We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bilit Rainforest Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Skyglobal(Labuan Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Borneo Rainforest Lodge(Danum Valley Conservation Area)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Uncle Tan Wildlife Camp(Sandakan Division)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveller rating
103
116
42
13
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
103
116
42
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverproboscis monkeysamazing borneo tourson stiltsair conwild boarmonitor lizardssilver leaf monkeysminute boat ridemorning tripspotting wildlifegomantong cavesour tour guiderooms are largeleech sockstea coffeerainforest lodge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 282 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2016

This lodge is on the Kinabatangan River and is only accessible via a short speedboat ride. The accommodation is wooden huts which along with the central building is all on raised wooden walkways. Accommodation is clean and simple but comes with all the facilities you need. Food is simple and perfectly acceptable. The lodge offers river "cruises" morning (early), afternoon and evening. Wildlife on the river is plentiful and we saw both Orang-utans and Proboscis monkeys as well as an array of birds and other wildlife. The accommodation itself is visited by troops of long tailed macaques and wild pigs. Unfortunately there were no Elephant around and the water level was too high to see crocodiles. This is not a place to go for a leisurely swim!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016

We stayed a couple of nights at the Bilit Rainforest Lodge thanks to Tropical Gateway Tours and Amazing Borneo, and had the most amazing experience. The stay at the Lodge was included as a part of a package that included Turtle Island, Gomantong Caves and the Sepilok Orang-utan sanctuary. From the lodge we made a number of trips up and down the Kinabatanang River and on each one we were lucky enough to spot something new - wild Orang-Utans, Hornbills, Probiscus Monkeys.... each journey was filled with wildlife.

The Lodge itself was welcoming, food good and a relaxing place to unwind between river excursions.

We were guided by Abdul from Tropical Gateway, and we couldn't have asked for a better guide - he seemed to have a inbuilt radar for spotting wildlife and knew so much about Borneo there was never a dull moment.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Amazing Borneo (who organised the tour), Tropical Gateway (who ran the tour) and the Bilit Lodge if you are thinking of travelling to Borneo.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mattf1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2016

We really enjoyed our stay. Really nice location of the chalets they are spread our over a big area so you hardly see the other houses, great staff and a good breakfast and nice meals. The pool is small and just for small kids.
Recommend for a couple of nights. The walk to

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ludde3d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for just one night. We were expecting a very basic lodge and it was much nicer and bigger than expected! Two huge double beds, clean and homely. Hammocks on the porch and two lovely wicker chairs. The place had such a good atmosphere. Food was amazing! The river cruise was really fun, saw lots of monkeys although no pygme elephants, apparently they travel further upstream so less common to see on cruise. Wifi was only free for an hour but didn't work when we tried! Was quite nice to be cut off from the rest of the world for the night though- especially as it felt like we were right in the middle of the rainforest! I wouldn't recommend staying longer than 2 nights as there isn't a lot more to do unless you are a keen birdwatcher!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Maxine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016

First the positives. The location across the river made you feel like you were really in the rainforest. The river cruises were fantastic, we were luck enough to see lots of Proboscis monkeys, Pygmy elephants (twice) and the elusive Orangutans and the night cruise offered by the resort was well worth the extra cost as we saw lots of nocturnal life lit by a spectacular lightning storm. Our boat Captain, Mr Joy, had the most amazing eyesight and sixth sense to locate all this wildlife. The food was basic but there was lots of choice and it was tasty.
Then the negatives. The resort was not well kept, there was lots of litter scattered around the grounds, neither of our two 'VIP' chalets were particularly clean and although spacious they were looking rather tired. The beds were covered in ill fitting duvet covers in lieu of sheets making sleep difficult.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay but with a little care and attention to detail this could be a real gem in the beautiful rainforest.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 'VIP' chalets at the back of the resort, the semidetached ones closer to the main building appeared to be better appointed.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 4_Wandering_Walkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews