We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bilit Rainforest Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Myne Resort(Kota Kinabatangan)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (285)
Filter reviews
285 results
Traveller rating
103
118
43
13
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
103
118
43
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverproboscis monkeysamazing borneo tourson stiltsair conwild boarmonitor lizardssilver leaf monkeysminute boat ridemorning tripspotting wildlifegomantong cavesour tour guiderooms are largeleech sockstea coffeerainforest lodge
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 285 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2016

We went as a family, 2 kids 10 and 14, with no expectations and Bilit blew us away. Cabins were much better than expected, air conditioned and clean. Meals were simple but delicious with more than enough choices, e.g. chicken, fish, lamb, vegetables, rice, soup for dinner. The guides were well trained and informative, you can choose to chill, read a book in your room or the games room, or fish off the dock, or go on the morning, afternoon,evening and night cruises to spot birds and animals on the river, or go hiking thru the jungle. My boys are still talking about their jungle advehture a month after we returned so it definitely left a great impression. This is NOT roughing it. Dont expect 5 star and you will be very happily impressed. It was defnitely much more than i expected for being 2 hours drive away from Sandakan, in the middle of the Borneo jungle.

Room Tip: Bring insect repellent, it is the jungle.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chrisneoh69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016

This lodge is on the Kinabatangan River and is only accessible via a short speedboat ride. The accommodation is wooden huts which along with the central building is all on raised wooden walkways. Accommodation is clean and simple but comes with all the facilities you need. Food is simple and perfectly acceptable. The lodge offers river "cruises" morning (early), afternoon and evening. Wildlife on the river is plentiful and we saw both Orang-utans and Proboscis monkeys as well as an array of birds and other wildlife. The accommodation itself is visited by troops of long tailed macaques and wild pigs. Unfortunately there were no Elephant around and the water level was too high to see crocodiles. This is not a place to go for a leisurely swim!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016

We stayed a couple of nights at the Bilit Rainforest Lodge thanks to Tropical Gateway Tours and Amazing Borneo, and had the most amazing experience. The stay at the Lodge was included as a part of a package that included Turtle Island, Gomantong Caves and the Sepilok Orang-utan sanctuary. From the lodge we made a number of trips up and down the Kinabatanang River and on each one we were lucky enough to spot something new - wild Orang-Utans, Hornbills, Probiscus Monkeys.... each journey was filled with wildlife.

The Lodge itself was welcoming, food good and a relaxing place to unwind between river excursions.

We were guided by Abdul from Tropical Gateway, and we couldn't have asked for a better guide - he seemed to have a inbuilt radar for spotting wildlife and knew so much about Borneo there was never a dull moment.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Amazing Borneo (who organised the tour), Tropical Gateway (who ran the tour) and the Bilit Lodge if you are thinking of travelling to Borneo.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mattf1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2016

We really enjoyed our stay. Really nice location of the chalets they are spread our over a big area so you hardly see the other houses, great staff and a good breakfast and nice meals. The pool is small and just for small kids.
Recommend for a couple of nights. The walk to

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ludde3d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for just one night. We were expecting a very basic lodge and it was much nicer and bigger than expected! Two huge double beds, clean and homely. Hammocks on the porch and two lovely wicker chairs. The place had such a good atmosphere. Food was amazing! The river cruise was really fun, saw lots of monkeys although no pygme elephants, apparently they travel further upstream so less common to see on cruise. Wifi was only free for an hour but didn't work when we tried! Was quite nice to be cut off from the rest of the world for the night though- especially as it felt like we were right in the middle of the rainforest! I wouldn't recommend staying longer than 2 nights as there isn't a lot more to do unless you are a keen birdwatcher!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Maxine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews