We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shockingly Delicious & Well Priced Food”

The Celtic Ray Public House
Ranked #3 of 163 Restaurants in Punta Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$17
Cuisines: Irish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: FAILTE! [WELCOME!] The Celtic Ray Public House in downtown Punta Gorda opened in 1997 by Proprietor Kevin Doyle. At the time there wasn’t a single establishment in the area that offered a variety of quality imported beers and the atmosphere of a traditional Irish Pub. We serve only high-quality imported draught beers, bottled beers, ciders, fine wines, as well as, a selection of “soft” beverages. We also have expanded with the ‘other side’ and now have a full liquor bar! Our menu features traditional Irish Pub favorites made from fresh ingredients and family recipes. The Celtic Ray’s Fish & Chips are famous worldwide! See you at the Ray, Slainte!
Reviewed 11 April 2017

Large portions. I don't normally link "Irish pub" and "good food" but had to come and write a review. We had the $6 Scotch Egg a couple weeks ago and it came with coleslaw, soda bread, a couple grapes and was delicious. We'd kind of just expected a lonely sausage-y egg to be brought out.

Our friend, who had been there before, wisely ordered the KIDS fish & chips, because the regular serving is too much for her. She said the fish was delicious and we tried her fries and they were excellent.

Live music. And good beer. I can recommend this place if you're ever in Punta Gorda.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RuRuRoams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max D, Public Relations Manager at The Celtic Ray Public House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

Good Morning,

We just wanted to take a moment to thank you for the review you left us. We appreciate the feedback, and we are happy to hear you were pleasantly surprised with our menu. We hope to have you all back in here soon. Have a terrific Tuesday!

Sláinte,
Carrie W.
Public Relations & Social Media Manager
celticray.net

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (755)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 85 of 755 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

Really enjoyed my meal at this locally famous place. Had the Reuben which comes in a puffed pastry (pastie), served on a generous helping of Thousand Island dressing and fries on the side. It was excellent! There was a band playing (very good stuff!) and the staff was very friendly. A "must stop" while in Punta Gorda!

Thank MickeyNJFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max D, Public Relations Manager at The Celtic Ray Public House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Good Afternoon Mickey,

Thank you for your review, and taking the time to leave it. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the Reuben Pasty! We hope to have you back in here soon. Have a fantastic Monday!

Slainte,
Carrie W.
Public Relations & Social Media Manager
celticray.net

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our evening at the Celtic Ray. Food was very good, definitely a click up from regular pub fare. Draft beer selection was great and featured several satisfying Irish imports. We visited on trivia night which was lots of fun and exceptionally well run. Definitely one of the top spots in Punta Gorda for a casual evening out!

Thank loujack48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max D, Public Relations Manager at The Celtic Ray Public House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Good Afternoon Lou,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review- we truly appreciate it! We are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed the food, and trivia night. We hope to have you back in here again soon. Have a wonderful Monday!

Slainte,
Carrie W.
Public Relations & Social Media Manager
celticray.net

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017

I have been in more Irish pubs than I can remember and I can say that the Celtic Ray does a great job of recreating a bit of Ireland in SW Florida. There is often session music, even in the afternoon, as there was today. A wonderful happy atmosphere. The food is really authentic too. I ordered a pasty and got a heaping platter of that with slaw, soda bread and real chips. Not fries but chips like from a real chipper van.
If you like Ireland, Irish music and food it is simply the place to go!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank trillian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max D, Public Relations Manager at The Celtic Ray Public House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2017

Good Morning Trillian,

Thank you so much for leaving us such a fantastic review! We are so happy to hear how much you love our pub, and the atmosphere here. We hope to have you back in here soon. Thank you for making our day with your review. Have a wonderful Sunday!

Slainte,
Carrie W.
Public Relations & Social Media Manager
celticray.net

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2017

Met some friends here for dinner and was pleasantly surprised. Out of the 8 of us, 6 had the fish and chips and the other two had chicken strips. I will say it was one of the best fish and chips I have had...and I'm not a big fan of fish. The fish was breaded nicely and it was flakey. My daughter said her chicken kind of tasted like fish, so I am assuming they are just cooked together, maybe. Fries and slaw were good as well. The beverage selection was very good as well.

They promote a relaxed, take your time atmosphere and by this, they don't have servers. You order at the bar and give them your table number. They do bring the food out to you when it is ready, but it was just different, not bad, just different.

We would likely visit this place again if ever in Punta Gorda again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Familytravels8799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max D, Public Relations Manager at The Celtic Ray Public House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2017

Good Morning,

We just wanted to let you know how much we appreciate the review you left us. We are so happy to hear your {big} party all enjoyed their meals, and we hope to have you all back in here soon, Have a lovely Sunday!

Slainte,
Carrie W.
Public Relations & Social Media Manager
celticray.net

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Celtic Ray Public House also viewed

Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Celtic Ray Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing