We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for seeing wildlife”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bilit Rainforest Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2017

The lodge is a c2hr drive form Sandakan, and a 5 min boat trip.

The rooms are built on stilts, none with river facing views. They are fairly basic, but there are showers, aircon and you need to remember that you are in a tropical rainforest and all supplies have to be brought in by boat.
The days centre around the early morning (6.30) and afternoon (4.30) boat trips which each last c2hours. we spent 2 nights there and our pckage gave 2 evening and 1 morning trip, all of which went to differing parts of the river. The evening trips focussed upon the mammals, Orangutangs, various monkeys, whereas the morning gave an opportunity to see lots of birds, The lodge guide who escort you are very informative.

During the day it's sitting by your room relaxing.

The buffet food is reasonable for the location, but don't expect a la care options, and the small bar is very limited, a couple of wines and some beer and soft drinks.

Overall a great place to see the wildlife, but don't expect 5 star rooms.

Room Tip: All rooms very similar, none with river views. Detached are better than semi's
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank tonytourguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2017

The lodge was a good base for trips along the Kinabatangan River. The boat tours were excellent with capable boat operations and good wildlife spotting.
There was lots to see on the trips including monkeys and birds. If you want a chance to see the pygmy elephants it is necessary to arrange an extended river trip. We were lucky to be able to do this but we had to make inquiries. The extra charge was worthwhile even if we had been unable to find the elephants - luckily we found them.
The cabins were spacious and well laid out with effective AC. There were problems with both damaged lighting including bare wires and plumbing difficulties due to poor maintenance.
The staff were friendly and helpful. Jimmy, the manager, did his best to overcome problems caused by the booking agency - thanks Jimmy.
The meals were adequate considering that we were I the rainforest..

Room Tip: Check that the shower has pressure and hot water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Pam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed for two nights at the bilit rainforest lodge and had a great time! The lodge is only accessible by boat. We arrived during a downpour.

The lodge team were really friendly and helpful. The site is very close to a traditional river village.

We had river tours am and pm and saw a whole host of wildlife including proboscis monkey, many varieties of birds and a crocodile.

Food decent. Local Malaysian

Lodges great - but showers on the cold side.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

Firstly, you are in the middle of a rain forest so you will not get some of the luxury you may expect elsewhere
Having said that, our lodge was very pleasant with good air con. We had the deluxe version of the available lodges. The only thing we felt it lacked was a fridge.
The staff were very friendly and helpful
Food was was very authentic and delicious
Limited drinks availability
However, the reason you go to stay on the Kinabatang river is to see the wildlife and this is where the Bilit excels - we were lucky enough to see everything we had hoped for including pigmy elephants. When the owner heard my wife's dream was to see the elephants he found out where they were and arranged an extra trip to go and find them - very special.
We were also very privileged to be invited to join in with a Hari Raya at the home of one of the staff at the nearby village. A big thank you to captain JD (afraid I don't know his real name) and his lovely family.
Finally a very special mention of our guide,John, he was exceptional and in a very short time also became a good friend.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trevor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

Bilit Rain Forrest Lodge - 117

About 2 ½ hour drive from Sandakan and a 3 minute boat ride.

Arrived 6 July, for two nights. Nice dry and warm, managed 4pm river safari in the dry. 7 July raining all day: I suppose the clue is in the name – Rain forest.

Arrived in time for lunch, which was buffet style; soup main course – fish, red meat or chicken, plus chips and two types of vegetables. The meat sometimes a bit chewy. Two types of fruit for desert or nice cake.

The whole complex is up on stills, with a circular walk way which joins the lodges to the communal dining area. There is a bar (see photo for price list) and an air conditioned games room.

The lodges are air conditioned, spacious and comfortable. There is not much slumming it here. Beds are two doubles per lodge. Separate toilet and shower, which do not form part of the AC zone. Temperature of shower water – chill removed. Rooms are well lit.

Two power sockets in the lodge, a kettle and a safe (although mine didn’t work).
The routine is coffee and toast before a 2 hour river safari leaving at 6.30 am. Back for a full breakfast. Next activity is another river safari at 4pm, so bring a book.
There is a no shoes/boots policy around the dinning room.

You are allocated a one hour WiFi passwords and user name for each day spent at the lodge. Limited connection to the internet. WiFi is in the communal area only.

I did see wild orangutan, proboscis monkey and silver lipped macaque as well as a couple of crocodile and several birds including kingfisher, heron and egret.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SJB3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabatangan
1.2 km away
Borneo Natural Sukau Bilit Resort
Borneo Natural Sukau Bilit Resor...
#1 of 3 in Kota Kinabatangan
102 reviews
1.7 km away
Myne Resort
Myne Resort
#3 of 3 in Kota Kinabatangan
255 reviews
1.7 km away
Kinabatangan Jungle Camp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 km away
Borneo Nature Lodge
Borneo Nature Lodge
#7 of 29 in Sandakan
196 reviews
0.9 km away
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan
#6 of 29 in Sandakan
370 reviews
10.1 km away
Sukau Greenview Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilit Rainforest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilit Rainforest Lodge

Address: KG Bilit Seberang Jalan Sukau, Kota Kinabatangan 90200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Kota Kinabatangan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kota Kinabatangan
Price Range: RM 1,146 - RM 1,169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bilit Rainforest Lodge is located beside the Lower Kinabatangan River in the village of Bilit, approximately 2 hours drive from Sandakan. It is a set of amidst lush tropical forest and offers comfort and peaceful relaxation as well as a base for easy exploration of the incredible diversity of plant, mammal and birds at the Kinabatangan region. All chalets and the restaurant are made from local hardwood material and are designed to blend into the nature giving a unique local native ambience. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable with a minimum of 600 sq.ft. for standard chalets and 800 sq. ft. for VIP permier chalets. A boardwalk connects the jetty, restaurant and all the chalets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bilit Rainforest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilit Rainforest Hotel Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing