We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Dinner”
Review of Old Captiva House

Old Captiva House
Reserve with OpenTable
Old Captiva House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 2 miles north of Blind Pass Bridge
Description: Welcome to the historic, award-winning Old Captiva House Restaurant, Gulf-front at the legendary, historic 'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa. We invite you to sample our delicious New Florida cuisine, served with our gorgeous Captiva Island sunsets. Come, feast your eyes and your appetites tonight.
Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

When we booked our little cottage at Tween Rivers and heard that the Old Captiva House was being renovated, I sighed and said, “oh well, we’ll just have to come back and try the best restaurant on the island some other time.”

We just returned from the best meal on the island at Tween Waters! Old Captiva House has a temporary restaurant set up at the the canoe/kayak house on the bay side and it was first rate! No reservations- three tables seated when we walked in! Lobster ravioli was the best I’ve ever had! Perfect steak- great wine list. Desert of key lime napoleon was unique and delectable. Look for the red little cabin at the back of the property- yes signage is not that great but so worth the effort. Eric, our server was stellar!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Artomarh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWIFandBManagement, Manager at Old Captiva House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Dear Artomarh,

Thank you so much for the glowing review of your dining experience with us at the Old Captiva House. We were thrilled to read how much you enjoyed Chef Greg's made from scratch menu and Eric's warm and friendly service. We appreciate you taking the time out of your day to provide us with feedback. We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you,
F&B Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (880)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 880 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2018

This review should be considered in two parts: 1) management decisions at the Old Captiva House and the Tween Waters Inn (the host resort) and 2) the restaurant/dining experience itself. One experience was fantastic and the other horrendous.

Old Captiva House is hosted at the Tween Waters Inn, which is a pretty big resort complex that warrants at least four driveways coming off the main highway. It's big. The traditional restaurant is located front and center, but is undergoing renovations, which I'm sure will be a good thing. In the meantime, the restaurant is sharing space with a marina-based restaurant: it's a casual place during the day and formal dining at night.

That would be fine, but there is little to no information to help you find the "temporary" space. With no signage whatsoever, we drove around trying to find it. When we couldn't find it, we went to hotel registration and got directions. The employee told us to go a few driveways down, then head toward the marina. We did what he said and still couldn't find it. We parked and went exploring on foot and still couldn't find it. We asked THREE DIFFERENT employees and each and every one of them said "That restaurant is closed for renovations." No staff people had a clue. On foot, we explored two extreme directions from where we were parked. Eventually, after about ten minutes on foot, we found the restaurant. The ONLY indication that is was "The Old Captiva House" was a poster with about 3" letters saying so.

We are more patient than most. I think most people would have frustratingly gotten back in their cars and drove away.

All they needed to do was spend a couple hundred dollars on directional and identification signage and our 20 minutes of anger and frustration could have been avoided. How many people have driven away out of frustration? How much revenue has been lost from diners who couldn't even the find the place? Worse yet, how much money in tips have the serving staff lost because people simply can't find the place?!? It is IDIOTIC for the resort staff to have no clear understanding of the relocation. One maintenance worker even told us the wrong color of building to look for. But NO ONE had a clue where to send us and without even minimal signage to help, it was an almost impossible task to find the restaurant.

That is HORRIBLE management no matter how else you choose to frame it. If the customers can't find the restaurant, nothing else matters.

But having vented on that frustration, the dining experience itself was wonderful.

The staff was knowledgeable, attentive and helpful. We had nothing but good things to say about the service.

My wife had a wedge salad that she loved, followed by sea scallops (from the menu) that she thought were amongst the best she'd ever had. They were cooked perfectly: caramelized on the sides, but delicate and tender in the centers.

I had a blue crab bisque that was fantastic. If I'd been by myself, I would have licked the bowl. For an entree, I chose a special Thai themed deep fried red snapper with sticky rice and other vegetables. The fish was delicious and perfectly cooked: delicate, flakey and not the least bit oily.

My ONLY criticism of the meal would be that I specifically asked the server if the sticky rice was prepared in the traditional Thai manner. He said it was and it most decidedly was NOT. It was still delicious and complimented the snapper very well, but it had no similarity to traditional Thai sticky rice in any way whatsoever.

All in all, our experience was very good. Finding the place totally sucked, but the mean we enjoyed once we found it was fantastic.

BUY SOME FREAKIN' SIGNS AND HELP CUSTOMERS FIND YOUR RESTAURANT!!

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Russell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAURENTBO19, Food& Beverage Manage at Old Captiva House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

Dear Russell C

Thank you so much for PART 2 of the glowing review of us at the Old Captiva House /Canoe Club. We loved reading how much you enjoyed our made from scratch menu items and warm and friendly service.
as for PART 1, I can guarantee you that the Management team is far away from stupid; when I chose to relocate the Captiva house restaurant in the Canoe Kanak, i immediately asked our marketing Team to work on special signs that will lead our guests to this small hidden location on the Bayside of our property. 3 big signs( 27 x47 ) with pictures and a foot map were placed on the front door of the old location, at the pool bar and on the front wall of the Canoe Kayak. Even with the signs in place, it is safe to say that some of our guests still had difficulties to find the little red pavilion in the back of our property on the bayside. As a Food & Beverage Director, i made sure that the F&B staff knew about the relocation and that they all were able to give the correct information. I also passed along the info to the Front desk department and his staff. it is possible that some of the ground crew were unable to give the correct information about the relocation, i apologize for that, and i assure you that I took the appropriate measure to correct the situation.
best regards
Laurent Bosc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2018 via mobile

Chef Greg Nelson has a passion for turning out some amazing dishes. All of our dinners were bursting with flavor, expertly presented, and perfectly prepared. While they are remodeling the main dining room, we utilized a small, intimate dining room at the boat slip. This was really a superb dining room ... intimate and cozy. Chef Nelson came out to greet us and explain both the menu and his cooking philosophy/passion to us. Two of us had ciopino which was truly superb. My wife had the veggie plate which she raved about. Our other friend has the blackened red snapper - she is still marveling over the texture and flavor. All this was supplemented by two bottles of excellent Barolo. Overall, a wonderful evening and a spectacular dinner.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank dvheminger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWIFandBManagement, Manager at Old Captiva House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2018

Dear David H,

Thank you for the feedback in regards to your recent visit with us at the Old Captiva House. We loved reading how much you and your guests enjoyed our cozy dining room, Chef Greg's made from scratch menu items, and our warm and friendly service. Thank you again for taking the time out of your day to write a review. We can't wait to see you on your next visit!

Kind regards,
F&B Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2018 via mobile

Just an update. A previous review stated the reno was complete, but unfortunately that is not the case. Cannot comment on food/ drink as we selected a different restaurant as a result of this.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWIFandBManagement, Manager at Old Captiva House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2018

Dear Chris C,

The previous review does not state that our renovation has been complete, simply that we have reopened in another location on Tween Waters property. Please bear with us during this time of improvement. We are fully open and serving our scratch made menu items. However, our dining room is temporarily relocated nearby to our Canoe and Kayak Club banquet facility, which is just around the corner from our main dining room. This water front venue is Tween Water’s premier event site offering fantastic views of the bay. It is located next to the marina to the left of the boat ramp on Tween Waters Island Inn. We apologize for any inconvenience our remodel may have caused you. We do hope you come visit our new location and try Chef Greg's fantastic new menu!

Thank you,
F&B Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2018 via mobile

Just reopened. Whike walkjng my dog, Bene i met CHEF GREG and he invited us to some fine dining to try his blacken snapper fantastic, Jenifer and Ray took
great care of us lobster over scallops were tasty but the polenta was the best according to my wife Tammy. Beautiful view quant, try it.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank mmillerlgf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWIFandBManagement, Manager at Old Captiva House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Dear mmillerlgf,

Thank you for your recent review of the Old Captiva House and our new location. We loved reading how much you enjoyed Chef Greg and his made from scratch menu items as well as the warm and friendly service Jen and Ray provided. We can't wait to see you again!

Thank you,
F&B Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Captiva House also viewed

Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Old Captiva House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing