We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Unique Motel!”
Review of Dixie Belle Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Saint Joe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dixie Belle Motel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Port Saint Joe
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Keep and open mind if you stay at the Dixie Belle. It is a vision out of the past. It is a roadside motel like nothing this generation has seen but I remember as a child staying in many times with my family. It is run down but clean and bug free. The folks are friendly. Perfect location. And they allow well behaved dogs and don't charge an outrageous fee. It's not the Hilton but they are affordable. We will go back!

Room Tip: This is a roadside motel with different size rooms and beds, some with kitchens, but all have microw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank dogwalker5012015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2016

I didn't expect much, but I did expect a clean environment. My first clue should have been the filthy office and the cat that was allowed to climb across the counter while I was checking in. Fine, no big deal. Another clue was she demanded payment up front for both nights, which I complied with.

We got into the extremely outdated room and decided we could stay the night, despite the horrific smell outside. We got up early the next day to explore the property a bit and I looked out the window of our room to see the cause of the smell - it is the biggest litter box I have ever seen. Really - there is an approximately 10'x12' area that is fenced in, filled with disgusting sand and cat perches. It is literally a huge litter box that is 4' from the front window of the room.

I was disgusted and appalled but the office was closed and we took off for the day, taking our belongings with us. I called back the the office later in the day to tell them we would not be returning to their disgusting environment and requested a refund for the second night. Surprise, surprise, the owner was unavailable to speak with me.

When I finally did receive a follow up call from the owner he flatly denied the existence of the HUGE LITTER BOX OUTSIDE MY ROOM and refused to refund the money.

The place is horrific but I realized they need the $105 much more than I do and I let it go, knowing if I warn others about this place karma may sort itself out.

If for some reason you decide to spend money and time at this place, get a room as far away from the office as possible. The whole property is in disrepair and of questionable cleanliness. You have been warned.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank SWFL941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasey D, Manager at Dixie Belle Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2016

As is the standard for most if not all motels/hotels payment for the entire stay is asked for once you check in. This is not abnormal or unheard of. Yes when we took ownership there was a catio attached to the property. Our cats do not use it, and they have no used it since the issue was brought to our attention. We immediately checked into the smell and could not detect one ourselves. We cleaned the area anyway and again it is not in use. This was done some months ago. We have had no other complaints about this issue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

My family stayed in the biggest room, we had a kitchen for cooking. The rooms were clean, neat and functional. The owners let us use the patio and grill while we were there. We had a great time and other guests came and sat with us on the patio.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Karie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016

I'm confused with the previous reviews of the Dixie Belle. Maybe some of the rooms are updated? Ours was old, and DEFINITELY not clean or well kept! No offense to the staff (who were very friendly), but I would not walk on the carpet in my bare feet or even socks. WE washed the kitchen floor, and it was filthy. The lighting was awful - we actually bought a camping lantern to put in the kitchen so we could see! The ceiling fan did not work, and our requests to fix it went unanswered. There was an old beach towel hanging up as a curtain in the kitchen. The tablecloth was actually stuck to the table, and one of the chairs fell apart when we sat on it (it was either that, or sit on the bed). All the cupboard doors and drawers (except one) were nailed shut. We had to stay there for 3 weeks during a transition. It was affordable, but that's all I can say. Honestly, I would only plan a stay here if you have NO other place to go, or you're just looking for a basement-budget place. (They may very well be nice people - we had little interaction with them - but I would not EVER recommend a friend or family member stay there.)

Stayed: March 2016, travelled on business
4  Thank smiley6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

I was having medical treatment at a nearby hospital over a few days, and needed a place to stay. It is the high season in this tourist town, and the rates at neighboring hotels and inns were prohibitive for me, and there was only a vacancy for one day at one other hotel. So I read the reviews, called and made a reservation, and drove down. It was what I expected, only cleaner and more comfortable. This is the typical 1950's style motor inn. Yes, the room is dated, but it is clean and functional. Surprisingly, there is wifi, which worked without interruption at good speeds throughout my stay, despite a storm. This was good, because as a writer, I was on deadline and needed to finish a column to submit to my editor - no problem! The little tile-topped drop-leaf breakfast table was a good work surface for me.
All rooms are non-smoking, and the air conditioning kept the room cool enough for this Eskimo-in-training. The fully equipped small kitchen had everything that would be needed if you are trying to keep costs down by eating in - full size fridge, small four-burner stove with oven and broiler, microwave, and a great full size coffeepot. Other amenities included a color television with cable, a telephone, comfortable queen bed with plenty of pillows, small dresser, a place to hang clothing, a luggage rack, and bedside lamps that can be dimmed. The bathroom was clean, had a shelf on which to place toiletries, mirror, sink, toilet, and tile shower (with step over lip). No, this isn't a cookie-cutter chain hotel. There is a sweet cast-iron bistro set just outside the door for sitting outside. The Dixie Belle Hotel is old, has character, and is inexpensive. The staff is nice, and they speak to you. Kacey, the manager, was very accommodating, and the cleaning staff was thorough.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
2  Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Saint Joe
9.1 km away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
282 reviews
4.9 km away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
283 reviews
35.3 km away
Best Western Apalach Inn
Best Western Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.1 km away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
396 reviews
35.5 km away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
404 reviews
35.5 km away
Rancho Inn
Rancho Inn
#4 of 5 in Apalachicola
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dixie Belle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dixie Belle Motel

Address: 3155 W Highway 98, Port Saint Joe, FL 32456-4826
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Port Saint Joe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Port Saint Joe
Price Range: RM165 - RM453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dixie Belle is a clean, quiet, safe slice of roadside America. Owners, Chris and Marla Kenney are always on property. As is Manager Kasey Davis. Rates are very reasonable and vary with the seasons. November through February are bargain months.Although built back in the 60's and a bit small by modern standards, the rooms all have small fridges, microwaves and coffee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dixie Belle Hotel Port Saint Joe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing