We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Cottage with everything you need”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Glebe Cottage

The well-stocked and mature enclosed terrace garden is a lovely place to sit and relax.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The well-stocked and mature enclosed terrace garden is a lovely place to sit and relax.
Patio doors open from the dining area to the pretty enclosed terrace garden. dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
32 reviews
The well-stocked and mature enclosed terrace garden is a lovely place to sit and relax.
Patio doors open from the dining area to the pretty enclosed terrace garden.
dining area
Glebe Cottage was a former milking parlour for the adjacent farm building.
The view from the front door towards Glebe Farm
View from the kitchen to the living area.
An integral oven, grill, microwave, fridge-freezer, dishwasher and two hobs for budding chefs.
main bedroom
Double at the bottom, single at the top - great for families or groups.
Bathroom with jacuzzi spa bath.
shower area
afternoon sun makes this a truly relaxing place to sit
patio with two barbecues
looking out from dining area
comfortable sitting room with wood burning stove, TV, DVD player and plenty of books
part of the patio garden
view from the sun lounge
Patio Garden
barbecue
The cottage has original artwork on the walls, some painted by the owner, which can be bought.
Main Bedroom
A 'dream' kitchen!   - very well equipped
Christmas in Glebe Cottage
Cottage gate in June
Entrance to Glebe Farm and Cottage
Luke the cat is always ready to welcome guests!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Dinas Powys, Vale of Glamorgan, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
benbec1
Wales
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cottage with everything you need”
Reviewed 1 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at Glebe Cottage the last weekend of November as we were going to see Lee Evans at the motorpoint arena and being Rugby weekend as well, the hotels seem to rise steeply. This cottage is ideally placed near cardiff and also the charming villages of Penarth/Sully/Dinas Powys and Barry. Our host Wendy gave us good directions and we found the cottage easily. Everything we needed was there, including thoughtful touches like milk in the fridge. Wendy is very easy to get along with and couldn't do enough for us but at the same time, leaving us to settle. Luke the cat came to say hello and we pretty much adopted him for the weekend which for us was an added bonus. The cottage itelf is stunning, cosy and tastefully decorated with homely touches of books and ornaments, candles etc. Wendy obviously likes her guests to feel at home because at the end of our weekend we did not want to leave!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The log burner and the jacuzzi bath
Liked least: Nothing, it was all top notch
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Dec 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words and it was a real pleasure to have you stay in the cottage. I hope you will come again.
Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmelaHari...
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage with a great host”
Reviewed 13 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Glebe Cottage for 2 nights with our 3 children. The cottage is beautiful. Wendy was a very pleasant host. The house is very spacious and decorated beautifully. The log burning fireplace is a really nice touch makes the cottage really cosy. If the need arises to go back to Cardiff we will definitely be visiting Glebe cottage again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2014
I'm so glad you enjoyed the match and I suppose I'm also glad that it was a draw! You are a delightful family and please tell the children that how much I appreciated their excellent manners!
Very best wishes
Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma T
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Modern spacious cottage with everything you could need yet set in idyllic countryside”
Reviewed 9 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Cottage was spotless and exactly as it looked in the pictures. Wendy was incredibly helpful, even advising us of taxi companies to use to travel into Cardiff. The kitchen and dining facilities were great, we did not feel at all cramped even with 6 of us. We loved the jacuzzi bath- an added luxury. The garden area was lovely to sit out in and we enjoyed the company of a friendly neighbourhood cat! Although it is in the countryside facilities such as supermarkets are only a short drive away as is Barry Island and Cardiff. I would recommend this cottage to anyone who wants a great stay in Wales. Thanks Wendy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: great kitchen and spacious dining facilities, garden
Liked least: liked everything
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2014
Thank you ever so much for your kind review and I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I trust the birthday surprise was well received!
Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael M
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely wonderful stay”
Reviewed 8 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just had a fabulous weekend staying at Glebe Cottage. Wendy was so warm, welcoming & friendly from the moment we arrived. The cottage is an absolute delight, the living area is well thought out & has plenty of space for all the family. The kitchen is fantastic & we made use of the facilities cooking a Sunday Roast for our family! The bedrooms & bathroom are of the same high standard as the rest of the cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2014
Dear Rob and Rachel
Thank you so much for your lovely review of Glebe Cottage - it is much appreciated and I look forward to your next visit.
Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Sep 2014
You were a delightful family to have here and I enjoyed meeting you. Thank you for your kind words and I hope you will come back soon.

Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing