We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I just love these people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grandview Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 11 Mount Dora B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 24 April 2017

I can't express enough my appreciation for Gwendolyn and Dennis and the way they took care of us. We were a party of 10, celebrating my mother's 90th birthday. There was a surprise gift for her in her room, along with the cake Gwendolyn ordered for us and then gifted us.. The cake was spectacular and the fact that she then gifted it was over the top. Gwendolyn went out of her way to make us feel welcome and was able to get us last minute reservations at a great restaurant. The weekend would clearly not have been successful with their help. Their place is lovely and immaculate. I would definitely stay there again should I find myself in that adorable little town. Thank you Gwendolyn and Dennis for making my job easier in organizing this birthday party. They had appetizers by the pool and beautiful, tasty homemade breakfasts.. Both of them are wonderful hosts and it was a pleasure to meet them and stay in their beautiful place.. thank you so much.

Room Tip: Downstairs in the windmill might be quieter than the upstairs bedroom with the 2 single beds.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ShoshanaA51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwendolynes, Manager at Grandview Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Thank you Shoshana for your time in writing about your trip to the Grandview, for a very special Birthday.

It was our pleasure to celebrate along with you and such a beautiful lady. What a fun weekend it was with all of you.

We were happy to surprise your mother, I just can't say more wonderful things about her, she's amazing.

Thank you again for selecting the Grandview.

Gwendolyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (396)
There are newer reviews for Grandview Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2017

My wife and I were in the Mount Dora area visiting family and needed a place to stay at the last minute. Fortunately, Grandview had room for us. We had no idea how lucky we were!

It all starts with the people who run the B&B. They can make or break the experience. We have been to a few where the hosts just did not have the personality for it and the experience was blah. At the Grandview, the experience was fantastic because of the host Gwendolyn. She made us feel welcome and important. She was very focused on the overall atmosphere of the B&B. All the guests we talked to were very happy with the experience. The other staff members were as good. Paula, in particular, helped with breakfast. She had a great sense of humor and we laughed every day during breakfast.

Like many B&B's, it is in an old house. It has some interesting history. The common areas and the rooms are furnished with beautiful antiques from the era of the early 1900's. We stayed in the Audubon Room, which was decorated tastefully with pictures of animals. The bed was great. The spacious bathroom was a treat because it featured great smelling natural soaps. The shower and sink were first rate. There is a really nice pool area with comfortable patio furniture and shade from the Florida sun.

The breakfasts were outstanding. Each was three courses (a delicious starter, an egg dish, and then pancakes or french toast). The ingredients are local farm to the table style, all natural. The portions were large enough to fill you up. The kitchen was very flexible if you wanted more or less quantity. It was really good.

The location is very good, walking distance to downtown Mount Dora.

We will stay there again without a doubt.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcduane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwendolynes, Manager at Grandview Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

John & Susan,

It means so much to us to read about your happy time in Mount Dora.
I was sad to not have the chance to wish you well on your way. When I arrived for breakfast the morning you were to check out, you had already left.
We are so honored that you landed our way and we had a chance to be your home away from home. :)

Thank you again for making the decision to give us a call, it was wonderful to meet you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

A friend and myself decided to get away from out Everyday hustle and bustle of our jobs. Gwendolyn (owner and proprietor of this wonderful place could not have made it any better than it has been. Absolutely more than accommodating, and such a pleasure to around. You will lack for nothing while you are here. Love, love, love it! Will be back.

Room Tip: Any room is with in walking distance of the quaint downtown area of Mount Dora
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Terri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwendolynes, Manager at Grandview Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Thank you ladies for writing about your time at the Grandview. Glad you were able to escape to Mount Dora for a bit. :)

Enjoy your summer,

Gwendolyn at the Grandview

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

Whenever staying in Mt. Dora, a stay at the Grandview bed and breakfast is highly recommended. The rooms are spacious and cozy. The morning breakfast is exceptional. Social time in the early evening consists of beer or wine and a snack. Sitting on the porch in a rocking chair is absolutely relaxing. And Gwendolyn the owner truly makes you feel like you are at home. The owners really cater to the needs of their customers. The location is walking distance to everything you want to see in Mt. Dora. We will definitely be back as this bed-and-breakfast knows the meaning of true customer service.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank ItalianTravelerLargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwendolynes, Manager at Grandview Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Thank you for writing such lovely things about your time at the Grandview and Mount Dora.

We also thank you for visiting with us and hope to welcome you back soon.

Gwendolyn at the Grandview

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017

Gwendolyn is very friendly, down-to-earth and made us feel welcome as soon as we stepped foot in the place. Her breakfasts are wholesome and delicious with generous options. The afternoon "social time", which includes a drink and a snack, is a nice perk and a wonderful opportunity to share experiences with other guests. The location is great - just a couple of blocks from the center of town. We would definitely opt to return here.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jeddahcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwendolynes, Manager at Grandview Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Thank you very much for taking time to write about the Grandview. It's nice to hear that social hour was enjoyed. We love that so many great friendships have begun at social hour here.

Gwendolyn at the Grandview

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mount Dora hotels
0.5 km away
Lakeside Inn
Lakeside Inn
#2 of 5 in Mount Dora
958 reviews
2.4 km away
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
#1 of 5 in Mount Dora
552 reviews
4.7 km away
Quality Inn and Suites Mount Dora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Magnolia Inn B&B
Magnolia Inn B&B
#2 of 11 in Mount Dora
104 reviews
0.3 km away
Mount Dora Historic Inn
Mount Dora Historic Inn
#6 of 11 in Mount Dora
289 reviews
0.6 km away
Farnsworth House
Farnsworth House
#4 of 11 in Mount Dora
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grandview Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandview Bed and Breakfast

Address: 442 E 3rd Ave, Mount Dora, FL 32757-5657
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lake County > Mount Dora
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Dora
Price Range: RM697 - RM1,580 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit the historic William Watt House, circa 1906, complete with a saltwater pool and original windmill on site. The owner of many acres of citrus, Watt invented corrugated cardboard as a packaging medium for his oranges. Watt's residence was surrounded by the orange groves.The house sits on over an acre-plus of land within two blocks of downtown Mount Dora, on the corner of Third and Grandview. Quaint shops, fantastic restaurants and antique shops are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Grandview Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandview b&b
Grandview Hotel Mount Dora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing