We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, Quaint Boutique Hotel Close to South Beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Italia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Italia Hotel
Ranked #69 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice, Quaint Boutique Hotel Close to South Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Stayed at the Villa Italia for one night because we could not get a room at the hotel we were staying at later in the week. Called and got a special rate over the phone that was 30 dollars lower than what we found online. When we arrived, we were pleasantly surprised to find a clean, well appointed room with a king size bed. The room is not large, no surprise since most of the hotels in the South Beach area are older and rooms were not large when these properties were originally built, but the bed is not overpowering the room.

The hotel is eco-friendly. You must put your room key in a slot to keep the power and air conditioning running but the room was not too warm when we arrived and it cooled down quickly. There is a continental breakfast served daily which was well stocked and diverse. The only thing I could remotely complain about is that the free WiFi had too weak of a signal to be very useful, but that could be because we were in the farthest corner of the property.

The hotel is only 3 blocks from the famous (and terrific) Joe's Stone Crab restaurant. I recommend that if you eat there, go next door to the take out area and buy the same food, and either eat it at the tables there, or take it back to the hotel and eat it on the hotel courtyard and do some people watching.

The young man who worked the front desk was helpful and attentive. He is down here from New York, working on his Master's degree and seems to enjoy working at this property. You can use the valet parking, or save a few bucks and park the car on the street with parking meters that can be paid for with a credit card.

All in all, this property is clean, well-appointed, slightly off the beaten path, but close enough to get there in less than 5 minutes. I would certainly stay there again with confidence.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with strong WiFi signal if that is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank provoshane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    175
    41
    12
    4
See reviews for
99
240
27
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

Good location. Amazing service. Clean and spacious rooms...

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MD4853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

I stayed at Villa Italia Hotel for a week, and I have to say that it has really been a pleasant surprise: rooms were quite big, with very comfortable beds, with an excellent housekeeping service. It is a very private structure, the exact opposite of those opulent and anonymous hotels of 1,000+ rooms you find at the end of Ocean Drive (15-25th street).

The position is excellent: next to 5th street, only a couple of minutes from Ocean Drive and the beach itself. It is also, in my opinion, much quieter at night than other fancy zones north of 5th.

Special mention to the staff, that is what really makes the difference: extremely kind and helpful for any request, from advice on car rental to hardware shops for adapters, to directions for visiting the Everglades Park, etc.
Really, Michael and the others have always been willing to give us a hand.

Wi-Fi is included and the continental breakfast was simple but in my opinion complete (fruit, donuts, hot beverages, cereals, juice.. but - especially for Italians - do NOT expect white-gloves service with 200 varieties of biscuits and brioches - this is not what "continental breakfast means!!).

Recommended for sure!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simo2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

We stayed at Villa Italia for one night in early January. There is one not-so-obvious parking spot for loading and unloading, but your choices for parking are street parking for $1.25/hour or valet parking for $25/day. The front desk staff was helpful and provided information about attractions and getting around Miami Beach without us even asking.
The room was very nicely finished/decorated. Your hotel key card goes in a slot on teh wall to make the power/cable come on in the room, which I thought was a clever little feature.
Wi-fi worked well. My only small complaint, which I read in some other reviews was that I woke up a couple of times hearing the outer door slam. Other than that, this hotel was conveniently located, clean with updated furnishings/fixtures, and reasonably priced for the area.

Room Tip: Possibly asking for a room away from the building entrance would help with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlleyBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

The room was extremely nice, big, modern and clean. Staff was very helpful especially the front desk manager, he was very helpful and gave great recommendations. Very worth the stay and would stay again.

Room Tip: would choose a room towards the back, the walls are a bit thin but in general we had no problems as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanySar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.2 km away
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#23 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
0.3 km away
Bentley Hotel South Beach
Bentley Hotel South Beach
#71 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,321 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel St. Augustine
Hotel St. Augustine
#104 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Blanc Kara
Blanc Kara
#29 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
1.1 km away
The Marlin Hotel
The Marlin Hotel
#6 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
1.5 km away
El Paseo Hotel
El Paseo Hotel
#22 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Italia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Italia Hotel

Property: Villa Italia Hotel
Address: 354 Washington Ave, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6907
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price range (per night): RM638 - RM1,506
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Italia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Italia Hotel is Miami Beach's brand new boutique hotel, located in the heart of South Beach where everything from restaurants to nightlife are within walking distance.Our hotel features 12 uniquely furnished tranquil guestrooms and 1 magnificant Villa Suite; each comes equipped with a 42-inch LCD Television with free premium movie channels. Other in-room amenities include minibar, in-room electronic safe, soundproof system, speaker phones and conference call capability, Ipod docking stations. All our suites are equipped with large glass enclosed showers. All guestrooms have new central air conditioning and non-smoking. To ensure the quality of your stay, our signature bedding has pillow top mattresses, Egyptian cotton linens, and triple sheeting. All of our rooms at Villa Italia feature a private bathroom with shower, bathrobes, deluxe toiletries, and hair dryer. Guests can also enjoy complimentary continental breakfast, free unlimited internet (both wired & Wi-Fi), local and toll free dialing, daily newspaper, free on-demand premium movie channels, snacks & beverages throughout the day and daily beach towels & umbrellas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Villa Italia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing