We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made Our Trip Even Better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Disney's Polynesian Village Resort
Ranked #88 of 342 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We stayed in Room 3904 (top floor so no one above us to hear stomping around). Very quiet (except for nightly fireworks which can't be helped & really didn't bother us). Yes, it's expensive, but so worth it! We figured we'd not be going back to WDW since it's so expensive now and we wanted to stay onsite so picked this one and were very happy with our choice. The monorail goes through this hotel and the boats come to the dock and you can walk to the Transportation & Ticket Center to get anywhere else you want to go very quickly. The room is large and has 2 queen beds & a single-sized fold out (very comfy) couch. Our family of 4 had plenty of room to spread out and rest when we took time to rest. There are two pools on this site and we frequented the smaller, quieter, less busy pool closer to our room and enjoyed it. Captain Cook's restaurant was great (slow service at times due to influx of guests) and the staff was more than helpful. We did have a slight altercation with the cleaning of our room: I had requested one morning that we have our room made up by noon so we could come back and nap in a clean room & it wasn't done when we got back. After our nap I called again and asked them to please clean it before we got back for the evening but by 8 PM that night it still hadn't been done. When it wasn't done the next morning either, I went to the lobby to speak to someone & found a very nice, helpful manager named Adam who made sure we got the VIP treatment in our room and credited us some money back. He really stepped up to the plate and demonstrated what Disney is supposed to represent. A fabulous trip that we're sure won't happen again unless we win the lottery and they start limiting the number of people allowed in the park--but we are so glad we went!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Goophygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,345 - 2,349 of 3,372 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2011

This was our second trip to WDW and first staying on site. Got a great deal for the Polynesian and chose it because of convenience initially, we have three small girls under the age of 7. We cannot say enough about how wonderful it was to be able to walk from our room in Tokelau to the Transportation and Ticket Center. Within minutes we were on the monorail (pushing stroller) and at Epcot (our second favorite park). A quick walk to the Ceremonial House had us on the monorail again and headed to Magic Kingdom, or we could just stroll over to the small ferry boat and have a nice relaxing early morning ride there. The room was roomy, with two queen beds and a couch bed. It was perfect for us, our little one slept in the couch bed and the older two together. There was nothing like walking the kids out in their pajamas to watch the fireworks from the "point" and then back in to sleep, a nice routine we fell into.
Food options were good, 'Ohana was delish, booked well in advance. Captain Cook's was ok, what you expect from a quick service. The cast members who work there know their stuff. Liked the pool bar, for a spur of the moment beverage while watching the movie on the beach with the kids.
The pools were great...the volcano pool was busy but with lots of fun and atmosphere. Seeing the castle in the distance as you were swimming was surreal. The Quiet pool (wish they had two) was nice, but at times felt like the older folks didn't appreciate the loud happiness of our kids.
Mousekeeping was great, Kevin was happy and cheerful and spent time talking to our kids about how much he appreciated their colored and stickered tip envelopes. Made them very happy to hear that.
Used the Neverland Club one night for a spontaneous mom and dad only trip for dinner at Epcot. It was last minute and was arranged quickly and easily by the front desk staff. We dropped kids off at 4 pm and we were in Via Napoli in Epcot having pizza and sangria at 4:30pm! The kids loved it and asked us the next night if they could go back. Our youngest had an accident there and they cheerfully provided her with a change of clothes.
Overall we had an amazing time, only downside was leaving! If we can afford it again we will be back.

Room Tip: Tokelau garden view ground floor facing main beach was lovely for garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happymommy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

This was by far the best Disney location for quick park access & easy transportation, but the hotel rooms are tired and not clean. Soap scum welcomed us in our tub area and stayed with us the entire week we were here! Aloha -- great service, but the room quality & cleanliness was poor.

Room Tip: Ask for lagoon view on the 3rd floor for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skiders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

I booked my October 2011 Disney vacation based upon reviews here on Trip Advisor,and based upon advice from a good friend, who is also a self-proclaimed "Disney Fanatic". After going to the Polynesian for a 2 week stay, I definitely have to say.. there should be 2 categories of reviews for all Disney properties---one set of reviews for 'Disney fanatics' (meant in the kindest way!), and another like 'Non-Disney' folks, or like me, first timers. Why? Well, read on.

For the huge Disney fan, you should listen to all the 5 star reviews. You'll love it, and be very happy you went there. Now, if you are like us, and visiting for the first time and aren't obsessed with all things Mickey, here is what we found:

1. Rooms. This 'hotel' is extremely expensive (we paid $385/night for a 2 bedroom, lagoon view room {Room 3016, Tahiti Building}), and for the cost, is not at all competitive with other similiary priced hotels. In fact, based upon the shabbiness of the room (old carpet, dirty walls, rough towels, etc), this room was more in-line with a 69.99/night Comfort Inn motel room. You are paying for the closeness to the Magical Kingdom here, and in our case, the view of the Lagoon. Disney tip-- Just because you see the lagoon, does not mean you will see Cinderella's castle. 2nd & 3rd floor rooms in the Tahiti building are your best bet if you actually want to see the fireworks show. That said, the luxury of sitting on our balcony, watching the show, and listening to the piped-in music from the parades was awesome. They also kept the room very clean, on the surface.
2. Transportation- we were told that being on the monorail (ie, being at Polynesian, grand Floridian or Contemporary resorts) would be one of our most important considerations by friends that travel there several times a year. Turns out, that is not really an important consideration...unless you plan on going to Magic Kingdom all the time. You have to take a bus to Animal Kingdom and Hollywood studios anyway, and the bus comes/goes every 20 minutes. Yes, the monorail goes to Epcot, too, but with having to change trains from one monorail to another, we felt the time it took to get to Epcot on the monorail was the same as bus time. It turns out we enjoyed HOllywood Studios & Animal Kingdom more than the Magic Kingdom or Epcot, so we would have (in hindsight), been better off staying at either Beach Club, Yacht Club or Boardwalk resorts, where a boat launch from the resort takes you to Hollywood Studios, or busses.
3. Dining. We came to the park with a full itinerary of reservations. After 4 days...we cancelled almost all. We found that even though every restaurant was 'booked' according to the reservations website/hotline....we could walk in and get seated at every one. Because we like to be impulsive in our dining choices, this was a great discovery. The only exception--Character Dining. EVERYONE wants to character dine. We kept our reservations for all of those...but also did walk-in at both Ohana & Cinderella's Royal Table. They turned us away at first...but then when t hey learned we were on the dining plan, they seated us! The dining plan members must get special consideration. Speaking of which...dining plan....if you can buy your vacation when they are offering a free dining plan...DO IT! It saved us literally a couple thousand. For a family of 4, the average meal cost was ~100 dollars. Another note about character dining...we felt very rushed at each and every one. They have the characters timed so that they want to have 1 pass of characters per 'seating'...and you definitely feel as if you have to eat at turbo speed. We did NOT like that.

All in all, I would definitely, if going to Orlando again, stay on a Disney property, simply because of the ease and availability of transportation, whether bus, monorail or boat. It is worth the extra money. I wouldn't worry, however, about being directly on the monorail line.

Also, while we would return to the Polynesian, we would not book the lagoon view room. The only advantage to the lagoon view is fireworks viewing, and electrical light parade viewing (a light show on the water, every night, outside the resort). There are other, less expensive ways to view these! Buildings at the resort are aligned either north-south, or east-west. The 'lagoon view' rooms are in the east-west buildings, and only the 2nd & 3rd floors get a nice view of the fireworks, and are also the most expensive in the resort. Instead, look at the map of the Polynesian, and look for the north-south buildings that border the lagoon. Their rooms are listed as 'garden view', but you can request the 3rd floor rooms on the north end...which have balconies with lagoon views, ie firework views, in addition to garden views! Remember...at Polynesian, 2nd floor rooms DO NOT have balconies. And, if you don't want to pay extra for even a garden view...a great way to view the fireworks is to take 5 mintues to walk down to the volcano pool, pull up a chair, order a drink from the pool bar...and enjoy the show!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank rocks_for_brains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Best hotel at Disney. View of fireworks over castle. Great sandy beach and use of monorail . Great restaurant but quick food service could be better. It ook too lng to check food out. We weren't able to eat outaide because of the many ducks attacking our table.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenwaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Caribe Royale Orlando
#85 of 342 in Orlando
3,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Polynesian Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Polynesian Village Resort

Address: 1600 Seven Seas Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8423
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#34 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#104 Family Hotel in Orlando
#121 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: RM2,671 - RM5,203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Polynesian Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 847
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate the spirit of the South Pacific at this oasis of tropical palms, lush vegetation, koi ponds and white-sand beaches. Conveniently located on complementary Resort Monorail, enjoy moonlit nights on our torch-lined waterfront to the exotic tastes of our world-class restaurants, discover the signature tropical ambience that's made Disney's Polynesian Village Resort a favorite Disney destination since 1971. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Disney's Polynesian Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polynesian Resort Disney
Disney Polynesian Hotel
Polynesian Disney
Polynesian Hotel Disney
Orlando Polynesian Resort
Polynesian Hotel Orlando Fl
Disneys Polynesian Hotel
Polynesian Resort Orlando
Disney Polynesian Resort World
Disneys Polynesian Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing