We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Shelborne South Beach(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$322
US$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Croydon(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$209
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$433
US$252
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$302/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Book now, pay at stay
US$241
US$230
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
The Confidante Miami Beach(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$176
US$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Shore Club South Beach Hotel(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
US$205
US$187
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Bentley Hotel South Beach(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
US$188
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Fontainebleau Miami Beach(Miami Beach)
US$272
US$233
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (719)
Filter reviews
719 results
Traveller rating
187
284
154
49
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
187
284
154
49
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssouth beachlocation is greatsmall kitchenbeach towelsqueen bedthree nightsrooms are spaciousshort staythe art deco districtvalet parkingvalet serviceper dayfutonblockcollinsmiamiocean
Filter
Updating list...
177 - 182 of 719 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the ocean reef in February. Ideally located for the beach and all the nightlife of Washington avenue. Good facilities in the room giving you the flexibility of eating in of you want to avoid the high food prices in the restaurants. Cleaned nicely every day, beds comfortable. Would definitely go back and great value compared with some other hotels inthe area.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andyfaulkner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2012

Thank you! We will be glad to help you get the best possible rate when you start planning your next visit. Until then, take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We booked through booking.com and there was a special rate for the day at this hotel .We thought the price was cheaper because it was not possible to modify or cancel the reservation.Once we got there, we ended up in a very small room that does not correspond to the ones you see on their web site and it was not super clean ( dust on furniture,stains on carpet,old tiles in shower)and very noisy. We asked for another room but we were told that it was not possible at this rate ( 94$ ) There are 6 of these much smaller room on the interior plan of the hotel,the rest are the size of a suite. Corridor and staircase need major freshening up,carpet full of sand etc. No parking at all and no valet service.Well located for those who want to be in the heart of it way to noisy for us.Lucky for us, it was only for one night.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MPF12400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2012

We are sorry to learn you were not fully satisfied with your room. We do want to say a few things. First off, we are more than happy to offer room upgrades, whenever available. There are numerous accounts of that here on TripAdvisor. Unfortunately, in Booking.com and similar sites most of the pictures shown are those of our suites. That is because most of our rooms are suites. Nevertheless, each type of room is described (amenities and room size are listed) Secondly, we do offer valet parking - this is also mentioned on Booking. Finally, our hallways have been re-carpeted less than a year ago. Sometimes, though, people coming back from the beach leave sand behind. Yet, try our best to keep them nice and neat. Once again, we apologize and wish hope you give us another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Nice Hotel, Friendly Staff, Right in the heart of South Beach right on Ocean drive. 2 minute walf from where the action starts.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SGVMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Thank you! Well summed up :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Not a bad price for what you get. We are in a "suite" with a divan/couch/futon as well as an OK queen bed. There are 2 air-conditioners and a large TV facing the bedroom part of the suite. I think it used to rotate but not any more.
It is the little things that are variable. eg the toiletries consisted of 3 shampoos yesterday and one conditioner. Today it was 2 moisturizers and no conditioner. No coffee replacement. No light globe that worked or they could change in the bedroom yesterday or today (they had to take a lamp from another room as there was none in ours, the key cards not working the next day, the wrong remote control for the television (entirely different brand that did not, of course, work)........... .....nothing too dramatic.....the bath enamel is coming off revealing the old green one and the bathroom is shall we say minimalist. A knob may fall off the wardrobes, but at least there are hangers. I agree with one reviewer that you probably wouldn't want to inspect the couch/futon too closely.........The staff are friendly though and it is affordable. And they did send in a man with a new remote control. There is free reasonably fast connecting wi fi.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Thank you, we feel your review is fair and we owe you an apology for the little things you mention that could have been more consistent. The remotes for our TVs are, in most cases, a different brand cause they are universal - that in particular wasn't a mistake.

Thanks also for complimenting our friendly staff and talking about the good points like our location, free wi-fi and great amenities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I was there for one night only, during one of the busiest weeks of the season. There are two buildings, and the only room left for me was a room on the first floor in the building without the front desk, at the end near the emergency exit. When I walked into the hallway to my room there was loud music and marijuana smoke coming from a room 4 doors down. Luckily I couldn't hear it in my room, but it was disconcerting.
The accommodations were run-down, although you can tell they probably consider it renovated. All of the materials are from IKEA. This is a good place for groups of Spring Breakers. If I was 22 and with my friends, it would be perfect. Can fit 4 to a room, and they have a kitchenette. Music still pumping at the clubs at 5 a.m., keep that in mind, you can hear it.
As a 31 year old solo-traveler I would have been better served at a hotel downtown. I will come back to Miami Beach with friends and my husband, but won't stay here.

Room Tip: request a second floor room if you want less noise, and request a room in the same building as the front desk if you want to feel safer.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anstorm81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

We realize the bad conduct of some guests gave you a bad impression about our hotel. We have a zero tolerance policy against smoking. Yet, some people are disrespectful and careless. We, on the other hand, do care and want to apologize for your troubles. Some weeks of the year, especially during spring break, are rather challenging. But, most of the time we are known for being a family friendly, cozy hotel and we work hard to keep it like that. We hope to have a chance to prove it to you in the future. Thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews