We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved everything about it”

The Ancient City Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Augustine
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Ancient City Inn
Ranked #28 of 30 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 April 2017

This place charmed us to no end. The proprietor, William, is the friendliest, most accommodating Inn Master we've ever run across. The location is so convenient - just a quick walk to downtown. The rooms are cozy, welcoming, and utterly free of pretense.
Don't book a stay here if you need towel warmers and $100 Buttered Noodle dinners; it's not posh, and doesn't try to be.
Do book a stay here if you have a taste for the unique and an appreciation for good people and good times.
We'll be returning to Ancient City Inn every chance we get!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimKenefick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
There are newer reviews for The Ancient City Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

I could not stress enough how bad this place is. My wife booked 2 nights here in advance. When we got there we had to pay in advance where he wrote down our credit card info. When we went to our room it was a nightmare. There was a piece of thin warped paneling separating our room from the other rental room, puke on the shower curtain and the place smelled like mildew. The place is ancient all right but in all the wrong ways. Everything was so warn out and broken I refused to stay there. The creepy owner refused to refund any of our money even for the second night. We had to stay at a local run down motel for a night that was still a huge upgrade from that place. They say its haunted but thats probably the owner creeping around in the next rental. Please dont waste your money at this scam. This place should be torn down. Any review on here that is more than 1 star has to be fake.

Also maybe a coincidence but a week after this place our credit card info was stolen. Maybe related maybe not. Dont make the same mistake we did.

Horrible, horrible!!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank travelingfaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016

Second stay at the Inn, located strategically between the Fountain of Youth and Ripley's Museum. Room was a suite arrangement, reached via an outside staircase. Breakfast served on the porch. Quiet two story house on the main thoroughfare. Rooms furnished with "antiques" and very comfortable. Fabulous Raihtree Restaurant iin easy walking distance! Good stay!

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2015 via mobile

This was our second time staying at this inn, and we will definitely be back! The inn keepers are so friendly and accommodating. We stayed in the Martha Lee room which is just the perfect size, with a private bathroom and a mini kitchen. The room was very clean and the bed was super comfy! Each morning a basket with goodies and coffee was left on the porch table right outside of our door which we really enjoyed. The location is perfect just a short walk to the center of the city. Also a big plus is the on site parking! Overall we definitely give the inn keepers and the inn 5 stars.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lordra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2015

We had a perfect weekend at Anicent City Inn. We stayed in the Martha Lee room. The room was adorable. It was very clean, had a comfy bed with a perfect little kitchen. The room had a warm, loving feel and is pleasantly haunted. Martha Lee makes couples feel welcome and loved in her room. We really loved the cute breakfast basket. This B&B is in a great location. It is close to downtown. We were able to walk everywhere. The inn keepers Will & Carrie are just awesome. They are the most friendliest couple and made us feel so welcomed. Will is so fascinating to talk to. The grounds are so well taken care of and beautiful. This was our first time staying at this B&B but it definitely won't be our last. We can't wait to go back. Thank you Will & Carrie for a wonderful weekend!

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DMacFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 km away
No photo provided
Comfort Suites Downtown
#50 of 78 in St. Augustine
426 reviews
0.2 km away
Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn
0.5 km away
63 Orange Street Bed and Breakfast
63 Orange Street Bed and Breakfa...
#27 of 30 in St. Augustine
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Castle Garden Bed and Breakfast
Castle Garden Bed and Breakfast
#29 of 30 in St. Augustine
142 reviews
0.5 km away
Casa de Suenos Bed & Breakfast
Casa de Suenos Bed & Breakfast
#16 of 30 in St. Augustine
258 reviews
0.6 km away
Agustin Inn
Agustin Inn
#9 of 30 in St. Augustine
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ancient City Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ancient City Inn

Address: 47 San Marco Ave, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3276
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing