We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the rainforest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bilit Rainforest Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2016

This lodge is in the rainforest on the Kat.... River. We really enjoyed our time there. It is not fancy but facilities are more than adequate for where you are. We had one big problem when we arrived - about 9 pm. The AC wasn't working hardly at all - all units have AC. We told the manager and he moved us to the VIP suite. This was real luxury with a two story suite. Great AC. TV (that didn't work). LOTS of hot water with good water pressure. It was really nice. We spent two days there. There were two excursions per day (none in the top heat of the day). We saw huge amounts of wildlife. We had our own guide but the boat driver (a riverman) was terrific at spotting wildlife. Many different types of monkeys, etc., croccodile, one orangutan, lizards, horn bills. Only disappointment is we didn't get to the pygmy elephants due to time issues. They offer several excursions on top of the package we had. A night walk and an night boat ride. My spouse did the night walk and really liked it. Many birds and different types of animals.
Food was good. Staff very good. All in all a really nice time.
Wifi in lobby

Room Tip: Check on the AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoelN701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 66 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2016

The manager Jimmy and receptionist Ila make staying at Bilit a fantastic place to experience the wildlife of Kinabatangan River. We stayed in one of the VIP lodges which were quite large and I was stunned to discover air conditioning, a fridge and TV in our room and a spacious modern shower room. Kinabatangan is fabulous for wildlife, we saw lots of Proboscis and other monkeys, a whole array of birds and crocodiles. We did see a glimpse of an orangutan and others saw elephants.
Hard to compare this lodge to others as we didn't see the insides of other riverside lodges, there does seem to be quite a bit of choice now. Bilit has a large open dining area where you are allocated a table, seemingly depending on who else you will be spending your boat trips with. Other lodges also allocate tables which is a bit strange, but we got used to it. The food becomes a bit monotonous after a couple of days, though the staff did an excellent job of ensuring we had plenty of options as non meat eaters.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ketts2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2016

We had two nights here and a total of four boat trips. We were not lucky enough to see either pygmy elephant or wild orangs, and we also missed out on the rhinoceros hornbills, but we saw lots of other species. They appear to give you the same guide for all of your trips and Azman was excellent. His knowledge was good and he had binoculars and field guides which is a great help. The wildlife viewing really was great and we have no complaints at all.

The lodges are spacious but basic, as you would expect, and the beds are comfortable. The food the first night and at lunch the following day was excellent, local fare but hot and as much as you wanted. The second night it all went wrong however. There were only four guests staying that night and we were having a drink at the bar, when they told us dinner was ready. Instead of the usual buffet they brought bowls of food out, with the first being chips. all of the food was stone cold, and I really do mean cold, not tepid or warm in any way. We pointed this out to the waitresses and they smiled and went away.It would appear that they had served the food up and then put it in the fridge to keep it fresh. Still the beer was cold as well. It did not spoil it for us.

We had a great time there and I would recommend it. To cap it all we saw three wild orangs on the way to the nearby caves.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Goansoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2016 via mobile

We didn't stay at the lodge but booked two days tours with Bilit. Both tour guides were excellent, knowledgable and fun, masses of wildlife and John and Paul thank you for your knowledge.
Also a nice treat was to rest in one of the lodges rooms after lunch and before our river trip. Helped us cool down and relax. The rooms were clean and basic if you want to compare with the Sheraton but if you consider where they are located they are luxurious! Thanks to all the team (Paul, John, Lawrence, Jimmy and all). Great value tours. We were treated like VIPs!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Malcolm G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2016

A two minute boat ride across the river took us to Bilit for our two night stay. Our lodge was huge , basic but clean and had ac and a comfortable bed.Lodge and boardwalks all stilted. There were lots of Macaque monkeys around so keep an eye on your possessions . The lodge was monkey proof but be prepared for the noise at about 5 each morning as they play on the metal roof . We did three boat trips , after dark, late afternoon and evening to catch the various wildlife . We saw Kingfishers, Hornbills, Egrits, Cocodiles, Monitor Lizards, Long tail and Pig tail Macacues, red leaf and Silver leaf monkeys and the amazing and funny Proboscis Monkeys.
Food was prey basic but plentiful, eg soup , rice and a choice of chicken fish or beef and fruit.
Staff were friendly , I believe from the local villages so they are learning but willing. Our guide on the boat trips was an excellent spotter and very knowledgeable
A really good couple of days, we went to the wildlife and were pleased with what we saw and the accommodation was better than we expected

Stayed: April 2016
3  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabatangan
1.2 km away
Borneo Natural Sukau Bilit Resort
Borneo Natural Sukau Bilit Resor...
#2 of 3 in Kota Kinabatangan
90 reviews
1.7 km away
Myne Resort
Myne Resort
#3 of 3 in Kota Kinabatangan
250 reviews
0.3 km away
Bilit Adventure Lodge
Bilit Adventure Lodge
#10 of 29 in Sandakan
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 km away
Sukau Greenview Bed & Breakfast
8.2 km away
Borneo Nature Lodge
Borneo Nature Lodge
#8 of 29 in Sandakan
194 reviews
0.9 km away
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan
#7 of 29 in Sandakan
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilit Rainforest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilit Rainforest Lodge

Address: KG Bilit Seberang Jalan Sukau, Kota Kinabatangan 90200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Kota Kinabatangan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kota Kinabatangan
Price Range: RM901 - RM1,152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bilit Rainforest Lodge is located beside the Lower Kinabatangan River in the village of Bilit, approximately 2 hours drive from Sandakan. It is a set of amidst lush tropical forest and offers comfort and peaceful relaxation as well as a base for easy exploration of the incredible diversity of plant, mammal and birds at the Kinabatangan region. All chalets and the restaurant are made from local hardwood material and are designed to blend into the nature giving a unique local native ambience. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable with a minimum of 600 sq.ft. for standard chalets and 800 sq. ft. for VIP permier chalets. A boardwalk connects the jetty, restaurant and all the chalets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bilit Rainforest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilit Rainforest Hotel Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing