We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What an amazing experience!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of meLange

meLange
Ranked #112 of 1,026 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$25
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Casual New American/Eclectic restaurant open seven nights a week for dinner, from 6PM until 2AM every night. Chef-owned and operated. We support local farms as much as possible.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What an amazing experience!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

We visited Lan this evening with reiends. The menu was short and sweet.. Excellent portions and very creative. We chose the 3 course dinner which for a cost of $40 was a great deal. The short rib appitizer was out of this world. As was the Kobe beef steak.. We had 6:30 reservations and within an hour, this small place was totally filled. If you visit sarasota, Lan is not to be missed..

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 8p9ap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    17
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“You must taste for yourself...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

The most superb poetry does not do justice to the chef/team/divine culinary experience that is all things Lan.
If you appreciate exquisite food in a stylishly warm atmosphere, you simply must visit Lan yourself! From the variety of inspired seasonally changing entrees to the brilliantly crafted lighter bites of the late night menu (which is now served a bit earlier-at 9 instead of 10), your experience at Lan will leave you amazed.
As a native Sarasotan- a locale blessed with many gifted culinary artists- I can only say that I find myself coming back again and again...and again- Lan is simply my favorite!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Esoterica777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best late night in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

Late night menu, beginning @ 10 is by far the most inventive and thoughtful food in Sarasota. Don't miss the perfectly cooked, unctuous pork belly and the duck Brie crepes. Service is prompt and professional! Ask for Adam if you want a dining experience. He is beyond knowledgeable of both the food and wine list.
Prices are negligible considering the time and effort in preparing such high quality ingredients.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank yumsrq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

My husband and I went with another couple on a Tuesday night in August. We had the prix fixe menu - 3 courses for $40- and they did a la carte. With a bottle of wine it came to about $90 per couple.
The food was delicious! The Osso Bucco was perfection and included bones with marrow. The risotto side dish was done just right. The fish with curry sauce was fantastic. The strawberry salad was very good and the dessert of flourless chocolate cake was the best ever. Service was excellent and all of us received complimentary amuse bouche , small bites before the food was served. All in all a lovely evening and we will be back. Note: they are only open for dinner.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Feichang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Mainland Sarasota”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

First let's get one thing out of the way! The review entitled Wow was written by a person from the U.K. It is often a practice there to rate with 1 being the best and higher numbers NOT as good. If you read the review you will see that surely that is case. They clearly intend to indicate Excellent. Any who knows French wines knows 1er cru is the highest rating (except for the one wine rated Premier Cru Superior.)

Lan is an exceptional restaurant. I do not fail to take family there when they visit. My eldest thinks it is best restaurant she have ever visited. I also take good friends there, unless they are the kind that want huge plates of meat and potatoes. Anyone who enjoys very fine food and flavor medleys that they wouldn't have thought of, will surely enjoy. Another good thing about Lan is friendly, knowledgeable service.

One other wonderful thing about Lan is that they are a quality establishment that will serve you very high quality food without frowning if you enter after 9:10 PM. They serve complete dinners until 11 PM and excellent imaginative small plates from 10 PM until they close at 1 AM and untill 3 AM on weekends. I don't anywhere else where one can enjoy something very good after concerts or plays.

Lan has just opened a large window into the kitchen so foodies can watch a very talented, intelligent Chef at work. Those who would prefer not the watch can still sit in the larger (but not too large) front portion of the restaurant.

If this review of my favorite restaurant in mainland Sarasota has piqued your curiosity, take a look at their menus on their website lanrestaurant.com. You will not be able to see how visually attractive their plates are, and you may only begin to imagine that they taste even better. If you see intriguing items, beware Lan changes her menu frequently.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank foodie_here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed meLange also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to meLange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing