We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Disney's Old Key West Resort
Ranked #73 of 342 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2012

I have to say that my family ha a DVC Membership in the late 1990s so I had stayed here previously but it had been at least 12 years since I stayed there. My wife and I stayed there again and I have to say that I thought that it was still very excellent. Our flight was late coming in so we checked in around around 1am but the front desk was waiting and had all of our information ready so we were able to relax. We had asked for a room close to the hospitality center and they put us right across the street. We couldn't have asked for a better location. We could pick up the last bus before it went to the parks and get off at the first stop and walk back to the room on the way back from the parks.

I do have to say this it is a large resort so I can understand some frustration at being put at some of the further locations. We were in an ideal spot and we had a great 1 bed room villa so there were no complaints there. My wife who had never been there before loved it and would want to go back. At the pool they had activities for kids and they had a water ferry that would take you to downtown disney. i would recommend for families but if you're look for a traditional hotel this isn't really the place for you.

Room Tip: I would say if you want to be close to the hospitality center try to request buildings around 11-15.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beans987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,631)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,862 - 1,866 of 2,631 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2012

Disney's Old Key West Resort is without a doubt the hidden gem in Disney's resort collection. This was our second time staying at OKW. Our first stay was last October. We decided to stay at OKW for a short 4 day vacation because we had enjoyed it so much the first time.

OKW looks and feels like you're really in Key West. The grounds are gorgeous and the accommodations are wonderful. First the rooms are huge at OKW. I would say that they are about the size of the rooms at Animal Kingdom Lodge. The rooms are much bigger than rooms at Saratoga Springs or Disney's other Vacation Club resorts.

We had a two bed room villa. The two bedroom villa has 2 bedrooms and sleeps 9 people comfortably. On this trip we had 7 people, and all of us were very comfortable in the villa. Because there were 3 TVs in the villa we had no problems from the kids.

If you stay at OKW you absolutely must try Olivia's for a meal. On this trip we ate at Olivia's for breakfast and lunch. The food was excellent. There is also a quick service restaurant that the kids enjoyed while at the pool. They were able to get hamburgers and fries poolside. For the adults there is a full service bar. My daughter and wife also enjoyed buying pins and bracelets in the gift shop.

We also took advantage of the many amenities including rental of the two man speed boats, and 4 person bicycle. The small speed boats were cool. It gave the kids an opportunity to drive a boat on the water. The boats don't go very fast, only about 6 mph. The small speedboats at Bay Lake Towers are a little faster. We were able to drive the boats from OKW to Downtown Disney and back in about an 50 minutes. The 4 person bicycle was great fun.

The pool at OKW is nice and the kids enjoyed many fun events put on by the Disney staff including trivia games and movies by the pool at night.

Although we like other Disney resorts OKW just feels like home!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kdakil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We just returned from a week at OKW. There were 5 of us (3 teens) in a 2 bedroom villa. It was beautiful and spacious. We chose building 28 which was an easy walk to the main facilities. But like the other reviews, this resort is very large. You would need a rental car from some of the remote buildings. The bus service was good, but if you were the first stop,(which we were) it took about 10/15 minutes just to get out of the complex. We had a top floor (my request) and it was very quiet. We will definitely return to this resort.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Buckeyefan42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Been at OKW for 2 weeks in a very spacious studio with all the facilities you could need. This studio had been refurbished since our last stay 2 years ago and was lighter as it had more windows_ the ground floor studios can be dark because of the trees so we requested a top floor and got a room with a view of the 5th green. We stayed in turtle creek near the bus stop and one of the smaller pools but if you are a non driver a room near the hospitality may be better. Rooms kept clean with lots of supplies left by staff. The real crisis of the holiday was the remote control needed new batteries - heaven forbid my daughter had to get up to switch to the disney channel! This was sorted quickly you will be relieved to hear! Air con was a slight bug bear as it was noisy in the night but apart from that can only recommend OKW - esp. as we got the free disney dining plan.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JMC62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

First visit to Old Key West Resort. Requested a room near the hospitality center. We were placed in a handicapped room and a 10 minute walk to the hospitality center. The area is spread out. Very quiet and set away from everything.
If you like quiet settings, then this is the place.
Much prefer larger resorts with activities surrounding.
It was clean and staff were friendly.
Won't stay here again...not our type of resort for the cost.

Room Tip: Request a room either near a bus stop or the hospitality center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beans0418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
6 km away
Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort
2.2 km away
Disney's Beach Club Villas
Disney's Beach Club Villas
#104 of 342 in Orlando
827 reviews
2.4 km away
Disney's BoardWalk Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Disney's Beach Club Resort
7.3 km away
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
0.7 km away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Old Key West Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Old Key West Resort

Address: 1510 North Cove Road, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8421
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#57 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#66 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: RM1,486 - RM4,676 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Old Key West Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 761
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the romance of the Florida Keys at this tranquil community of Conch Flats-a sprawling island hamlet with shimmering waterways, swaying palm trees and manicured golf-course fairways. Delight in sun-soaked pools, casual dining and such amenities as fully equipped kitchens or kitchenettes. A peaceful tropical paradise, Disney's Old Key West Resort is also just a boat ride away from the excitement of the Downtown Disney area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Disney's Old Key West Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Old Key West Hotel Orlando
Old Key West Resort
Disneys Old Key West Hotel
Disney Old Key West Resort
Key West Disney
Disneys Old Key West Resort
Disney's Old Key West Resort Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing