We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Suites UCF / Research Park(Orlando)(Great Value!)
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Regency Orlando(Orlando)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Point Hotel & Suites(Orlando)(Great Value!)
US$126
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Floridays Resort(Orlando)
US$176
US$152
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$210
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Avanti International Resort(Orlando)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Rosen Inn International(Orlando)(Great Value!)
US$85
US$62
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (3,141)
Filter reviews
3,142 results
Traveller rating
1,931
727
272
120
92
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,931
727
272
120
92
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater taxicity walkguest houserum bartrading companycabana baylagoon viewroyal pacifickids suiteuniversal orlandobeautiful hotelsliding doorpool areagrab and gohalloween horror nightslife guardsfire pit
Filter
Updating list...
520 - 525 of 3,142 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Our family of 4 recently spent a week at Loews Sapphire Falls while visiting Universal and absolutely loved it. We booked it as a package for Spring Break and all that was available was a basic room. Despite being a little small for a family of 4, everyone seemed pretty happy. After reading all the negative reviews about the bathroom door system (barn door) we ended up thinking it was great and the shower was awesome. Lighting around the mirror wasn't great but no biggie for us. The entire property was very clean and well kept, very impressive. We stayed at Loews Portofino a few years ago and there were many things we liked better at Sapphire Falls (save for there not being the Expresspass upgrade at Sapphire). Portofino was really hard to navigate and Sapphire was much better laid out. (TIP on the Expresspass - we had a package deal at Sapphire for the week, which didn't include them, so I bought a basic room at the Hard Rock for 1 night. It included Expresspass upgrade for the 4 of us for both day of check in AND departure. A huge savings as we were there Spring Break and passes were running $179 per person per day!)

The property was beautiful. We enjoyed the pool a lot, the food served poolside was terrific. Plenty of healthy options, a real pleasant surprise. I recalled other reviews saying how warm the water was but we found it kinda chilly. Even though the hotel was full we didn't have any problems finding chairs poolside.

We used the water taxis regularly but a few times we walked to Citywalk. It's only a 10-15 minute walk and very scenic. At night we saw security patrolling the path on bike - felt very safe at all times.

We ate onsite regularly and we really liked the New Dutch Trading Co. for a quick bite on the way to the parks. Again lots of options and good quality - the egg breakfast sandwiches and beef/cheese stood out. A little pricey but it doesn't feel so bad when the quality is good. We ate at Strong Waters a couple times too and liked the tapas. I tried several of the rum cocktails but was underwhelmed, especially at $15 each.

Overall we loved the place and would return in a heartbeat on our next Universal adventure.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank Thundercat1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry B, General Manager at Loews Sapphire Falls Resort at Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thundercat1234, thank you so much for your FIVE out of FIVE star review on Tripadvisor! Your detailed review provides great insight for the hotel to get the guests point of view of their experience. We genuinely appreciate your compliments of our restaurants, pool and convenience to the parks. Thank you again for your shining review! Our hope is to welcome you back to Sapphire Falls Resort on your next trip to Universal Orlando!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

The stay at this hotel was not what I expected. After a long day , I personally enjoy reviving my legs in a hot tub but this hotel closes their hot tub with park hours so it's not as if you can get back and get in for 10-20min. The kitchen only serves cold cut sandwiches after hours so don't forget to eat before coming back no matter how tired you are from the parks. The staff attitude was random, some great and some not so great. I understand that people have bad days but it should not be taken out on guests when the industry is all about customer service.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Loews Hotels and Resorts
Thank shopperselite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry B, General Manager at Loews Sapphire Falls Resort at Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

shopperselite, Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We appreciate your candid feedback as all of our guests opinions are valuable and help in providing a better guest experience. We hope to welcome you back to our resort in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

The hotel amenities are fine. However we had a horrible experience. After a day of going to the parks we came with our two kids (7 and 4 yo) all tired at 10:30 pm. Our keys didn’t work. They told us the battery of the door was malfunctioning and that they were going to send someone soon (5 minutes) it was more like 20 minutes and I had to see my kids sleeping on the floor. On top of that we came tried to order a movie we couldn’t. For this amount of money you can stay somewhere else. Trust me.

Stayed: April 2018
3  Thank Paola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry B, General Manager at Loews Sapphire Falls Resort at Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Paola B, thank you for your feedback about your recent visit to Loews Sapphire Falls Resort at Universal Orlando. We are concerned to read these comments, and would like to talk with you to gather more details. Please contact us at: sapphirefallscustomerservice@loewshotels.com. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

good location... but small rooms and overall expensive! nice pool and a lot of life guards. nice boot service to universal studios.. so overall price/value ratio is not that good! but not a lot of choice...

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Loews Hotels and Resorts
Thank W666w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry B, General Manager at Loews Sapphire Falls Resort at Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

W666w, thank you for your candid review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our close proximity to the parks, convenient transportation, and resort pool. We truly appreciate your candid feedback regarding the room accommodations and overall resort amenities. We hope to receive the opportunity to welcome you for a future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Overall we had a wonderful stay at Sapphire Falls however just a few things that make it four instead of five stars. Upon check-in, you were immediately reminded that his isn't disney, it's universal. The person checking us in talked so fast and ran through all the details so quickly, thankfully I was able to process what she was saying and knew to ask questions but is was clear that she was trying to push us along.

The grounds were beautiful the rooms were nice. I like that you can text to ask questions related to your stay. However, we immediately noticed that the barn door to the bathroom doesn't allow it to be closed all the way. I texted whomever the text goes to they said they would send someone up in a few minutes, we waited a few minutes and no one came. We went on with our vacation but there was clearly an inch or so gap in the door which could be awkward depending on who you are rooming with.

The pool was gorgeous despite being next to the freeway. The sand surrounding the chairs was a nice touch.

The water taxi was a great amenity however it seemed as though people from Cabana Bay were often using the Sapphire Falls water taxi which often made it overfull and having to wait for the next one when returning from the park... I know this isn't the resorts fault but something to think about if you are planning a trip to this resort during peak times. None of the other resorts would have more than five people waiting but the line for Sapphire falls would be wrapped around the turnstiles. This was annoyance after a long day at the park.

Overall, I think I might stay at a different resort on property if I were to go again simply for the express pass and for the ease of use of the water taxi. The grounds and amenities were really nice though.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LeeAnne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry B, General Manager at Loews Sapphire Falls Resort at Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

LeeAnne B, thank you for your candid review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms, luxurious pool, and close proximity to the parks. We truly appreciate your feedback regarding your arrival experience, transportation to the parks, and overall service. We hope to receive the opportunity to welcome you for a future stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews