We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Borneo Natural Sukau Bilit Resort(Kota Kinabatangan)(Great Value!)
US$224
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Skyglobal(Labuan Island)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$22
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Myne Resort(Kota Kinabatangan)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Borneo Rainforest Lodge(Danum Valley Conservation Area)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Uncle Tan Wildlife Camp(Sandakan Division)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (291)
Filter reviews
291 results
Traveller rating
107
120
43
13
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
107
120
43
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverproboscis monkeysamazing borneo tourson stiltsair conwild boarmonitor lizardssilver leaf monkeysmorning tripminute boat ridespotting wildlifegomantong caveslong tail macaquesour tour guiderooms are largebird lifespent two nights
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 291 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

We arrived via our tour (with trail finders) and was greeted upon arrival by the manager who has owned/lived here for 9 years (Jimmy). All the staff were extremely friendly and we were even welcomed with a glass of orange juice.

The rooms are spacious with 2 double beds, air con, separate WC and shower room. The shower is rather weak. There are hot showers, you need to flick a switch - ask at reception if you don't get hot water.

The grounds are superb. The rooms are all interconnected with an elevated walkway and we had a variety of monkeys making an appearance.

Be warned - don't leave ANYTHING outside your rooms, otherwise the monkeys will have it!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank AnnieM838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017

The staff was so helpful and the food was great. The accommodations were fine - the room, bathroom and beds were clean. The hammocks on the veranda were a nice touch. The tours on the river were unbelievable. Our stay included 4 river tours, including a night cruise. We saw so much wildlife including pygmy elephants and crocodiles and at night we saw a baby crocodile and beautifully coloured Blue-Eared Kingfisher and I believe a Stork-billed kingfisher. Having some games to play or a book to read during the time spent at the lodge is a recommendation. I really could not have asked for more. I would definitely recommend this lodge to others.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marion Josephin... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017

This is the perfect place to go if you want to get away from it all and enjoy mother nature. The lodge and rooms are comfortable, clean and cozy and the staff goes above and beyond to make your stay enjoyable. The beds were comfortable and the food was tasty. Two river cruises a day offer a great opportunity to see animals in the wild - we were lucky enough to see orangoutangs, crocodiles, pigmy elephants, probiscus monkeys, snakes and several birds on our trips. The afternoons are perfect to lay in the hammock and read or to play games in the common area. They even have wifi for those of us who find it hard to completely disconnect. They set up a 4 day tour for us and everything was amazing. The tour guides Azman and Darwis were professional, informative and excellent animal spotters - they are a huge asset to this property, our stay would not have been the same without them. We went to the Gomantong Cave where they harvest the birds nests for bird nest soup and were fortunate enough to have the opportunity to watch them actually harvest the nests. I highly recommend this place for a few day get-away!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Guinness R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017

Traveled here with my family. The location was quiet yet still right by the village. In the afternoon, we could bird watch from the hotel itself and once in a while, even saw macaques walking around. Food was decent given its remoteness and the day/night safaries were extremely enjoyable. Family had a great time.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank arsibaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

We had a great stay here at the lodge.

The staff and the food were great.

The accommodation is basic but it's what we expected. Your staying on the edge of a rainforest and a river. We weren't expecting a 5 star hotel experience. You go for the wildlife and the boat cruises.

We saw so many birds and monkeys. We had 3 river cruises. We seen the most wildlife on the afternoon trips. But the morning trip was the most enjoyable. Seeing the sun rise over the river and going up a very narrow estuary to a hidden lake. Just unreal. We also managed to spot a huge crocodile on the river bank and we got very close to it.

A great experience for people who are looking for wildlife sightings.

The only downside is that when you have free time. There is very little to do. Other than sit in your lodge or in the communal food area. Make sure you download some movies or TV on your phone to watch as the WiFi connection is poor.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Alistair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews