We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bilit Rainforest Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Borneo Natural Sukau Bilit Resort(Kota Kinabatangan)(Great Value!)
US$149
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Myne Resort(Kota Kinabatangan)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (289)
Filter reviews
289 results
Traveller rating
105
120
43
13
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
120
43
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverproboscis monkeysamazing borneo tourson stiltsair conwild boarmonitor lizardssilver leaf monkeysmorning tripminute boat ridespotting wildlifegomantong cavesour tour guidelong tail macaquesrooms are largeleech socksspent two nights
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 289 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2016

We did an overnight sat with our 3 year old son and it was a very pleasant stay. The staff we welcoming, helpful and professional. Our room was comfortable and clean and the setting in the rainforest was beautiful. Meals were good with a buffet for lunch and dinner offering a range of food (something for everyone). Breakfast was a cooked meal.

The afternoon cruise was good and we got to see proboscis monkeys up close and a couple of other species. The river is quite pretty and we preferred this over the Klias River cruise. Our guide was very knowledgeable and friendly.We went on a night cruise also and got to see some birds like the beautiful kingfishers and a baby crocodile.

Would recommend a two day trip here if you want to see a beautiful river and wildlife. Also the lodge and staff are welcoming of small children.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Renee704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Good place on the river bank. Cruises in the evening and night can spot lots of wildlife. Our guide Darwis was very informative and shared lots of details about the species and the ecosystem around the rainforest.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vivenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

This is in the rainforest so when you keep that in mind it is a reasonable standard. We found the food surprisingly good ( other than one lunch) given their limited facilities . One thing that I noticed though was the staff kept lifting the lids of the hot plates which given the number of insects around seemed unnecessary. Staff all great and super friendly ( even chilling our tonic!). Cruises great and we saw wild orangutans, many birds and monkeys and even a few crocs. The night cruise under the stars was very chilled and lovely to hear the jungle noises. Guides excellent at spotting and with information. No issues with room as although some insects keeping the lights off in bathroom when not in there seemed to minimise any issues . Never had a hot shower but then not that cold out! Linen very clean. All in all good experience but think 2 nights all that is required. One hours free wifi a day too.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank katie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016

The Bilit Ecolodge is a lovely looking hotel on the river but the food was not at all impressive for me as a vegetarian – only choice available was 2 small plates of warm ‘cabbage.’
We planned the trip focussing on visiting the Gomantong caves to see the bats but were very disappointed as we barely spent ½ hour there, then having to wait around for 2 ½ hours at the hotel with nothing to do before the ‘river cruise.’ We then saw very little before torrential rain came down. Very pricey.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank OrangutanEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

Wonderful accommodation for wildlife lovers. We had two orangutan sightings and saw numerous rare and wonderful wildlife on boat tours. Around the lodge itself we saw hornbills, squirrels, monkeys, crocodiles and wild boar. Staff were excellent and couldn't do enough to help us out! We noticed on boat tours that other company guides didn't provide much information and their tour guests leaned towards our boat and tried to listen to our guides instead. The manager also generously organized a special honeymoon table for us with linen and flowers as a surprise. It was beautiful! Our favourite guide was Darwis, who was very informative and funny. He kindly took us to a roadside stall to try durian when we mentioned we wanted to try it even though it wasn't part of the tour.
Accommodation was cabins on stilts (protection from wildlife and flooding) with outdoor seating and hammocks. Each cabin was well appointed with a bathroom and toilet. Contrary to other reviews, I found the linen and towels clean and the floor so clean walking barefoot was not a problem! The bathroom and toilet weren't as clean (shower drain covered in hair and overflowed until we cleared it, a bit dusty) but this was mostly due to these 2 rooms being more open to the elements via the window screens - which I liked because I could hear the sounds of the wildlife and the geckos could enter and eat some of the invading insects. Those expecting a 5 star hotel will be disappointed but the accommodation is fine, just basic. Bring insect repellent (as the insects enter through tiny gaps in the wood cabins) and lock your door so monkeys don't enter. Bring closed toed washable shoes if you insist on doing the cave tour, but I recommend giving it a miss unless you want to walk through wet, stinky guano. Or better yet, stay on the boardwalk outside & look for orangutans. Our only bad experience was the smelly cave and our first guide mistakenly believing we had signed up for a night we hadn't signed up for. It was a bit awkward but staff were accepting of our perceived cancellation.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank LKaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews