grandchildren had been grabbed by several young men and literally dragged off and handed large parrots to hold. I was barely through the turnstile, when I was grabbed and pulled as well. My grandson, was immediately bitten by a parrot, as I was trying to extricate myself from the stranger’s hands to help him. I took him to receive first aid, and spoke to the manager, Violeta Del Villar, who seemed very unconcerned, and unapologetic about the problem. She did call in the manager of the photo shoots, and he was defensive as well.
Is it really necessary or appropriate to immediately and literally grab onto people as they enter the park? Shouldn’t one ask permission of the parent or guardian before a young child is handed a bird, let alone removed from your immediate person and rushed off.
The whole scene that took place was surreal, and happened so quickly that I was taken aback and shocked. As it was happening, I assumed we were being herded off to see a show. The fact that we were all manhandled to “prepare a photo” appalls me.
After my grandson calmed down, we did tour the park. It is a poor version of a small zoo, with animals in small cages. The grounds are tropical and scenic. The shows were 15 minutes and awful, even my young grandchildren realized that. There is a charge to pet some of the animals, in addition to a large entrance fee and parking fee. Save your money and go to Zoo Miami , where the animals roam much more freely, and the employees and docents are courteous and well trained.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank lovefood51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willemstad, Curacao
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“It is a small place,with many parrots but clean!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

feb 20 2012 I was here. The entrance is too much. $15 for a photo. In 3 hours you have seen everything. It was a relaxing day, the weather was okey and don't forget your $8 for parking. In miami zoo you will see more animals. Enjoy...

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Enjoyalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not impressed - overpriced and staff were unhelpful”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

We went to Jungle Island this past Saturday when they were having an event in conjunction with the South Beach Wine and Food Festival. Fortunately we had discount coupons, because even with those we didn't feel we got our money's worth - regular admission was over $30. They grab you at the entrance to have pictures taken with the animals, but don't dare try to take your own pictures; they're only available for purchase. They have lots of birds, so if that's what you're looking for, you may love it. Otherwise they had a few large cats, a few primates, and a few reptiles to see. The enclosures were small, so you could see animals, but many seemed stressed. Skip the "Rare Plant Nursery," you can see the same plants in the nursery section of a Lowe's or Home Depot. The restrooms were small and dirty, but that may have been related to the crowds there for the event. However, if they didn't have the activities associated with the weekend event, we would have been done in an hour. The staff we encountered weren't helpful, we had several questions during the day and most of the time the answer was along the lines of "I don't know." In one instance, the question was how to get from one point to another. Other reviewers have stated how the maps and signs in the park aren't helpful, I agree completely. The map makes the park look much larger than it is. If you do go, remember to bring cash to pay the $8 for parking when you leave. Overall, I'd say skip Jungle Island and go to Fairchild for plants or ZooMiami for animals.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank nateyates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jungle Island also viewed

 

Been to Jungle Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing