We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Trendy Hotel & Great Pool Entertainment but weak location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mondrian South Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
Ranked #35 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Trendy Hotel & Great Pool Entertainment but weak location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Enjoyed a 2 Nights Stay on a boy's Weekend with my Brother.

CONCLUSION: Flashy, Trendy & Entertaining crowd at the pool. Only weak point could be the location of the hotel opposite to the beach (20 Minutes walk) and by the canal. Pricey but worth it for 1 to 2 nights.

CHECKING: Quick, efficient - Slightly of a pretentious model at the desk at first sight when we checked early morning but still generously managed to get us a free room already at 9am !

ROOM: Trendy. I liked it, despite the totally useless kitchen & the non less useless black rococo black sideboard that could not accommodate much inside. The beds were very comfortable.
However, a big minus is that there is no balcony and neither a possibility to open the window to freshen up.

BAR: We were offered welcome drinks at the bar. Thankfully because, they were - like the food at the restaurant grossly overpriced, the lobby is very "plastic" but I liked it.

POOL: Great service (for profit:-), we were given two lying chairs by the pool and enjoyed a great time relaxing, getting tan & sipping a $20 or so Fuji Water bottle lol...
Hectic crowd of wanna be models & wanna be rappers along with wealthy 40+ something wanna be "in the right spot". One could write a book about it, I am sure! Good for a few hours, but so superficial....

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexLX64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelanoGuestRelations, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Thank you. We have rooms on both the Bay side and City side with balconies, we hope to welcome you back in one of these on your next trip. Good luck with the book!

Best,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,981
    758
    279
    126
    93
See reviews for
418
1,290
190
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (652)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Was at the Mondrian for a 2 day business event.
Rooms were spacious and clean. Great mini-bar. Beautiful views of the bay from balcony. Nice pool area, not overwhelming.
It is a 10 minute walk to the beach area, but liked that it was a little further away from some of the South Beach action.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valetiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelanoGuestRelations, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Thank you. We're glad you enjoyed your experience and hope to welcome you back soon.

Best,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Amazing hotel. Fantastic pool area. 15 minute walk to collins ave.
Stayed in a 1 bedroom suite overlooking the pool area

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paradisetrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelanoGuestRelations, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Thank you. We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

The Mondrian looks great - amazing interiors and a beautiful bay side pool - but unfortunately fell slightly short on food and drink for the price. The kitchen kicked out mundane poolside dishes and drinks were weak and expensive. In addition, because of local neighbor complaints there is little to no music/ party vibe outside. Bummer...

On the other hand, rooms were big, views were gorgeous and the service was impeccable. If you dont want to get mixed up in the cheesy ocean drive vibe, this is your place. The head concierge, Luis, made our weekend by lining us up with some major events and dining!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sodiej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelanoGuestRelations, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thank you. We're happy you enjoyed our gorgeous views, our impeccable service, and our spacious rooms. We're also delighted that Luis provided memorable service for you and we have commended him for his efforts. We're sorry your experience at Asia De Cuba fell short of your expectations.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

checking into the hotel was long , for some reason they only had 2 people working check in on a busy friday and it was excessively long. Generally this is fine hotel - i wouldnt recommend it for families though as its more for the young and hip! In the evening the hotel tends to get very clubby a place for people watching , but not so much fun for intimate romantic weekends or family weekends. Overall i found the service was good , attentive, great gym, good poolside service. As for the resto Aisa de Cuba , i found it did not live up to expectations. it was expensive and i found ( as a foodie) the food to be quite ordinary. Also there was a very loud table next to us that just got louder as the evening progressed and no one addressed this issue- i would have liked for someone to address this issue. also it overlooks the bay and is not on the beach - not a big deal for us but to take into consideration. the decor is really funky

Room Tip: once you have booked - the offer upgrades online so the go for the upgrades if you can ususlly the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank penny m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelanoGuestRelations, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thank you. We hope to see you here again soon.

Best,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
The Confidante
#30 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,347 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#19 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#64 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,120 reviews
The Standard, Miami
#22 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,492 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#10 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mondrian South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondrian South Beach Hotel

Property: Mondrian South Beach Hotel
Address: 1100 West Ave, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#24 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#25 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price range (per night): RM1,172 - RM2,518
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mondrian South Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on newly-fashionable West Avenue, Mondrian is a quiet enclave just minutes from the bustling center of South Beach, offering spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean, Biscayne Bay and downtown Miami. The visionary style of designer Marcel Wanders is apparent from the moment you pull into the porte-cochere: guests walk through a grand entryway appointed with custom-designed furniture, lighting and accent pieces, evoking Wanders' design homage of "Sleeping Beauty's Castle." Upon entering the soaring lobby, the floor-to-ceiling windows offer stunning views of Biscayne Bay. Immediately the eye is drawn to the masterpiece of the room–an iconic, signature "floating staircase." Black and gold patterned furnishings and oversized brass bell shaped lights add a touch of whimsy and welcome guests to sit and socialize or enjoy the view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, AAE Travel Pte Ltd and Agoda so you can book your Mondrian South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondrian South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Mondrian Miami Beach
Mondrian Miami Hotel Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing