We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Official Art Deco Walking Tour by the Miami Design Preservation League
Ranked #7 of 154 Tours in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Sponsored by the Miami Design Preservation League, the daily walking tours of the Miami Beach historic district are a terrific way to see the amazing architecture of the area. The tour guides are knowledgable and helpful.The ninety-minute tour provides an introduction to the Art Deco, Mediterranean Revival, and Miami Modern (MiMo) styles found within the Miami Beach Architectural Historic District. Explore hotels, restaurants, and other commercial structures with a visit to a number of interiors. The tours depart from the Art Deco Welcome Center at 1001 Ocean Drive (at 10th Street) on the following schedule: Daily, Monday through Sunday at 10:30 am and every Thursday evening at 6:30 pm. You do not need to make advance reservations - simply arrive at the Art Deco Welcome Center within 10-15 minutes of the scheduled departure time in order to purchase your ticket. Tour ticket includes FREE admission to our Art Deco Museum at 1001 Ocean Drive.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

About an hour and a half, maybe two hours. Great experience to finally understand what the Art Deco movement is. Wonderful tour guide was well-versed in the history of Miami Beach and the various hotels, homes, and government buildings that are examples of Art Deco in the city. Absolutely a must-do for visitors who are interested in history or architecture.

Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin J, Guest Relations Manager at The Official Art Deco Walking Tour by the Miami Design Preservation League, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear Steven W,

Thank you for your kind review. Our hope is that there is something for everyone in our tours and I'm glad to hear that yours was so memorable. We often joke that visitors end up knowing more about the area than those of us who live here! Thank you for visiting our city and for including us in your travel plans.

Best,

Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (978)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"art deco"
in 280 reviews
"in south beach"
in 95 reviews
"non profit"
in 13 reviews
"hotel lobbies"
in 28 reviews
"knowledgeable guide"
in 18 reviews
"great introduction"
in 10 reviews
"gift shop"
in 23 reviews
"two hours"
in 21 reviews
"ocean drive"
in 53 reviews
"neon lights"
in 11 reviews
"howard"
in 79 reviews
"history"
in 422 reviews
"information"
in 90 reviews
"pamela"
in 24 reviews
"rick"
in 40 reviews
"mimo"
in 24 reviews
"miami"
in 181 reviews
Filter

50 - 54 of 979 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We took the Thursday evening tour as a family (couple with a three year old in a stroller) in late March. The 90 minute (approximate) tour was excellent - our guide Julie was extremely well informed and passionate about the area and subject. She showed us exteriors as well as interiors of buildings and was able to provide fun facts as well as historical context. She took time to answer all of our questions and even added additional stops upon completion of the tour for those who were interested. The Miami Design Preservation League that runs the tours is not for profit and staffed by volunteers so it is great to support such an organization. If you are in town on a Thursday we highly recommend the evening tour as you benefit from seeing South Beach lit up at night including some vintage neon signs. We strongly recommend this tour!

Thank MelFontaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin J, Guest Relations Manager at The Official Art Deco Walking Tour by the Miami Design Preservation League, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear MelFontaine,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your Thursday evening tour experience with us. You are right. The beauty of that evening tour is that you benefit from the architectural details visible by day and then how the buildings pop in their neon lighting at night. Thank you for mentioning your tour guide, Julie, by name. I'm glad to hear that she showcased many of the back stories behind the history and architecture of Miami Beach. As volunteers, we truly appreciate your vote of support and the work we do.

Best,

Martin J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

I had a wonderful time on this tour, the guide, John, was informative and friendly, answered all of the questions. I learned a lot about Miami's history and found an appreciation of art deco I had not had before. The tour is an hour and a half long which is really not long compared to the quality of the content you get. Would definitely recommend.

Thank Ivana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin J, Guest Relations Manager at The Official Art Deco Walking Tour by the Miami Design Preservation League, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Hi Ivana K,

Thank you for your review. I'm glad to hear that you had a wonderful time on John's tour and that you learned so much about Miami Beach history and architecture. Though it's a young city, by most standards, it has many interesting stories to tell. I'm glad you were able to share in those and for making us part of your visit.

Best,

Martin J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

We had an excellent experience on this art deco walking tour. It was the highlight of our time in South Beach. Our guide was super knowledgeable and kept the tour going at a brisk pace. We criss-crossed Ocean Drive a few times as he led us into hotel lobbies so that we could appreciate and understand the indoor-outdoor design integration. So much of the original interiors (from lobby floors to lighting fixtures) have been beautifully restored and tell a fascinating story about the history of art and culture and crime and old money in South Beach. Highly recommend! The tour groups are small-ish (we had 13 in our group with Martin).

Thank kkm3030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin J, Guest Relations Manager at The Official Art Deco Walking Tour by the Miami Design Preservation League, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Hi kkm3030,

It was a pleasure meeting you on this tour and I thank you for all your kind words. I was glad to hear that the tour was the highlight of your trip, rating the best "touristy" thing to do : ) What is fascinating are the many stories the buildings have to tell about the colorful history of this city. We never tire of sharing those stories and we thank you for recommending us and for supporting the work we do.

Many Thanks,

Martin J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

We really enjoyed the tour. The guide was really knowledgeable and engaging, and the sites we visited were lovely. He got us inside several to see key features, and had great stories about the history of Miami Beach.

Thank Rebecca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin J, Guest Relations Manager at The Official Art Deco Walking Tour by the Miami Design Preservation League, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Dear Rebecca P,

Thanks so much for this positive review. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your tour experience with us. Miami Beach is not lacking in stories and we're happy to have shared some of them with you. Thank you for your support and for including us in your travel plans.

Best,

Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Official Art Deco Walking Tour by the Miami Design Preservation League also viewed

 

Been to The Official Art Deco Walking Tour by the Miami Design Preservation League? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing