We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible view”
Review of Baleen Naples

Baleen Naples
Reserve with OpenTable
Baleen Naples is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #88 of 1,055 Restaurants in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$75
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: BALEENnaples - famously known for exquisite fine dining, is the signature restaurant of Noble House Hotels & Resorts, Baleen. The numerous accolades and awards for the South Florida dining at Baleen of LaPlaya have come from such well know publications as the coveted Conde Nast Traveler Gold List and the Great Hotels ranking of Travel + Leisure. Most recently, Baleen was awarded Wine Spectators Award of Excellence - Pleasing to the palate and the eye alike, Baleen Naples mixes Old Florida charm with elegant candlelit elegance. Beautiful chandeliers and soft mahogany furnishings set the tone for an elegant dining experience. Baleen spills out through the grand doors to our breathtaking terrace with tables overlooking the sweeping beach and ends with a collection of tables for cocktails in the sand next to the fire pit. Whether seated in an indoor epicurean enclave or a barefoot beach table, visitors can indulge in three daily seating's at Baleen Naples with options including a breakfast menu with a Gulf Coast twist on traditional favorites. With exceptional entrees and an extensive selection of wines the dinner menu is filled with local ingredients and beautifully composed dishes. For the guest looking for light fare enjoy our bar menu in the cocktail section with an array of seafood selections as well as sandwiches and appetizers. The intimate beach fire pit and Baleen Bar feature a fantastic wine-by-the-glass program, as well as extensive list of martinis and classic cocktails. If Florida seafood restaurants with beautiful waterfront dining views appeal to you, Baleen, Naples will more than fill the bill. The Baleen menu selections may also be enjoyed from the comfort of your guestroom, served to you by our excellent LaPlaya Room Service staff. For the ultimate dining experience please inquire about our over the top private dinners on the beach.
Reviewed 9 December 2017 via mobile

The food is good, but you are paying for the view. The lobby and restaurant have recently received a beautiful facelift, very modern yet still beach. We had a large crowd and they accommodated us all nicely.

Thank chefbaby2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nate S, Manager at Baleen Naples, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2017

Thank you for the review. We're glad you liked the food and the view, and the newly renovated look. We hope your whole group had a wonderful time.


Warm regards,
Nate S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

111 - 115 of 1,346 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2017 via mobile

We are frequent fliers here. We went this past week and it was a disaster. I’ll say that the martinis were great.
First, they never told us the patio was still under construction. Thus your view was obscured by the pull down plastic. When we asked to have ours rolled up, the waitress said they don’t go up. When I asked why certain others were up, she said they were broke and someone was coming straight up to fix those. Clearly, this lady thought her lie sounded good. Had to ask her about any specials. Had to ask her for some bread.
The food was a joke
The grouper tacos were abysmal. Maybe the chef thought we ordered a cabbage taco instead.
I’ll say that the manager did Comp the drinks as we didn’t touch the tacos.
They opened to early or the cooking was left to someone else.
Won’t be back.



4  Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nate S, Manager at Baleen Naples, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2017

Thank you for dining with us so often over the years. We appreciate you coming back to see us following the renovation, and of course recovery after Irma. It's unfortunate that the windscreen roll downs were not working properly on your visit, as the views of the Gulf are one of the highlights of a meal at Baleen.

We will follow up with your server, since it sounds like service was not up to our standards this visit. You will also be happy to hear that based on a few comments such as yours, the Grouper Taco recipe has been changed back to the classic recipe.

We truly appreciate the feedback, since it's the main way we can improve. We do sincerely hope you will come back so that we can offer you the same good experience you've enjoyed in the past. If you do, please let a member of our management team know who you are, so we can hear a bit more and ensure you have a great visit once again.


Warm regards,
Nate S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017 via mobile

We started at the bar and enjoyed the new decor ! Love all the new colors and furnishings. Very peaceful and fresh. Tried a new drink at the bar. Bacon Manhattan. If you like bacon try this. Very unique flavors. Then onto our table and our favorite server ever, Dwayne. As always top notch. Our favorite drinks were already ordered and shortly at the table. We did not even have to open the menus to order anything. Dwayne suggested some new items to try and as always he was spot on. The new Octopus appetizer !! I have no words ! Do not get one to share. You will want it all for yourself. My husband had lamb and I had seafood bouillabaisse. Amazing flavors and just the right portions. We love the new bread as well. Then the Chef did not disappoint with bread pudding and chocolate cake. A very lovely evening with much laughter, beautiful ambiance, and amazing food ! Thank you ! We appreciate the personal touches. We finished the evening on the sand at the fire pit with after dinner drinks. Very relaxing.

Thank Pugrad95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nate S, Manager at Baleen Naples, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Thank you for the kind review, we're glad you like the new look and decor. The dinner menu and cocktail menu were both reworked during the closure, we're glad you discovered so many new favorites! Dwayne has been with us for years, as you know, and is a great example of the kind of service experience we want for all of our valued guests. I know he and Chef Brooke will be pleased to hear your kind words.


Warm regards,
Nate S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017

I have always enjoyed Baleen...the ambience, food, service and view were almost always spot on, then came Irma. After a total renovation it reopened, and my table of 5 was excited to see the changes on Tuesday night. My husband and I arrived and asked the hostess if the rest of our party was there, she said yes they checked in and we outside at the bar having a drink, she pointed to the doors and we headed out to find them. We didn’t find them or a bar, we went back inside and asked where the bar was, she stated that it was through the doors we had just gone out....the outdoor patio where people are dining but there I’d no bar....whatever, then a host took us around to every five top outside to see if any of them were our party (granted they were all complete five tops so not sure how that made sense). After roaming round outside I decided to call someone in our party to find out where they were.....they hadn’t even arrived yet! We go back in to the hostess stand and she stands by that they had checked....huh? The new dining room looks like something out of a Pottery Barn catalog, not the sophisticated look I was expecting, the lighting is so bright you needs sunglasses. If I ever decide to go back (that’s up in the air right now) I would only sit outside. The service mediocre at best, the only thing good about the entire experience was some of our food....if that was a prime filet they are being ripped off.

Thank Meesh2414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nate S, Manager at Baleen Naples, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your most recent experience at Baleen. We appreciate you coming to dine with us so soon after the opening, despite falling short of the standard you expect from us. We appreciate you sharing about the lighting in the dining room with us, this was actually an issue with the new lighting dimmers following the re-opening, we agree that soft light in the dining room is key.

We certainly hope you will join us again soon, so we can offer you the sort of experience you have enjoyed with us in the past. When you do, please let one of the management team know you're here, so we can be sure your evening is everything you hope for.


Warm regards,
Nate S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2428
Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

We dined here just after Baleen's reopening. Knowing the challenges that they faced, my expectations were tempered. We were highly satisfied with both the service and food.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nate S, Manager at Baleen Naples, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Thank you for coming to dine with us, and see the renovations. The menu is all-new following the closure as well, we are glad the food and service team exceeded your expectations.


Warm regards,
Nate S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baleen Naples also viewed

Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Baleen Naples? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing