We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restful place for jungle adventure in Borneo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bilit Rainforest Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2016

We went as a family, 2 kids 10 and 14, with no expectations and Bilit blew us away. Cabins were much better than expected, air conditioned and clean. Meals were simple but delicious with more than enough choices, e.g. chicken, fish, lamb, vegetables, rice, soup for dinner. The guides were well trained and informative, you can choose to chill, read a book in your room or the games room, or fish off the dock, or go on the morning, afternoon,evening and night cruises to spot birds and animals on the river, or go hiking thru the jungle. My boys are still talking about their jungle advehture a month after we returned so it definitely left a great impression. This is NOT roughing it. Dont expect 5 star and you will be very happily impressed. It was defnitely much more than i expected for being 2 hours drive away from Sandakan, in the middle of the Borneo jungle.

Room Tip: Bring insect repellent, it is the jungle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chrisneoh69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 44 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2016

This lodge is on the Kinabatangan River and is only accessible via a short speedboat ride. The accommodation is wooden huts which along with the central building is all on raised wooden walkways. Accommodation is clean and simple but comes with all the facilities you need. Food is simple and perfectly acceptable. The lodge offers river "cruises" morning (early), afternoon and evening. Wildlife on the river is plentiful and we saw both Orang-utans and Proboscis monkeys as well as an array of birds and other wildlife. The accommodation itself is visited by troops of long tailed macaques and wild pigs. Unfortunately there were no Elephant around and the water level was too high to see crocodiles. This is not a place to go for a leisurely swim!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016

We stayed a couple of nights at the Bilit Rainforest Lodge thanks to Tropical Gateway Tours and Amazing Borneo, and had the most amazing experience. The stay at the Lodge was included as a part of a package that included Turtle Island, Gomantong Caves and the Sepilok Orang-utan sanctuary. From the lodge we made a number of trips up and down the Kinabatanang River and on each one we were lucky enough to spot something new - wild Orang-Utans, Hornbills, Probiscus Monkeys.... each journey was filled with wildlife.

The Lodge itself was welcoming, food good and a relaxing place to unwind between river excursions.

We were guided by Abdul from Tropical Gateway, and we couldn't have asked for a better guide - he seemed to have a inbuilt radar for spotting wildlife and knew so much about Borneo there was never a dull moment.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Amazing Borneo (who organised the tour), Tropical Gateway (who ran the tour) and the Bilit Lodge if you are thinking of travelling to Borneo.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mattf1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2016

We really enjoyed our stay. Really nice location of the chalets they are spread our over a big area so you hardly see the other houses, great staff and a good breakfast and nice meals. The pool is small and just for small kids.
Recommend for a couple of nights. The walk to

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ludde3d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for just one night. We were expecting a very basic lodge and it was much nicer and bigger than expected! Two huge double beds, clean and homely. Hammocks on the porch and two lovely wicker chairs. The place had such a good atmosphere. Food was amazing! The river cruise was really fun, saw lots of monkeys although no pygme elephants, apparently they travel further upstream so less common to see on cruise. Wifi was only free for an hour but didn't work when we tried! Was quite nice to be cut off from the rest of the world for the night though- especially as it felt like we were right in the middle of the rainforest! I wouldn't recommend staying longer than 2 nights as there isn't a lot more to do unless you are a keen birdwatcher!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Maxine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabatangan
1.2 km away
Borneo Natural Sukau Bilit Resort
Borneo Natural Sukau Bilit Resor...
#2 of 3 in Kota Kinabatangan
85 reviews
0.9 km away
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan
#7 of 29 in Sandakan
358 reviews
1.7 km away
Myne Resort
Myne Resort
#3 of 3 in Kota Kinabatangan
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Kinabatangan Jungle Camp
8.2 km away
Borneo Nature Lodge
Borneo Nature Lodge
#8 of 29 in Sandakan
191 reviews
10.1 km away
Sukau Greenview Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilit Rainforest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilit Rainforest Lodge

Address: KG Bilit Seberang Jalan Sukau, Kota Kinabatangan 90200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Kota Kinabatangan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kota Kinabatangan
Price Range: RM920 - RM1,168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bilit Rainforest Lodge is located beside the Lower Kinabatangan River in the village of Bilit, approximately 2 hours drive from Sandakan. It is a set of amidst lush tropical forest and offers comfort and peaceful relaxation as well as a base for easy exploration of the incredible diversity of plant, mammal and birds at the Kinabatangan region. All chalets and the restaurant are made from local hardwood material and are designed to blend into the nature giving a unique local native ambience. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable with a minimum of 600 sq.ft. for standard chalets and 800 sq. ft. for VIP permier chalets. A boardwalk connects the jetty, restaurant and all the chalets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bilit Rainforest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilit Rainforest Hotel Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing