We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bilit Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel City Star(Sandakan)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
May Fair Hotel(Sandakan)
View Hotel
NAK Hotel(Sandakan)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Lagenda(Sandakan)
View Hotel
Hotel Samila(Sandakan)
View Hotel
Hotel Sandakan(Sandakan)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel London(Sandakan)
View Hotel
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveller rating
103
116
42
13
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
103
116
42
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverproboscis monkeysamazing borneo tourson stiltsair conwild boarmonitor lizardssilver leaf monkeysminute boat ridemorning tripspotting wildlifegomantong cavesour tour guiderooms are largeleech sockstea coffeerainforest lodge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 282 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2017

We stayed for 2 nights. A very friendly indigenous lodge that offers basic accommodation and good food. The location for river trips was great with our excellent guide (Man) and "Mr T" boat driver finding lots of wildlife for us on our 3 journeys down the river. If you like immersing yourself into local culture and supporting small family ventures (as we do) this is the place for you.

Stayed: November 2016
Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

This is a basic rainforest lodge with some nice features. A nice decked area and the buffet food was fine. The bathroom facilities were particularly good for the rainforest. However, the bed was covered in ants and the room had a strange smell - remember this is the rainforest! Our afternoon boat trip was a little shorter than expected, which was a shame as we had been waiting around all afternoon for it. The place is so remote there is nothing else to do or nowhere to walk to. It would be nice if jungle walks were available or something to make the most of the time in Borneo, even if this costs extra. The night time cruise was quite expensive but worth it as we saw bats and beautiful kingfishers.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank bohemia25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

We spent two nights at this beautiful rainforest lodge. They offer cruises 3 times a day on the Kinabatangan river where you will have the chance to spot wildlife such as orangutans, proboscis monkey, Pygmy elephants, hornbills and many others. The service in very good and they offer very nice food 3 times a day. The bungalows are quite spacious with both a toilet and a shower room. It's just the perfect place to relax. Make sure you visit the Gomatong cave while you are in the area. If you are pressed on time or a restless person I'd suggest just staying for one night because there is a lot of free time.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank LiBjork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2017

As part of the day eco tour we did from Sandakan we had lunch and afternoon tea here before setting off on the 2 hour twilight cruise. The lunch was good...a small but tasty selection of hot dishes and it was reasonably good quality... the lodge is clean and I would consider staying a night if we are to return..

Stayed: January 2017
1  Thank MartInG1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2016 via mobile

Having visited a few jungle camps I am aware that you cannot compare these lodges to hotels - they are different things altogether. The staff were really nice - our guide, John was well informed and interesting. He did not bombard us with information (something I find tiring) but was really knowledgeable about the area and the animals. Everyone was pleasant and helpful. The food was good for a jungle lodge with plenty of variety. Our room was comfortable and clean with air conditioning (very welcome). The river cruises were motorised and we saw lots of monkeys, a giant lizard, hornbills and other birds and crocodiles. We also saw an orang Utan on our cave visit along with swiftlets and lots of cockroaches (in the caves not the lodge) also a boar and monkeys which visited the lodge area. Miraculously we did not get rained on once. Umbrellas were supplied but not needed. Tips if you have not been to a jungle lodge before:. Don't take all your stuff - try to leave some at another hotel and bear in mind you will carry your bag yourself. Your room will probably not be cleaned or towels changed unless you ask but ours was clean and well supplied on arrival and we were ok with this. Take mosquito repellant - very important! It is worth taking a wet bag for your cameras etc in case you get caught in rain. At this lodge we did not get a hairdryer but there are sockets - one next to a mirror - so you can take your own. It is very humid but dry in the rooms.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
4  Thank janeadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews