We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutley excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Ranked #40 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lisle, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Absolutley excellent”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

I came to South Beach with my 17 year old daughter and her best friend. We stayed at the Surfcomber for 4 wonderful nights after staying at a nearby hotel that was not so nice. Since it was spring break and a bit crazy, the staff was superb and so patient and did everything in their power to accommodate us. Michie at the front desk was just fabuolous and went out of her way to find us a room. Ghulum, who takes care of the coffee in the morning, (yes, free coffee in the morning down in the lobby) warmed up my cream every morning. I use alot of cream in my coffee and that was so special and such a treat. The coffee was excellent and very hot. Also, throughout the day, they have fresh water with strawberries or some other furit and it is so refreshing. The lobby consists of little rooms and is very inviting and so comfortable. The location is the best and they keep the pool so clean. They all work hard and they just want to please their guests. I was dazzled by their customer service. It was so very clean and just a wonderful place to stay and relax. The grounds are picture perfect and so relaxing. WE had a room with 2 double beds and it was so clean and refreshing as well. If we go back to South Beach next year or whenever, we will definitely stay at the Surfcomber. It was the best. Oh, they also serve wine and sangria either in the lobby or by the pool each evening. If you choose to relax and swim in the ocean, you have that option as well..

Room Tip: We had a room with 2 double beds and faced the street. It was quiet and I was pleasantly surprised...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charmaine806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Charmaine806 -
Thank you for the great posting.
Your stay sounds perfect.
We look forward to creating another great experience for you again soon.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,958
    913
    292
    106
    73
See reviews for
744
1,125
138
227
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (606)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stoughton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Booked two rooms for my sister's bachelorette. Wasn't expecting a luxury hotel but was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the rooms and the pool. The customer service was great from the minute we checked in and there were always chairs available for our group by the pool. The prices for drinks & food at the pool bar were a little unnecessarily high but overall we had an awesome weekend and I would definitely stay here again in the future. AMAZING location. can't beat it.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bananon21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
bananon21 -
Thank you for the posting and the great feedback regarding your groups stay with us.
We are the ideal location for bachelorette party get away.
We look forward to your return for another friend’s special get away.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2012

The surfcomber is well managed, the rooms and decor are what you would expect from a cutting edge South Beach hotel. Our favorite, the K17 beach club, out of all the competing "beach clubs" this is by far the best, from their food to the chair/bed options to the staff, really enjoyed the beach relaxation. Perfect for our vacation!

Room Tip: Rooms facing in towards the courtyard/pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0hn_P10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
J0hn_P10 -
Thank you for the great posting.
Thank you also for mentioning you enjoyed our beach club experience.
We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Stayed at hotel for 2 nights this week and had an amazing stay. I was looking to stay in South Beach and chose this hotel because they are part of the Kimpton Hotels brand and I love staying with them. From the moment I checked in the service was so nice and personal. Jessica at the front desk was so pleasant and friendly upon arrival and Brian from the bell staff was always there to help throughout my stay. While traveling, I always appreciate it when the staff makes you feel comfortable and at home. The Surfcomber staff is excellent.
The hotel was just redone prior to becoming a Kimpton property and looks great. It is really neat and clean and rooms were spotless. The night before I arrived, the annual pool party ended and when I walked in to the hotel, you would not know that 2000 people were there the night before.
Pool area is very relaxing and there is direct beach access as well. Location at 17th and Collins is great.
Overall it was a great stay and I plan to stay there again. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BWS_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
BWS_NJ -
Thank you for the great posting and thank you also for the recommendation.
We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I stayed at the Surfcomber during a big event, and I was amazed at how calm the personal stayed and how well they were able to take care of us. The General Manager really has created a great working environment and is in control of all aspects. All staff from maintenance to front desk personal has been going over and beyond to provide great service. this used to the a double tree hotel and while it was nice it was time for some changes. Kimpton Hotels took that to the next level. Amazing how a carpet and color changes makes it look so much more inviting. The beds feel amazing and provide heavenly sleep. I am looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Rene W-
Well, thank you very much.
We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#22 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,696 reviews
The Confidante
#34 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,746 reviews
City Center
The Raleigh Miami Beach
The Raleigh Miami Beach
#36 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SLS South Beach
#38 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,081 reviews
National Hotel Miami Beach
#39 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel

Property: Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2006 (Formerly Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price range (per night): RM887 - RM2,111
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no need to daydream. Your stay at the beachfront Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel in Miami Beach places you in the core of South Beach life. Ocean views, sparkling pool, and swaying palm trees. Direct beach access and easy, warm hospitality. Kimpton Surfcomber Miami, South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel puts the best of Miami at your doorstep while taking you a world away from all your worries. Play hard, sleep well and indulge in luxury services and amenities at our boutique South Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing