We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have an escort bring you to your room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Emerald Beach Resort
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Weird way of getting to rooms. I recommend having an escort bring you to your room otherwise you will have to rely on whoever is around once you are lost to help you find your way to your room. Not a very good first impression at all.

Room Tip: Have an escort bring you to your room. I think all the rooms are nice once you get in them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank faroutnspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

211 - 215 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2012

We just got back from spring break 2012....My family of 5 stayed at the Emerald and reserved our room through the resort itself. I don't reccomend this at all! Our unit was filthy!! First thing we found in all the beds was hair, and it was not just one and it wasn't from someones head!!! We were exhausted from a 20 some hour drive and had to deal with this.....we were totally grossed out. So I called the front desk and told them about our discoveries. It took about 2 hours for them to send someone up and change the linens. There were 3 ladies which were all speaking a different language as they were doing the beds. Right after that ordeal my daughter went to go out on the balcony and the screen came right off the track and had my 6 foot 1 husband not been standing near her, would have fallen right on top of her! So again I called the manager and she said she would send someone up the next day. I said I didn't want anyone in the room if we arent there and for them to call me we were just going to be out at the beach and we could come right up. Well, all day went by, no call.....so we went up to our room for the day and someone had come into our room and fixed the screen!!! Now lets move onto the floors which in the first 10 minutes of taking our shoes off our socks were black, and when I say black I mean BLACK! So we had to mop the floors with the nasty filthy mop that was there. Then we went to go dry the floors with a towel and the towel was black after. Now the showers.....the shower liners and curtains in both bathrooms had what looked like blood splatters on them....they were totally disgusting! Then we found someone else's underwear on the side of the washer and dryer....now if we found them by just looking, how did the cleaning people not find them?? God only knows how long they had been there!! Then when it came to sleeping the beds were very creaky. I couldn't even turn over without waking up my entire family. Also the beds had a ditch in the matress on both sides where we had to sleep. There was no internet and no phone service anywhere! It was horriable and I would never stay there again! Very disappointed for the amount of money we paid for this unit.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lori H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

MARK J. pretty much summed it up. The biggest negative about the complex was the effort it takes to get around the complex. It takes a while to determine which set of stairs, which elevators and which escalators you need to take to get to your room, to the beach, either of the two pools and the parking deck across the street. You have to do an awful lot of walking to get anywhere. Also the beach chairs you rent are way too close to each other. You can touch the people who rent the chair next to you just by opening your arm out to the side. People walk between the chairs which is disturbing and you can hear eveyone's conversation in the chairs in either direction. They have enough beach space to have added another row of chairs and still make money instead of putting them so close together. That is my biggest complaint. The resort is clean and in a good location. Pier Park is a nice place to spend a day with your family. Rides for children and shopping/eating for adults.

Room Tip: We were on the 9th floor and had a good view. However, if I had a choice, I would have selected a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GTSisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

This trip was with myself and my two kids. My kids are a 10 year old boy and 12 year old girl. We arrived around 400p on Sunday and our room was ready. The Emerald is connected to the Wyndham resort. There are two separate check in desks. After you arrive turn to the checkin desk to the right of the Wyndham. The Emerald Beach resort shares just about everything with the Wyndham. You will need to park in the garage and then walk across the bridge to get to the hotel/condo. Expect to walk a bit of a distance with bags, groceries, etc. after you park in the garage. We had a one bedroom with bunk bed and pull out couch on the 12th floor. Every room has a balcony that overlooks the beach area. The room also had a kitchen with basic equipment as well as a dining room table. Wi-fi is not offered or available in the Emerald. It sounded as though hard line Internet would be available if you had a laptop. The carpet had the look of a well worn condo. Numerous stains and could use a good cleaning. The beds and other areas were clean. Key to know is that the resort is treated as more of a condo vice hotel. Do not expect daily maid service. There is also a washer and dryer in the unit.

The beach areas near the hotel were excellent. We were there late for Spring break and only had to deal with a few typical "spring break nonsense.". Since we flew into Panama City, we rented a beach chair near the Emerald. We took it for 3 days. Expect to pay around $30-$35 a day for two lounges and 1 umbrella. Pools at the complex were heated which made for a nice break from the cool Gulf. The resort is about 5-10 minute drive from Pier Park which gives you access to restaurants, stores, and a Super Target.

I'd be comfortable staying here again. I would probably look at another option for comparison if we were to go back. It's not the best place, but not bad either. My kids did not seem to clue in on the things that adults tend to look for in terms of negatives.

Stayed: March 2012
5  Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

This review is specific to #2130 which is a timeshare through Wyndham Resorts.

Walls were beat to hell and need painting, Old mattress. Sheets paper thin. Decor from the 70s. Ceiling fans did not work. A third of the wall plugs did not work. Internet it seems in every room around this one had wireless internet except this one. Internet was available by the hard wiring into the wall via the provided ethernet cable, which was missing.

While clean, the resort has alot of deferred maintenance.

Pools were nice and the beaches beautiful as always.

If you are looking for an average room, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank treddock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
0.8 km away
Legacy By The Sea
Legacy By The Sea
#14 of 48 in Panama City Beach
891 reviews
1.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Panama City Beach-Beachfront
Hampton Inn & Suites Panama City...
#1 of 48 in Panama City Beach
164 reviews
5 km away
Emerald Isle Resort and Condominiums
Emerald Isle Resort and Condomin...
#2 of 82 in Panama City Beach
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City B...
#4 of 48 in Panama City Beach
2,616 reviews
0.1 km away
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Panama City Beach
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Panama ...
#5 of 82 in Panama City Beach
570 reviews
3.1 km away
Tidewater Beach Resort
Tidewater Beach Resort
#23 of 82 in Panama City Beach
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Beach Resort

Address: 14700 Front Beach Rd, Panama City Beach, FL 32413-3519
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 82 Speciality Lodging in Panama City Beach
Price Range: RM571 - RM1,330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emerald Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Emerald Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Beach Hotel Panama City Beach
Emerald Beach Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing