We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restful place for jungle adventure in Borneo” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bilit Rainforest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bilit Rainforest Lodge
Singapore
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Restful place for jungle adventure in Borneo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2016

We went as a family, 2 kids 10 and 14, with no expectations and Bilit blew us away. Cabins were much better than expected, air conditioned and clean. Meals were simple but delicious with more than enough choices, e.g. chicken, fish, lamb, vegetables, rice, soup for dinner. The guides were well trained and informative, you can choose to chill, read a book in your room or the games room, or fish off the dock, or go on the morning, afternoon,evening and night cruises to spot birds and animals on the river, or go hiking thru the jungle. My boys are still talking about their jungle advehture a month after we returned so it definitely left a great impression. This is NOT roughing it. Dont expect 5 star and you will be very happily impressed. It was defnitely much more than i expected for being 2 hours drive away from Sandakan, in the middle of the Borneo jungle.

Room Tip: Bring insect repellent, it is the jungle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2016, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisneoh69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    98
    41
    11
    6
See reviews for
53
129
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2016

This lodge is on the Kinabatangan River and is only accessible via a short speedboat ride. The accommodation is wooden huts which along with the central building is all on raised wooden walkways. Accommodation is clean and simple but comes with all the facilities you need. Food is simple and perfectly acceptable. The lodge offers river "cruises" morning (early), afternoon and evening. Wildlife on the river is plentiful and we saw both Orang-utans and Proboscis monkeys as well as an array of birds and other wildlife. The accommodation itself is visited by troops of long tailed macaques and wild pigs. Unfortunately there were no Elephant around and the water level was too high to see crocodiles. This is not a place to go for a leisurely swim!

  • Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2016

We stayed a couple of nights at the Bilit Rainforest Lodge thanks to Tropical Gateway Tours and Amazing Borneo, and had the most amazing experience. The stay at the Lodge was included as a part of a package that included Turtle Island, Gomantong Caves and the Sepilok Orang-utan sanctuary. From the lodge we made a number of trips up and down the Kinabatanang River and on each one we were lucky enough to spot something new - wild Orang-Utans, Hornbills, Probiscus Monkeys.... each journey was filled with wildlife.

The Lodge itself was welcoming, food good and a relaxing place to unwind between river excursions.

We were guided by Abdul from Tropical Gateway, and we couldn't have asked for a better guide - he seemed to have a inbuilt radar for spotting wildlife and knew so much about Borneo there was never a dull moment.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Amazing Borneo (who organised the tour), Tropical Gateway (who ran the tour) and the Bilit Lodge if you are thinking of travelling to Borneo.

  • Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattf1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2016

We really enjoyed our stay. Really nice location of the chalets they are spread our over a big area so you hardly see the other houses, great staff and a good breakfast and nice meals. The pool is small and just for small kids.
Recommend for a couple of nights. The walk to

  • Stayed July 2016, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ludde3d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for just one night. We were expecting a very basic lodge and it was much nicer and bigger than expected! Two huge double beds, clean and homely. Hammocks on the porch and two lovely wicker chairs. The place had such a good atmosphere. Food was amazing! The river cruise was really fun, saw lots of monkeys although no pygme elephants, apparently they travel further upstream so less common to see on cruise. Wifi was only free for an hour but didn't work when we tried! Was quite nice to be cut off from the rest of the world for the night though- especially as it felt like we were right in the middle of the rainforest! I wouldn't recommend staying longer than 2 nights as there isn't a lot more to do unless you are a keen birdwatcher!

Stayed August 2016, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Maxine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabatangan
39.1 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
2.6 km away
Kinabatangan Jungle Camp
0.6 km away
Borneo Natural Sukau Bilit Resort
Borneo Natural Sukau Bilit Resor...
#3 of 3 in Kota Kinabatangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
Borneo Nature Lodge
Borneo Nature Lodge
#8 of 30 in Sandakan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
38.9 km away
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan
#4 of 30 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
27.8 km away
Sukau Greenview Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilit Rainforest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilit Rainforest Lodge

Property: Bilit Rainforest Lodge
Address: KG Bilit Seberang Jalan Sukau, Kota Kinabatangan 90200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Kota Kinabatangan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kota Kinabatangan
Price range (per night): RM992 - RM1,160
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bilit Rainforest Lodge is located beside the Lower Kinabatangan River in the village of Bilit, approximately 2 hours drive from Sandakan. It is a set of amidst lush tropical forest and offers comfort and peaceful relaxation as well as a base for easy exploration of the incredible diversity of plant, mammal and birds at the Kinabatangan region. All chalets and the restaurant are made from local hardwood material and are designed to blend into the nature giving a unique local native ambience. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable with a minimum of 600 sq.ft. for standard chalets and 800 sq. ft. for VIP permier chalets. A boardwalk connects the jetty, restaurant and all the chalets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Bilit Rainforest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilit Rainforest Hotel Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing