We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (337)
Filter reviews
337 results
Traveller rating
136
131
48
13
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
136
131
48
13
9
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 337 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2020

We booked 3d/2n package with visit to Gomantong Caves. Upon arrival we were greeted by friendly staff and lunch was waiting for us. After a quick refresh off we went onto our fist river cruise. I was hoping for some wildlife but was surprised how much we saw during our short stay! Proboscis monkeys, macaques, crocodiles, many birds species including a few specious of king fisher, no luck seeing an orangutan but luck seeing a pygmy elephant approaching a river bank and crossing river just in front of us! We were able to follow the elephant for some time until it decided it had enough bathing and cooling off in the river and climbed onto to the other river bank and went off. Such an amazing wildlife encounter, we couldn't stop smiling!
Overall the program is packed but it increases chances of spotting wildlife from boat at different times during the day and night. We also opted for a jungle trek to nearby ox-bow lake to stretch legs. They guides here are really friendly, enthusiastic and knowledgeable.There is hardly any light pollution and I loved the night skies, absolutely amazing.
Food served buffet style was varied and tasty, staff were really friendly, polite and helpful. Filter water was available all day. Our room was spacious with working fan/aircon, safe and beds were comfy. We enjoyed relaxing in hammocks between the river cruises. We had a wonderful experience with some amazing wildlife encounters to remember.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Xenie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AB_Customer_Care, Public Relations Manager at Bilit Rainforest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2020

Hi Xenie67,

Thank you so much for your awesome review! We're so happy that you enjoyed your tour with us at the lodge! Spotting wildlife in Sabah is almost a guaranteed experience and it's wonderful you got to see a pygmy elephant cooling itself by the river, which is not something one sees often! And it's true, the night skies as seen from the lodge as well as around it is stunning and it's great that you got to experience it ~ We hope to see you staying with us again soon! For now, please stay safe! Until next time, cheers!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2020

Excellent service, comfortable rooms, very good food, enthusiatic and knowledgeable guides, exciting river trips. We ejoyed this lodge as we saw more animals by the river than we saw deeper in the forest. 2 night / 3 days was a long enough time to stay.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Forklift
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AB_Customer_Care, Public Relations Manager at Bilit Rainforest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2020

Hi Forklift,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We try our very best to ensure our guests' stay with us is enjoyable, comfortable and memorable. To hear that you loved your stay with us and even got to spot some wildlife from our lodge is truly wonderful to hear! We hope to see you stay with us again on your next trip to Sabah :) have a great week ahead!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2020

We spent 2 nights / 3 days here as part of an independent tour. The lodge provides a real rainforest experience with good food and reasonable but basic rooms. The reason for staying here though is the staff - all from the local village - and the rainforest guides who escort you on the river trios, village walks and excursion to Gomatong Cave and the Sepilok Orang-utan and Sun Bear Centres. Our guide, Paul, was absolutely superb - we loved him! Friendly, funny and very knowledgable about the local animals, Paul made our trip very memorable. It's also worth noting that the lodge is a strong supporter of conservation and eco-tourism. We saw groups of animals along the river every 5 minutes or so - there's so much to see. If you love wildlife, this is the place for you.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 408christopherp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AB_Customer_Care, Public Relations Manager at Bilit Rainforest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2020

Hi 408christopherp,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review! We're so glad to hear that you had a blast while staying with us at Bilit Rainforest Lodge. The wildlife, together with the people, is truly what makes Kinabatangan unique thus protecting the wildlife as the local people's way of life is a priority to us. We hope to see you stay with us when you're in Borneo again! Cheers and have a great week ahead!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2020

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a Trip A Deal tour. The bus dropped us off and we travelled to the lodge via boat. Great welcome, very clean rooms, lovely helpful staff and great food. I loved the sightseeing trips via boat. The wildlife is absolutely amazing. What a wonderful experience, highly recommended.

Room tip: All the rooms were lovely.
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pam j
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aisah_Customer_Care, Public Relations Manager at Bilit Rainforest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2020

Hi pam j,

Thanks for taking the time to write an awesome review! it's great to hear you enjoyed your stay at the lodge and that everything was to your liking! Witnessing wildlife in their natural habitat is truly an unforgettable sight and we hope you'll remember this memory with fondness :) we hope to see you staying with us again on your next trip to Borneo. Until next time and we hope you'll have a great 2020 ahead!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2019 via mobile

We had 2 nights/ 3 days here as part of our tour. It was really well presented and maintained. The entire place was built on stilts to protect the nature and grounds. The rooms were all located along boardwalks off the main building. The rooms were absolutely huge with separate toilet and bathroom. The shower was big enough to have a dance in. The main room was a combined bedroom / family room. Lovely and clean. The beds were great. The staff here were all fantastic and eager to assist. The meals were buffet style Malaysian and were hot. The highlight of the lodge was the boat cruises along the river. We had 3 cruises and probably loved the dawn one the best. But that was when we saw a number of Orang utans in the wild. Fantastic. There were heaps of Proboscis monkeys and Macaque monkeys to. All to be seen while seated in the boats. This is what Borneo is all about. Would recommend and love to return.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
3  Thank F7652NOkevinr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aisah_Customer_Care, Public Relations Manager at Bilit Rainforest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2019

Hi F7652NOkevinr,

Thank you for the 5-star review! We're so happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay at the lodge! We agree, the river cruises on the Kinabatangan River are wonderful and to see wild orangutans in the wild is rare so you were very lucky indeed! We hope you'll stay with us again on your next trip to Borneo :) have a great week! Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews