We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Seafood!”

A Fish Called Avalon
Reserve with OpenTable
A Fish Called Avalon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 1,116 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$40
Cuisines: Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Flamingo / Lummus
Cross street: 7th
Description: Overlooking Ocean Drive from the veranda of the Avalon Hotel is the 25 year old, acclaimed restaurant, A fish Called Avalon. Cuisine features local seafood prepared with a sensuous, tropical flair. An extensive wine reserve and full service bar naturally compliment our great food.
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed outdoor dining. Service was excellent. Everything was delicious - oysters, grouper and lobster.

Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ppinault, General Manager at A Fish Called Avalon, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2017

Dear Karen K,
Heartfelt thanks for your wonderful note. We are thrilled to know that everything about your experience lived up to your expectations, and we look forward to welcoming you again. Thanks for writing.
Warm regards, Pascal Pinault, Food & Beverage Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,565)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

117 - 121 of 1,565 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

A fantastic restaurant that thoroughly deserves the great write ups. Service very friendly and meal was absolutely delicious. Spring break was in full flow so plenty of cabaret walking by (and by and by) which made the evening even better!

Thank Adam828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ppinault, General Manager at A Fish Called Avalon, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2017

Dear Adam828,

It was our great pleasure to have you dine with us. Thank you so much for taking time to write about the dinner you enjoyed, and for acknowledging that Spring Break is part of the South Beach vibe this time of year. We feel blessed to be in this sought-after locale, and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Warm regards, Pascal Pinault, Food & Beverage Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

What an amazing dinner we had! Had dinner with co-workers. We had a few drinks at the bar inside where we met a great bartender (feb 26th).

We ate outside. Seafood was mostly what everyone got, and it was delicious. Sitting outside was comfortable temperature-wise. It was right on the sidewalk so you need to be comfortable with people walking by. Was not disruptive.

Very awesome.

Thank JMK613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ppinault, General Manager at A Fish Called Avalon, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2017

Dear Guest,



We are delighted to know that your evening with us was everything you expected and more. Thank you so much for letting others know where to come for top quality food and drinks in a magical beachfront setting. Hope to welcome you again soon.



Warm regards, Pascal Pinault, Food & Beverage Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2017

Many restaurants on Ocean Blvd have repeat menus and try to entice you to come into their establishments with discounts on food and beverages..I was sucked in on a few the first couple nights we were staying! In time you will figure it out too..I think they are all owned by the same principal. .
Stop the madness if you are in search for a lovely evening with fine dining, music and excellent service. Having dinner here was the finale to my 10 day stay in Florida!
a fish called AVALON..
I also went to the AVALON at their little cafe' for coffee in the morning and found that as equally of a pleasant experience with the wait staff and quality of coffee and offerings for a light breakfast.
I am here to tell you, don't miss the AVALON. Thank you for the pleasant memories.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mspennyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ppinault, General Manager at A Fish Called Avalon, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2017

Dear mspennyp,



You may just be the winner of our Favorite Person of the Week title. We can’t thank you enough for your generous comments about the best way to top off a memorable South Beach getaway. We are so glad you also enjoyed the locally-roasted coffee and other goodies at Craft Café, which inhabits our restaurant space during the day. Your recommendation means the world to us, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.



Warm regards, Pascal Pinault, Food & Beverage Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2017

A colleague at my conference recommended this place and it did not disappoint. All servers and other staff were very friendly. Menu had many options without being overwhelming. They were able and willing to modify one of their signature dishes for me and acted like it was the easiest thing in the world fo them to do. Good location, pleasant ambiance.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sanford b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ppinault, General Manager at A Fish Called Avalon, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2017

Dear sanford b,



Heartfelt thanks for sharing your perceptive obervations with us. It was our great pleasure to see that each dish was exactly the way you liked it. Many thanks for taking time to write, and please come again.


Warm regards, Pascal Pinault, Food & Beverage Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A Fish Called Avalon also viewed

 

Been to A Fish Called Avalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing