We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1803 west tower calypso”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Calypso Resort & Towers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2012

we arrived on 8/18/2012 the condo was filthy and smelled like mold there was urine on toliet back and lid at top where hooked to bowl caked in it.sand in sheets,wet towels still in dryer,coffee table leg off dining table had a mark on it .master bed quilt had smelly urine stains.dust everywhere toliets were dirty.linens in kitchen still had dried food on them,balcony was dirty also blood on sliding door and wall in main bath,bar stools had painted all scrapped off by use. holes and stains on couch and chair striped one.blood on pillow on bunkbed.dryer took hrs to dry and central unit made awful noise when fan turned on kept me awake all week.when i called the office she said someone had been there 2 days b4, bull !!! i explained all problems she said repair man had repaired dryer well he did not it took hrs to dry the sheets b4 we could go to bed late that nite.lisa never got back with me so i called number again and go after hrs girl she said she would send blankets and sheets out ard 5 or 6 by 10 pm i went to bed they finally brought them,but no blankets just sheets and towels.be prepared to clean and buy cleaning supplies we had to go buy dish liquid,dish washer fluid,bleach,sponges etc had to clean bathrooms b4 using.the floors were so filthy our socks were black on bottom,there were so many more things wrong it is endless.i called ''bob'' and sent page as well as voicemail and sent my number today is 8/25/2012 and still have not heard from him .do not waste ur money these people do not care how bad shape this place is as long as they get it rented.google them and this condo and see we will be contacting better business bureau as well as calling panama city authorites to see what can be done we have alot pics our phones had a hard time reaching up there plus no wi fi only cord.bedroom is at front at door and hall way,this is the most disgusting condo i have ever been in emerald coast destinations bob,lisa,jon caldwell

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank jrcoleMboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (469)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

286 - 290 of 469 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2012

Our family gets together every year for a trip to Panama and we normally stay at Majestic and have never had any problems....this year we wanted to change it up a little and be close to Pier park, BIG MISTAKE. While I must say that the Calypso was not the major issue we faced, we didn't think it was anything special at all. The set-up was horrible and it was like a maze to get around the resort....the whole resort smelled like a dumpster the last 4 days of our trip....not sure if it was a sewage back-up somewhere or maybe the trash chutes were full but it smelled like garbage! There was also some sort of drainage (from the road maybe?) that was pumping nasty brown water into the ocean right by the resort and the water was so nasty you could see it turning that area of water brown....gross! We never got to use the pool because there wasn't enough chairs by the pools to suffice such a large resort so we could never find a chair that was free. The Tiki bar was okay but way overpriced...we got 2 mango daq. and it was $18! Now to the worst part.....choosing to rent from EMERALD COAST DESTINATIONS...JAKE, JON, BOB LISA CALDWELL WAS BY FAR THE BIGGEST MISTAKE! These people are the definition of slum lords through and through. We had read some of the bad reviews for them and were hesitant at first but after thinking it through decided to book with them because of the price and location. I am a leasing agent at an apartment complex so I know that more people are prone to writing "bad" reviews as opposed to "good" reviews so we thought maybe this was the case...but we were wrong. After renting from these people we now know that every review was completely warranted and true. When we arrived at the condo the smell of mold/mildew hit us immediately....and the place was FILTHY! There was mold on the shower curtain, mold in the toilets, pee on the toilets, urine on the bedspread, sand in the sheets, cheerios and old food behind TV and in the pantry, mildewed towels in the dryer, blood spots on the bathroom wall and the patio door handle, the coffee table leg was broken, couch and couch pillows were old and stained and bed pillows were nasty and had stains (even blood stains, gross), kitchen pot/pan holders had dried food on them.....I could go on and on as you can see. Of course we immediately contacted Lisa at Emerald Coast Destinations and told her what we found upon arrival and she actually said "that's not possible, we were just there 2 days ago" and told us to send pics ASAP. We didn't get to send the pics until we left because our phone service did not pick up good in the condo and were unable to do so. Since the sheets and bedspreads were so nasty we decided to try to wash them but low and behold the dryer was not working! It was barely getting warm and took close to 4 hours to dry each load we washed! Once again we contacted Lisa and got no answer so we left a message and eventually she called back around 7 PM or so and said that the dryer should be working fine because they had just had a maintenance man out to fix it recently....obviously he didn't fix it because it still wasn't working (which explains the mildewed towels that we found upon arrival in the dryer still). Lisa finally said that she would get us some fresh sheets and blankets sent up soon. Finally about 10 PM a guy brought the fresh linens which included sheets and a bunch of towels....but no blankets! So our first night we were up til 3 AM washing everything so we could have clean linens and also spent $20 on cleaning supplies to bleach and clean the condo to make it liveable. We never heard from Lisa or anyone the rest of our stay. We never received a sorry or apology of any kind....they actually just treated us like were were lying and making a big deal about nothing.I have never been so disatisfied with customer service like I was with this company. I will NEVER stay with Emerald Coast again and would warn anyone thinking about doing so to not do it and pick a different company as I wouldn't want anyone else to get taken advantage of as we did. There are so many better and honest companies out there to give these slum lords your money! PS: I tried to upload pics of proof to show just how disgusting it was but said my pics were too small, sorry :(

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Trinity L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We stayed a week in 1405 W 1 bdrm, 11/2 ba. It was a very nice condo, just like the pictures, modern, well cared for. Loved the beach chair rental that was part of the package. A BIG plus.
Comfortable bed, lg. bathroom, new carpet. Sliding doors from both living room and bedroom to a very large deck with furniture. Short walk to Peir Park with restaurants and shops. Fattys across the street, great for breakfast. Really liked the location. Parking garage with walkway so no fighting traffic to cross the street to get to it! We would definately stay there again. Rented thru Rachel at "Blueskydays" She was great and we highly recommend her and this unit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2betogether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We rented a condo online our codes were sent to us in advance. The room was very nice and had plenty of room. You are right on the beach everyone was nice and pier park is right across the street. We went all over panama and this was the best location for everything.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lanieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We spent 1 week at The Calypso, sharing a 3 bedroom/2bath condo with another family. We traveled with 3 children ages 10-12. Our condo was booked through VRBO and was UNIT 2404-1 West Tower. This unit was very well equipped with everything one may need as far as kitchen items, cookware, etc; they even had a Belgian Waffle Maker which was a nice touch. The unit iteslf provides an amazing view of the ocean and is situated directly in front of the pool. You can literally lift children over the railing to the pool and sit and watch from the tall chairs on the patio. The owners provide a binder full of area information including restaurant menus and recommendations. There is an extensive selection of DVD's which was great for the kids and the adults. The owners are very professional and very concerned about your satisfaction with your stay. The rate we paid was competitive at $2,400 including daily beach service during the busy Summer season of July. The resort offers 2 pools East and West Towers with a TIKI bar situated between them just in front of the boardwalk to the beach. Pier Park was a 5-8 minute walk and there was an awesome sandwich shop across the street which we patronized 3 or 4 times...it was quick and easy to grab a sandwich there to enjoy on the beach. Overall we had a great experience...The Calypso is a very nice, clean, and has an upperscale feel. The security was always visible and parking felt very secure, not to mention convenient...no headaches here.

Room Tip: If you are interested in a ground floor unit, this is a fantastic place. Calypso is the last high r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank STURGISFAMILY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
0.9 km away
Legacy By The Sea
Legacy By The Sea
#15 of 48 in Panama City Beach
891 reviews
0.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Panama City Beach-Beachfront
Hampton Inn & Suites Panama City...
#1 of 48 in Panama City Beach
166 reviews
9.3 km away
Beachside Resort
Beachside Resort
#10 of 48 in Panama City Beach
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City B...
#4 of 48 in Panama City Beach
2,617 reviews
7.6 km away
Long Beach Resort
Long Beach Resort
#16 of 82 in Panama City Beach
339 reviews
1.7 km away
Beachcomber By The Sea
Beachcomber By The Sea
#7 of 48 in Panama City Beach
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calypso Resort & Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calypso Resort & Towers

Address: 15817 Front Beach Rd, Panama City Beach, FL 32413-2534
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 82 Speciality Lodging in Panama City Beach
Price Range: RM629 - RM1,510 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Calypso Resort & Towers 3.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Calypso Resort & Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calypso Resort & Towers Hotel Panama City Beach
Calypso Resort And Towers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing