We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay for families of small children.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay for families of small children.”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

I liked this resort. It was comfortable and clean. There were a lot of places for kids to hangout and play. The multiple pools were really great. The nightly movies by the pool were so much fun, as well as a nice way to wind down. The restaurants were decent. The tiki bar was a hit on Thursday and Friday.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lexycal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,854
    1,294
    628
    371
    224
See reviews for
2,306
1,029
76
821
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,419)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We just came back from St. Pete Beach and stayed at the TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort. We spent the first two days getting charges removed from our folio that we did not incur. We did not charge anything to our room but each day had charges that someone submitted as staying in our room and the restaurants and bars on the property accepted. When we talked with Management their only solution was to lock our room account so that no-one could charge to it including us. We couldn't even order room service. In addition, our safe was completely inoperable, the mattress on our bed was terribly uncomfortable and our last day there we had to call room service to make up our room at 5:00pm as we were wanting to shower for dinner and did not have any clean towels and the room was a mess. Again, the management offered nothing to compensate for all our inconvenience.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We stayed at the Tradewinds Island Grand at the end of February 2012. We had a great time at this family oriented resort. The pros include the amazing beach, friendly staff, and well kept grounds and pools. They have what seems to be a very good children's program - our girls are only 2 and an infant, so we didn't participate, but we noticed that a lot of older kids definitely seemed to enjoy the pirate show, karaoke, etc. There is really a lot to do at the resort between the beach, beach bar, pools, paddle boats, mini golf area, etc. We enjoyed our room, which had a nice balcony. Although we weren't "ocean front" we still had a view of the gulf and the sunsets. I imagine that the gulf front rooms have a fabulous view!

We stayed in a one bedroom condo, and found the kitchentte good enough to serve our needs. It includes a small fridge, two burners, microwave, and kitchen sink. There is enough dishes and pots to do your own cooking. We did cook on our own for breakfast most days, some lunches and about 1/2 of our dinners. The Pizza Hut and Ice Cream Parlor are pretty good, as was breakfast at the restaurant Bermudas. We also found the irish pub on site to have decent bar food. The beds in the room were quite comfortable, and there were good channel options on the television as well as pay per view movies.

There aren't many cons about the resort. I felt like the staff did not do an exception job in cleaning the room. We also were somewhat underwhelmed by the restaurants. That being said, we picked up fresh seafood at Merry Pier a few different days and made our own dinner, which was awesome!

I would highly recommend this resort - particularly to families with children. I could see extended families having a very good time at this resort, because it really does cater to many age ranges - from the very young to older folks, who may just enjoy the lovely ground and walks along the beach.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tresura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maumee, Ohio, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2012

The Tradewinds Island Grand Resort was great! This was our first time and we will be back. We choose this resort because they have a kiddie pool (it was not heated) but hardly used it! The entire family enjoyed the paddle boats, pools & the pirate show! Next time, we will not plan as many off site activities (we went to a Yankee game among other things) because there is so much to do on location at the Tradewinds. The housekeeping staff don't speak fluent English but are still nice. All other staff were extremely friendly and they were never difficult to find. The beds were comfy and there were adequate pillows. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie M, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Nikki, glad to hear you enjoyed your first stay with us. We pride ourselves on having plenty of family fun activities on property, but we know there are so many fun places to visit in our area as well! Glad you got to experience both. Hope to see you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macomb, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

The only good thing about this resort was the location. We booked our room through Priceline.com. We paid $176 a night and at check in we found out we had to pay yet another $25 a night for resort ammentiy fees. What a joke. They said it was Pricline's fault for not telling us. We were unfortunate that they room they gave us was up on the top floor Rm 7256, 7th floor) and in the very corner furthest from the beach and everything else. Actually we were the last room on the floor. What a hike to get up there. Also the room come with a very leaky bathroom ceiling due to the air conditioners that were all over the top floor. We had maintenance come up 3x and they couldn't repair it because the Ac was running 24/7 and it kept filling a faulty water retention pan. The mgt of the hotel told us they coudl not do anything for us since we booked the room from Priceline and that we paid them and not the hotel, so they could not refund us any money or move our rooms, because the other rooms were $50 more a night. We asked them to refund our resort fee, which were a joke to charge in the first place. The $25 resort fee, was for parking, business center, fitness center, paddle boat usage, cabana's on the beach, the pool. Many amenities you get at other hotels for free. The room was just ok, we requested a king size bed and we got 2 full size beds instead. The room because it was in the corner of the bldg had no full window, so we were in the dark in the room. Guaranted with the weather being so nice you don't spend much time in your room. Another lesson learned why spend $201 on a room when you only sleep in it. After complaining about our room again they mgt finally gave us breakfast vouchers, glad they gave them to us, the breakfast buffet was $16.95 a person and so not worth it, I did not eat $16 worth of food. Not alot of selection to eat. The cabana's on the beach are old with mats and have a cover, the paddleboats only went around a man made little water path through part of the resort. We took the time while down there and looked through some of the hotels that were lesser in price and found several of them just as nice. I think it is all about location on the beach. We read all the reviews on Trip advisor and it seemed like it should have been nice. I read that alot of people pay the extra $50 for a gulf room, but why, how much time do you want to spend in the room when the weather outside is beautiful. I guess because we ended up with a terrible room it soured our trip there. I wish mgt would not have hidden behind the fact we used priceline to do something to make our stay better, including moving our room to one that didn't leak.

Room Tip: Don't pick the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rfriedri1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Pete Beach
2.4 km away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,589 reviews
29.3 km away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#8 of 98 in Clearwater
2,374 reviews
0.5 km away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#14 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,133 reviews
0.3 km away
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
0.5 km away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TradeWinds Island Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TradeWinds Island Grand Resort

Property: TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
Address: 5500 Gulf Blvd., St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2323
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#13 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price range (per night): RM1,131 - RM1,949
Hotel Class:4 star — TradeWinds Island Grand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TradeWinds Island Grand spans 20 lush, tropical acres and boasts a heritage of award-winning service and certification as a Florida Green Lodge. Overlooking the tranquil waters of the Gulf of Mexico, Island Grand is located on the white sand beaches of St. Pete Beach, consistently ranked one of America's Top Beaches by TripAdvisor. Discover 201 things to do with a variety of recreation activities including JetLev flight center, The Floating Water Park, children's programs, paddleboats, tennis, stand-up paddleboards, a three story tall inflatable waterslide and more. Island Grand offers multiple dining and entertainment venues along with sand-in-your-toes beach bars. Pamper yourself with a beachfront massage at Body Works Salon & Spa. Relax on a beach cabana or lounge next to one of 5 heated pools and 2 whirlpools. Our on-site resort transportation and car rental agency makes getting to Island Grand easy and stress free. It's not just a vacation. At TradeWinds, it's a totally immersive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your TradeWinds Island Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Island Grand Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Island Saint Pete Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing