We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and well located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bilit Rainforest Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Friendly and well located”
Reviewed 1 March 2017

We stayed for 2 nights. A very friendly indigenous lodge that offers basic accommodation and good food. The location for river trips was great with our excellent guide (Man) and "Mr T" boat driver finding lots of wildlife for us on our 3 journeys down the river. If you like immersing yourself into local culture and supporting small family ventures (as we do) this is the place for you.

Stayed November 2016
Helpful?
Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    112
    41
    12
    6
See reviews for
59
139
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

This is a basic rainforest lodge with some nice features. A nice decked area and the buffet food was fine. The bathroom facilities were particularly good for the rainforest. However, the bed was covered in ants and the room had a strange smell - remember this is the rainforest! Our afternoon boat trip was a little shorter than expected, which was a shame as we had been waiting around all afternoon for it. The place is so remote there is nothing else to do or nowhere to walk to. It would be nice if jungle walks were available or something to make the most of the time in Borneo, even if this costs extra. The night time cruise was quite expensive but worth it as we saw bats and beautiful kingfishers.

Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bohemia25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

We spent two nights at this beautiful rainforest lodge. They offer cruises 3 times a day on the Kinabatangan river where you will have the chance to spot wildlife such as orangutans, proboscis monkey, Pygmy elephants, hornbills and many others. The service in very good and they offer very nice food 3 times a day. The bungalows are quite spacious with both a toilet and a shower room. It's just the perfect place to relax. Make sure you visit the Gomatong cave while you are in the area. If you are pressed on time or a restless person I'd suggest just staying for one night because there is a lot of free time.

Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LiBjork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2017

As part of the day eco tour we did from Sandakan we had lunch and afternoon tea here before setting off on the 2 hour twilight cruise. The lunch was good...a small but tasty selection of hot dishes and it was reasonably good quality... the lodge is clean and I would consider staying a night if we are to return..

Stayed January 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank MartInG1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2016 via mobile

Having visited a few jungle camps I am aware that you cannot compare these lodges to hotels - they are different things altogether. The staff were really nice - our guide, John was well informed and interesting. He did not bombard us with information (something I find tiring) but was really knowledgeable about the area and the animals. Everyone was pleasant and helpful. The food was good for a jungle lodge with plenty of variety. Our room was comfortable and clean with air conditioning (very welcome). The river cruises were motorised and we saw lots of monkeys, a giant lizard, hornbills and other birds and crocodiles. We also saw an orang Utan on our cave visit along with swiftlets and lots of cockroaches (in the caves not the lodge) also a boar and monkeys which visited the lodge area. Miraculously we did not get rained on once. Umbrellas were supplied but not needed. Tips if you have not been to a jungle lodge before:. Don't take all your stuff - try to leave some at another hotel and bear in mind you will carry your bag yourself. Your room will probably not be cleaned or towels changed unless you ask but ours was clean and well supplied on arrival and we were ok with this. Take mosquito repellant - very important! It is worth taking a wet bag for your cameras etc in case you get caught in rain. At this lodge we did not get a hairdryer but there are sockets - one next to a mirror - so you can take your own. It is very humid but dry in the rooms.

Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank janeadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabatangan
1.2 km away
Borneo Natural Sukau Bilit Resort
Borneo Natural Sukau Bilit Resor...
#3 of 3 in Kota Kinabatangan
74 reviews
0.9 km away
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan
#7 of 28 in Sandakan
351 reviews
1.7 km away
Myne Resort
Myne Resort
#2 of 3 in Kota Kinabatangan
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Kinabatangan Jungle Camp
8.2 km away
Borneo Nature Lodge
Borneo Nature Lodge
#8 of 28 in Sandakan
186 reviews
10.1 km away
Sukau Greenview Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilit Rainforest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilit Rainforest Lodge

Property: Bilit Rainforest Lodge
Address: KG Bilit Seberang Jalan Sukau, Kota Kinabatangan 90200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Kota Kinabatangan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kota Kinabatangan
Price range (per night): RM932 - RM1,169
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bilit Rainforest Lodge is located beside the Lower Kinabatangan River in the village of Bilit, approximately 2 hours drive from Sandakan. It is a set of amidst lush tropical forest and offers comfort and peaceful relaxation as well as a base for easy exploration of the incredible diversity of plant, mammal and birds at the Kinabatangan region. All chalets and the restaurant are made from local hardwood material and are designed to blend into the nature giving a unique local native ambience. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable with a minimum of 600 sq.ft. for standard chalets and 800 sq. ft. for VIP permier chalets. A boardwalk connects the jetty, restaurant and all the chalets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bilit Rainforest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilit Rainforest Hotel Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing