We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“First Time Visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of West Wind Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
West Wind Inn
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Nottinghamshire, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“First Time Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

We chose West Wind for our first visit to Sanibel because of reviews here and were not disppointed. It's true that it is older than some properties and could do with a bit of a facelift in some areas but that does not detract from the overall experience. It offers good value and a quiet relaxed introduction to the Sanibel way of life. Our room was large and comfortable with wonderful Gulf front views just yards from the beach. The kitchenette was well equipped and ideal for cooking breakfast after an early morning walk on the beach. The restaurant is open for dinner on Fridays and Saturdays and offers good food and there are other dinner options close by. We loved Sanibel and hope to join the many who return regularly to the West Wind.

Room Tip: Room 204 is on upper floor on a corner with views in all directions and as close to the beach as you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 040450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    744
    548
    151
    70
    17
See reviews for
447
766
57
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

Location on the island superb, the beach is beautiful..the hotel is located on 10 acres, nicely manicured...pool bar open until 8 pm, pool is heated and one of the largest on the island.
The bad news is that the inn requires a makeover, badly,On entering our room 119, we were assailed by a horrid odour, it smelled like wet dog...no pets allowed, so obviously just the dampness, and the very dirty air conditioner. So back to the good old days, for the pleasure of the location, we spent 2 nights with the patio door open, and no air conditioner...The price was right, last minute purchase from expedia.
Very disappointing knowing that we wil never be able to return until the Inn is renovated, if ever.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BARBARA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jprmilwaukee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

West Wind is showing a bit of its age, but don't let that deter you. Located in a great spot in half-way down the island, every room is mere steps from a beautiful, quiet section of the beach. The salt water pool is fantastic. The staff are well informed and helpful on area tours and things to do. There is a lot of parking so you don't have to walk very far to get to your room. The kitchenette has a full refrigerator and stove, which are great for not having to constantly go to restaurants. Although if you do want to go out, there are many within close proximity. The drawbacks are that the beds are a bit hard and the rooms are showing their age a bit. But since we were rarely in our room while there, it wasn't a big enough deterrent to be of real concern. They also use real keys, which might be charming to some, but I find a minor pain. As long as your intention is not to stay in a highly luxurious place, the West Wind is a respectable, quiet place with beautiful sunset views that is well worth the money you'll spend.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jprmilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

Lately, West Wind Inn has been promoting itself as "True Sanibel". I think I know what they mean. It really does seem to include what people visit Sanibel for. The beach is quiet and away from the crowds, such as they are on Sanibel. In fact, the whole location is seductively quiet and low key. Comfortable rooms, but that's not what we are here for. It's just a nice, relaxing place to soak up some sun, stroll the beach and be served by happy employees. Of course, if you want tennis, they have it. And the pool and pool deck pub are good places to share a laugh, a drink and a view of the Gulf. For my money, it is "true" Sanibel. I can't believe it gets any better than this.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a Gulf viw, ask for it when you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sanibelog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

The West Wind Inn is located on a quiet stretch of the Island. From my top floor room, it was just 1-2 minutes to the beach. The view from my Gulf view room was spectacular. I could see both the gulf and the beautiful pool area. At night, the Inn is lit beautifully. The grounds are pristine and beautifully maintained.

The staff was very friendly and check in was very quick. You get a real key at the West Wind Inn which was kind of nice after the last few times of travel when my key card quit working in the middle of my trip and I had to have that fixed. No need to worry about that! The room was very spacious with a wonderful shower. The Inn was not stingy with towels and the bed linens were nice. There was a screened-in balcony with a table and chairs where you could enjoy the ocean but I just used the small table to collect my shells. The only complaint I had with the Inn was the maids' cart that was left everyday outside of the rooms. It was difficult to navigate by.

The beach was wonderful! Fantastic shelling at this location from the sandbars and the sunsets were just incredible. In addition, it was great seeing all of the sea life in the tidal pools--hermit crabs, fighting conchs, starfish, leopard crab, and, I believe, a sea cucumber.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PlantMomto3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
5.1 km away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,985 reviews
7.7 km away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
12.6 km away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
6.6 km away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#9 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
0.9 km away
Waterside Inn on the Beach
Waterside Inn on the Beach
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Wind Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Wind Inn

Property: West Wind Inn
Address: 3345 West Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-5501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price range (per night): RM976 - RM2,059
Hotel Class:3 star — West Wind Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Wind Inn is a peaceful beach-front resort on 500 feet of shelling beach. Choice of rooms includes standard guest rooms with garden or Gulf views; and guest rooms with kitchenettes, with garden or Gulf views. Enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner at restaurant, Normandie ; or go casual with food and drinks at our Upper Deck Poolside Bar. Swim, shell and stroll our endless beach. Do laps in our large heated pool; relax at our poolside bar and umbrella-shaded tables and chairs. Play tennis and shuffleboard or venture off-site. Sanibel Island is home to world-famous Ding Darling National Wildlife Refuge, outdoor recreation, theatrical venues, shopping, dining and historical attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, AAE Travel Pte Ltd and Booking.com so you can book your West Wind Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Wind Hotel Sanibel Island
West Wind Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing