We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (335)
Filter reviews
335 results
Traveller rating
135
131
48
13
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
135
131
48
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews proboscis monkeys the river air con on stilts read a book wild boar our honeymoon stayed here for one night monitor lizards spotting wildlife night cruise early morning baby crocodile served buffet style chicken local village first stop
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 335 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2019 via mobile

We had 2 nights/ 3 days here as part of our tour. It was really well presented and maintained. The entire place was built on stilts to protect the nature and grounds. The rooms were all located along boardwalks off the main building. The rooms were absolutely huge with separate toilet and bathroom. The shower was big enough to have a dance in. The main room was a combined bedroom / family room. Lovely and clean. The beds were great. The staff here were all fantastic and eager to assist. The meals were buffet style Malaysian and were hot. The highlight of the lodge was the boat cruises along the river. We had 3 cruises and probably loved the dawn one the best. But that was when we saw a number of Orang utans in the wild. Fantastic. There were heaps of Proboscis monkeys and Macaque monkeys to. All to be seen while seated in the boats. This is what Borneo is all about. Would recommend and love to return.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank F7652NOkevinr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aisah_Customer_Care, Public Relations Manager at Bilit Rainforest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2019

Hi F7652NOkevinr,

Thank you for the 5-star review! We're so happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay at the lodge! We agree, the river cruises on the Kinabatangan River are wonderful and to see wild orangutans in the wild is rare so you were very lucky indeed! We hope you'll stay with us again on your next trip to Borneo :) have a great week! Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2019

What a wonderful place! Nothing was too much trouble and the team really looked after us from the moment we were picked up from the pier and taken to our Chalet. Rooms are spotlessly clean and the air con works well. My son is vegetarian and lovely food appeared for him at each of our meals. Paul, our guide, along with our fabulous boat captain made each river cruise special as they were so skilled and knowledgeable. We were even lucky enough to see the pigmy elephants. A very special place and stay giving memories that will last a lifetime

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Currir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aisah_Customer_Care, Public Relations Manager at Bilit Rainforest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2019

Hi Currir,

Thank you so much for the 5-star review! It's so great to hear that you and your son had an enjoyable and memorable stay at Bilit Rainforest Lodge! Indeed, you were very lucky to see the pygmy elephants during the river cruise, truly an encounter that will last a lifetime! We hope to see you and your son staying with us again when you're both back in Borneo. Have a great week ahead, cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2019

This was a highlight of the trip for me! I booked through River Junkies and everything went great - we did a 2D/1N trip. The bus picked us up from our Sepilok hotel right on time and we were off to Bilit Rainforest Lodge. When we got there, they provided a snack and drinks before boarding our first river cruise. We saw all kinds of wildlife on the cruise - proboscis monkeys, pig tailed macaque, long tailed macaque, silverleaf monkeys, various types of birds...and the elusive Bornean pygmy elephant!! It did start pouring rain on us while we were going to the elephant but the water was worth it to me to see the elephant (my pics are awful of the elephant because of the rain though unfortunately).

The dinner provided was excellent and they had chicken, seafood, and vegetarian options.

Our night trek was canceled due to the heavy rains that night. Was slightly disappointed but was also exhausted after an action-packed day so was happy to go to bed a bit early. And the next morning is an EARLY one.

The next morning, we head over to the main building around 6 am for breakfast, snacks and refreshments before our morning cruise. The monkeys were out and looking for things to steal. They throw mangos and other objects on the roof of the building - they seem to want to make noise. Watch your small belongings because they will steal them!

After breakfast, we went on our morning cruise. We saw several types of monkeys, a big crocodile, a baby crocodile, and various birds.

Was an unforgettable experience and seeing a wild elephant is something I will be telling people for years!

The hotel rooms seemed updated and were very nice! The beds were comfy. We had 2 rooms that held 4 people with A/C (we had 8 in our group - we went as a family).

Room tip: Room with A/C - it can get very humid
Date of stay: November 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Meaghan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aisah_Customer_Care, Public Relations Manager at Bilit Rainforest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2019

Hi Meaghan G,

Thank you for the 5-star review! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! The river cruise on the Kinabatangan River is definitely the highlight and you were very lucky to see the Bornean pygmy elephant, even though it was raining! But there's no rainforest without a little rain right ;) and indeed, the monkeys are very mischievous and playful so taking care of your belongings is good advice! We hope to see you and your family back in Borneo and staying with us again in the near future! All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2019 via mobile

So sad to have left this place after 2 nights and and 2 action packed days. Paul our guide was so enthusiastic and was never off duty. He looked after us from start to finish and made sure we saw as much as we could. The food here was delicious and plentiful, catering well for a vegetarian diet also. The staff were charming and attentive. Captain Ronnie knew exactly where to find animals along the river and we saw many types of birds, macaques, crocodiles, monitor lizards. Do not expect 5 star luxury but this place is very comfortable and you will be well looked after. Would return in a heartbeat.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Uglynet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aisah_Customer_Care, Public Relations Manager at Bilit Rainforest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2019

Dear Uglynet,

Thank you for the 5-star review! Your satisfaction and comfort means a lot to us, so we're happy to hear that you and your friends and family were well looked after. Sabah is great for wildlife spotting so we're glad that you got to witness some magnificent wildlife in your 2 night trip. We will be sure to pass the compliments to Paul and Captain Ronnie. We hope to see you all again soon! Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2019

overall stay was wonderful. Spacious room, 2 double beds in each room. Separate shower and toilet. Suitable for Family as each 2 chalet is adjoining and has a connecting door.

buffet spreads are amazing, freshly cooked meal everytime.

Guide and staffs are outstanding. Our Guide, Man is doing beyond his duty. Never failed to amazed us, and he deserve a praise.

Mobile coverage is not really that great. Wifi is available, but limited.

Date of stay: January 2019
Thank Audr3x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aisah_Customer_Care, Public Relations Manager at Bilit Rainforest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2019

Hi Audr3x,

Thank you for the 5-star review! We're happy that you and your family and friends had a good and comfortable stay in Bilit. We will be sure to pass your compliments to Man and the rest of the team. We hope to see you again soon, cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews