We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, nice flora, run down rooms and food poisoning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Disney's Polynesian Village Resort
Ranked #90 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2012

The Polynesian is a pretty resort. Impressive on the outside and a gorgeous entryway. The rooms and other amenities would be great if it weren't for the fact that they run to shabby and are in need of a renovation. Likewise the beach area is very nice, but the garbage and cigarette butts in the sand detract from the ambiance. We stayed for four days and got his with terrible food poisoning causing us to miss two days in the park. The staff was helpful, but the stay in the hotel left me wanting for something cleaner and less food poisoney. . .

Room Tip: Make sure you get Hawaii. This is the only locked building by key access and has daily treats and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TD8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,294 - 2,298 of 3,434 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2012

If you have the money, I would highly recommend a stay at The Polynesian. If you have even more money, stay in the club level building- in my opinion, it is worth every penny. The club level building is steps away from the beach, pool and boat transport to the Magic Kingdom. The windows must be well insulated because we didn't have any problems with noise even though we were steps away from the pool. The club level offers a modest breakfast, mid day snack, appetizers with booze and desserts with booze that are not fantastic but they are free (for paying customers) so it worked for us. This hotel is amazing for families- it's beautiful and convenient for adults and themed and fun for kids. The seventies Hawaii theme is pretty cheesy and over done but this is Disney we're talking about- people don't come here for subtle elegance.
While planning our trip, I heard a few times that Disney is great on the front end but falls apart a little in the service department as you get closer to leaving. I found this to be true. After a few days, I had to start tracking down housekeeping to clean our room. They also forgot to refill the coffee three days in a row and got a little snippy with me when I (nicely) complained.

We took advantage of the free Magic Express service which transports you and your bags to and from the airport to your hotel room. This service was flawless at the beginning of our trip but riddled with headaches at the the end. No staff person that we talked to seemed exactly sure how we should go about checking our bags. We were told that we needed to print up packing slips from our airline but we couldn't do it at our hotel. My husband had to trek over to the Grand Floridian to do it and when he got there, no one had any idea what he was talking about. After raising a bit of a stink, he got the passes printed but it took over an hour including travel time and much aggravation. As my husband said, "You can print this stuff up at a Fairfield Inn but you can't do it at Disney World? That's messed up."
Then to add to the confusion on the day of our leaving, the front bell hops couldn't check us in at the airline because we had already done it the day before. We got attitude which was very annoying since it seemed no one knew what the proper procedure really was.

But other than those minor annoyances, the hotel was wonderful and we will be returning as soon as we can afford to. This hotel is not cheap but completely worth it for a lavish family vacation.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank S A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We had a great stay at the Polynesian. It is great to be on the Disney Monorail and also be able to take the boat ride to the Magic Kingdom. The Polynesian pool has a water slide and is open late. You also get a great view of the fireworks from the resort. The character breakfast at the Polynesian is great. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in a building closer to the main pool and facing the Magic Kingdom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MontaukFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We had reservations to stay at the Port Orleans newly reconstructed rooms six months in advance. We received a call about a month before our trip that the rooms would not be ready in time for our visit so we were lucky enough to get an upgrade to the Polynesian. We were not given just any room, but a room with a view of Cinderella's castle and the Space Mountain dome! As we walked around the grounds, our family decided that every room had a fantastic view especially if near the beautifully maintained gardens. The pool was very inviting and the man-made beach was incredible. The room that we were given was very large compared to the Beach Club and the Carribean Beach Resort, which we had stayed at in the past. Even with a sliding glass door and direct access to the sandy beach outside, the carpet was very clean. The Kona Cafe is absolutely our favorite restaurant of the entire Disney property. The monorail right outside the resort made it easy to get to and from the Magic Kingdom and the Contemporary. It was a once in a lifetime experience and one that we will never forget.

Room Tip: Rooms near the water in Tahiti hear the music of the ferry boats from 7 am to late. After the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shelly022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

I have stayed at the Polynesian before, but this was the first time in a while. My husband and I took advantage of a good rate and enjoyed a two night getaway. We opted for a Lagoon View room and to me that makes all the difference. We enjoyed watching the fireworks from our room as well as the classic Electrical Water Pageant.
In order for this resort to be a home run you must be ok with kids (lots and lots of kids), be ok with the rooms being in seperate buildings away from the lobby, lounge, restaurants, and shop. Also, you need to enjoy the quasi-retro feel of the resort. Although the rooms and such were updated a few years back you can definitely feel the 1970's vibe.
The grounds of the resort are lovely, however, because of its location you can occassionally hear the buses, cars, monorails, and boats in the area. For some this may be a surprise or issue.
If you are not going to splurge for a Lagoon View (which typically means you will see part of Magic Kingdom, and you definitely will see the fireworks from your room) I would recommend either one of the other Disney deluxe resort or the WDW Swan and Dolphin. Also, the majority of the rooms do not have full balconies. So if you want a full balcony with chairs make the request known when booking.
The family activities are wonderful, including movies on the beach / pool and a nightly fire in the firepit with marshmellows. If you want to experience Disney's version of Hawaii without going there then this is a great choice.

Room Tip: Full size balconies are not standard. If you want a full balcony with chairs make sure it is reques...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HometownOrlandoGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Polynesian Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Polynesian Village Resort

Address: 1600 Seven Seas Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#33 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#104 Family Hotel in Orlando
#121 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: RM 2,356 - RM 4,883 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Polynesian Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 847
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate the spirit of the South Pacific at this oasis of tropical palms, lush vegetation, koi ponds and white-sand beaches. Conveniently located on complementary Resort Monorail, enjoy moonlit nights on our torch-lined waterfront to the exotic tastes of our world-class restaurants, discover the signature tropical ambience that's made Disney's Polynesian Village Resort a favorite Disney destination since 1971. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Disney's Polynesian Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polynesian Resort Disney
Disney Polynesian Hotel
Polynesian Disney
Polynesian Hotel Disney
Orlando Polynesian Resort
Polynesian Hotel Orlando Fl
Disneys Polynesian Hotel
Polynesian Resort Orlando
Disney Polynesian Resort World
Disneys Polynesian Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing