We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not So Pleased This Time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Calypso Resort & Towers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2009

The 3rd time wasn't the charm for us. It wasn't so much the Calypso as it seems the rowdy Thomas Drive crowd has migrated west. Too many honking scooters, non stop traffic and what seemed to me more of a spring break crowd than vacationing families. Pool chairs were a problem and though the security tried to keep a check on things-I found too much rowdiness in the pool and blaring stereos from open balacony doors a real drag. We didn't have any problems with elevators, the public areas were clean, luggage carts are still a problem but overall I think it was more clientele than the Calypso. If I could make a suggestion it would be to put a large, 1st class pool next door or across the street next to the parking garage. I don't think we'll return for a 4th visit.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunsetGale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (469)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

376 - 380 of 469 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2009

I stayed at the Calypso after it first opened a couple of years ago before pier park was built. It was a much quieter area of the beach then. However, that is not the case now because the noise and constant lines of traffic to pier park never stopped. We did enjoy being able to walk to pier park when we wanted and if you are interested in that area and not bothered by the all night partying then this is a great location. As far as the resort, they keep the grounds and pool area very clean. The chair situation is a problem at the pool. Inconsiderate people 'save' chairs with their towels for long periods of time and are nowhere near the pool. It keeps anyone else from getting a chair. I probably wont stay here again because of the constant traffic and noise due to its closeness to pier park.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank lorrieap79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2009

We stayed here with about 9 different families- were in PCB for a baseball tourney over Memorial Day weekend. Overall- calypso is a good place to stay as long as you like HUGE condos with tons of people . I personally would not stay here again. I am not a fan of these huge complexes-waiting on elevators and walking a LONG way to get to car. But if is a great location for Pier Park and nice restaurants. The traffic on the main road is constant and horn nonking and screaming coninues into the night- we could hear the music at Pier Park until midnight . We never seemed to knwo where all of our friends were- it just seemed too big for us.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HLSESS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2009

My boyfriend & I stayed @ Calypso Towers for Thunder Beach (bike week). Panama City is not my fave place to visit, but it seems to be getting somewhat better. Calypso Towers were very nice, modern, clean, & super convenient. I will definatly stay there nxt year on Bike week. They are right on the beach, and within walking distance to Pier Park which is a pretty nice place for shopping, eating, etc. We rented directly from the owner of the property which saved us about $75 a night. We stayed on the bottom floor (east tower, room 1-103). Very nicely decorated, and convenient to pool and beach. We booked on VRBO.COM. I highly recommend Calypso Towers!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jess116000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2009

we have stayed at calypso every winter since it opened, usually first of Feb - mid Mar. we love it. Units are nicely furnished and clean. Front desk personel are always polite and eager to help. We did experience loud spring breakers in March this yr. we seemed to be surrounded by them in our 16th floor unit.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wgnawbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
0.9 km away
Legacy By The Sea
Legacy By The Sea
#15 of 48 in Panama City Beach
891 reviews
0.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Panama City Beach-Beachfront
Hampton Inn & Suites Panama City...
#1 of 48 in Panama City Beach
166 reviews
9.3 km away
Beachside Resort
Beachside Resort
#10 of 48 in Panama City Beach
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City B...
#4 of 48 in Panama City Beach
2,617 reviews
7.6 km away
Long Beach Resort
Long Beach Resort
#16 of 82 in Panama City Beach
339 reviews
1.7 km away
Beachcomber By The Sea
Beachcomber By The Sea
#7 of 48 in Panama City Beach
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calypso Resort & Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calypso Resort & Towers

Address: 15817 Front Beach Rd, Panama City Beach, FL 32413-2534
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 82 Speciality Lodging in Panama City Beach
Price Range: RM629 - RM1,506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Calypso Resort & Towers 3.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Calypso Resort & Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calypso Resort & Towers Hotel Panama City Beach
Calypso Resort And Towers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing