We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OKW - the most non-disney disney resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Disney's Old Key West Resort
Ranked #70 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2011

I stayed in OKW for 1 week in November and only chose the resort as I was purchasing a special discount deal. This would have to be the least Disney feeling place in which I have stayed and I was very comfortable overall.
I was alone in a 1 bedrm villa and it was HUGE. I think plenty of people here have described all the facilities. My room was in very good condition and beautifully clean. The atmosphere is very relaxed and casual. Because the rooms are spread out over a large estate rather than clustered around a central entrance there is not the effect of squillions of kiddies running in the corridors and clogging up the restaurants. I am lazy and felt that I needed a car. So it was very convenient to park at the door for free. My room was all the way down near South Point bus stop at Bld 51 and was no where near the pool or main hospitality house. I really needed that car - even just to duck up to Goods to Go or the store for a drink or anything. I didn't have much of a view as such - on the ground floor, looking at a bunch of bushes with a golf course and expressway in the distance.
The bed linen and towels were excellent - very new (albeit the towels are very small!). If i had others (say friends) with me this would be a great location due to the large amount of available space.
I recommend this place for people looking for a refuge from the hustle of the parks and large hotels, and people looking for space with multiple people in one room - oh and be prepared to have a car.

Room Tip: ask for something near hospitality house if you want to walk to stores
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DownunderSugarglider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,676)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,094 - 2,098 of 2,676 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2011

Stayed at Old Key West for 3 nights using our Disney Vacation Club points. Have stayed here several times and we love it here as it has a more relaxing feel to it than other Disney resorts.
We had a studio which was plenty big enough for the 3 of us - it was in a great location overlooking one of the small pools and with a bus stop over the road. East to park and a short stroll to the centre of the resort.
We like to spend a lot of time at the pool and choose the quiet pools as the main one is a bit manic for us!
Went into downtown disney on the boat which was fun but tended to come back on the bus as it got a bit nippy late at night.
Didnt use the restaurant but the little bar is nice for a late drink and the fast food takeaway was ok.
Overall we would definately come back again - looking forward to next time. Nothing bad to say about it at all.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank karensolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

I couldn't bring myself to give Old Key West an average rating, because overall we had a wonderful stay. We checked in very early, though - 9:30 - and our room was only ready at 1:30 PM because we begged for it and told them we didn't care where it was located. We ended up in a second floor two bedroom unit in building 34 thanks to a wonderfully kind and accommodating cast member.

Though the master bathroom was definitely showing the age of this hotel (chipped tiles and paint, a gigantic shower with a shower head that didn't quite fit) the room was otherwise great. Comfortable beds (if you don't count the sleeper sofa, ugh), spacious, and having the kitchen was a great option. The room was kept immaculate during our entire stay - by housekeeping, that is. However, we are not DVC members and therefore the cost of this room - approximately $700 a night with all taxes - was still a bit of a kick in the gut, even with the money we saved by not eating out all the time.

The other issue I have with OKW is the bus system. Though we never waited more than 15 minutes for a bus, once we got on the buses they drove all over the entire resort before heading to the parks - I can safely say that we never sat on one of those buses for LESS than 25 minutes. Add to that the fact that you will likely wait up to 15 minutes (at least) for a bus and that's one heck of a commute time to factor in when you want to get to the parks early. Of the Disney resorts that exist in their current form, I've stayed at 13 of them (three values, all of the moderates, Saratoga, Fort Wilderness cabins and a few deluxe resorts) and the only place with worse transportation than Old Key West is the Fort Wilderness Cabins. Just something to keep in mind.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ageeksaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

We stayed in a 1 bed villa for 2 weeks in october. I would not hesitate to recommend this resort or return for another visit.
The accomodation was spacious and well laid out. The children slept in the sitting/dinning room/kitchen and even with the beds pulled out there was lots of room to move about. The only down side was that for a family of 4 there was only 1 toilet. The bathroom facilities were good with a seperate shower and bath.
The area around Turtle pond road was great for us. Near the bus stop and the quiet pool and snack bar and not too busy.

Room Tip: Try and ask for a top floor as the trees and bushes are sometimes close to the building and can make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vicki c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

I enjoyed my stay at Old Key West, my first stay at this Disney resort. The only minus that I can give was the check-in problem. Our keys wouldn't work so we had to wait over 30 minutes in a torrential rain storm for a staff member to manually open te door for us with a metal key. Overall, our way was excellent. One caveat: Old Key West is not like a traditional hotel. The suites are laid out across a vast area surrounding a golf course. So if you have room in your vacation budget for a rental car, I highly recommend it. I was glad I did when I realized how large this resort is. Other than that, everything is what you would expect from Disney: clean, friendly staff, and beautiful landscape. Have fun!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Forza_Nico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
1.3 km away
Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort & Spa
2.4 km away
Disney's BoardWalk Inn
Disney's BoardWalk Inn
#62 of 340 in Orlando
1,758 reviews
2.4 km away
Disney's BoardWalk Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
7.3 km away
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
1.2 km away
Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Old Key West Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Old Key West Resort

Address: 1510 North Cove Road, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8421
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#57 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#66 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: RM 1,244 - RM 4,108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Old Key West Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 761
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the romance of the Florida Keys at this tranquil community of Conch Flats-a sprawling island hamlet with shimmering waterways, swaying palm trees and manicured golf-course fairways. Delight in sun-soaked pools, casual dining and such amenities as fully equipped kitchens or kitchenettes. A peaceful tropical paradise, Disney's Old Key West Resort is also just a boat ride away from the excitement of the Downtown Disney area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Disney's Old Key West Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Old Key West Hotel Orlando
Old Key West Resort
Disneys Old Key West Hotel
Disney Old Key West Resort
Key West Disney
Disneys Old Key West Resort
Disney's Old Key West Resort Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing