We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (335)
Filter reviews
335 results
Traveller rating
135
131
48
13
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
135
131
48
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews proboscis monkeys the river air con on stilts read a book wild boar our honeymoon stayed here for one night monitor lizards spotting wildlife night cruise early morning baby crocodile served buffet style chicken local village first stop
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 335 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2020

Excellent service, comfortable rooms, very good food, enthusiatic and knowledgeable guides, exciting river trips. We ejoyed this lodge as we saw more animals by the river than we saw deeper in the forest. 2 night / 3 days was a long enough time to stay.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Forklift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AB_Customer_Care, Public Relations Manager at Bilit Rainforest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2020

Hi Forklift,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We try our very best to ensure our guests' stay with us is enjoyable, comfortable and memorable. To hear that you loved your stay with us and even got to spot some wildlife from our lodge is truly wonderful to hear! We hope to see you stay with us again on your next trip to Sabah :) have a great week ahead!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2020

We spent 2 nights / 3 days here as part of an independent tour. The lodge provides a real rainforest experience with good food and reasonable but basic rooms. The reason for staying here though is the staff - all from the local village - and the rainforest guides who escort you on the river trios, village walks and excursion to Gomatong Cave and the Sepilok Orang-utan and Sun Bear Centres. Our guide, Paul, was absolutely superb - we loved him! Friendly, funny and very knowledgable about the local animals, Paul made our trip very memorable. It's also worth noting that the lodge is a strong supporter of conservation and eco-tourism. We saw groups of animals along the river every 5 minutes or so - there's so much to see. If you love wildlife, this is the place for you.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 408christopherp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AB_Customer_Care, Public Relations Manager at Bilit Rainforest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2020

Hi 408christopherp,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review! We're so glad to hear that you had a blast while staying with us at Bilit Rainforest Lodge. The wildlife, together with the people, is truly what makes Kinabatangan unique thus protecting the wildlife as the local people's way of life is a priority to us. We hope to see you stay with us when you're in Borneo again! Cheers and have a great week ahead!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2020

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a Trip A Deal tour. The bus dropped us off and we travelled to the lodge via boat. Great welcome, very clean rooms, lovely helpful staff and great food. I loved the sightseeing trips via boat. The wildlife is absolutely amazing. What a wonderful experience, highly recommended.

Room tip: All the rooms were lovely.
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pam j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aisah_Customer_Care, Public Relations Manager at Bilit Rainforest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2020

Hi pam j,

Thanks for taking the time to write an awesome review! it's great to hear you enjoyed your stay at the lodge and that everything was to your liking! Witnessing wildlife in their natural habitat is truly an unforgettable sight and we hope you'll remember this memory with fondness :) we hope to see you staying with us again on your next trip to Borneo. Until next time and we hope you'll have a great 2020 ahead!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2019 via mobile

We had 2 nights/ 3 days here as part of our tour. It was really well presented and maintained. The entire place was built on stilts to protect the nature and grounds. The rooms were all located along boardwalks off the main building. The rooms were absolutely huge with separate toilet and bathroom. The shower was big enough to have a dance in. The main room was a combined bedroom / family room. Lovely and clean. The beds were great. The staff here were all fantastic and eager to assist. The meals were buffet style Malaysian and were hot. The highlight of the lodge was the boat cruises along the river. We had 3 cruises and probably loved the dawn one the best. But that was when we saw a number of Orang utans in the wild. Fantastic. There were heaps of Proboscis monkeys and Macaque monkeys to. All to be seen while seated in the boats. This is what Borneo is all about. Would recommend and love to return.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank F7652NOkevinr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aisah_Customer_Care, Public Relations Manager at Bilit Rainforest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2019

Hi F7652NOkevinr,

Thank you for the 5-star review! We're so happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay at the lodge! We agree, the river cruises on the Kinabatangan River are wonderful and to see wild orangutans in the wild is rare so you were very lucky indeed! We hope you'll stay with us again on your next trip to Borneo :) have a great week! Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2019

What a wonderful place! Nothing was too much trouble and the team really looked after us from the moment we were picked up from the pier and taken to our Chalet. Rooms are spotlessly clean and the air con works well. My son is vegetarian and lovely food appeared for him at each of our meals. Paul, our guide, along with our fabulous boat captain made each river cruise special as they were so skilled and knowledgeable. We were even lucky enough to see the pigmy elephants. A very special place and stay giving memories that will last a lifetime

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Currir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aisah_Customer_Care, Public Relations Manager at Bilit Rainforest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2019

Hi Currir,

Thank you so much for the 5-star review! It's so great to hear that you and your son had an enjoyable and memorable stay at Bilit Rainforest Lodge! Indeed, you were very lucky to see the pygmy elephants during the river cruise, truly an encounter that will last a lifetime! We hope to see you and your son staying with us again when you're both back in Borneo. Have a great week ahead, cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews